We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Farmington, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and really enjoy this hotel. The pool is bigger than the usual tiny hotel pool, the breakfast is good (and usually included in the room price) and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located right on route 4 and only minutes from Manhattan, where my family lives. You can walk across the street to the very good 4 West Diner. The staff is courteous and service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
We are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    72
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
75
28
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with a useful shuttle service to Manhattan. It's a little bit out of the way but easily accessible if you have a car. The decor and heating system needed some updating and food could be a bit more varied. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, but it is convenient to the Fort Lee, Englewood, Teaneck area and was reasonably priced. We stayed here while visiting family over Thanksgiving and it worked out great. Room was clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet for being so close to the highway. Didn't use the restaurant or any of the amenities - really just came to sleep - so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good convenient location but it definitely does not meet the brand standard of other Crowne Plaza hotels in which I have stayed. Staff was neither friendly nor did they exhibit much in the way of customer service skills or initiative to assist people staying there. The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishing. The carpet was horribly stained and the furniture seemed old and worn out. I will say the bathroom was nice, clean, had good towels and nice supplies. They could stand to upgrade their in-room coffee brand. What was there was horrible. I would stay again because of the location but not for the hotel itself.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of the Hotel Management and Staff please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests.

We thank you for taking the time to complete this review; you are a valued guest and we appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staying here just after Super Storm Sandy, we expected some limitations. Indeed, there was only a basic buffet and bar service the night we arrived. Power to the hotel had been out for a few days, and using back-up generators required a cutback in services. That said, the hotel is a little care-worn and the staff a bit blase. We had an issue each of our four nights there with constant thudding of a bass in the next room and opted to go elsewhere when we had to extend our stay. The noise stopped the first night after we called the desk but it started right up again in the morning and the following night. One clerk informed me the guest "...had been there about three months", so we figured the hotel was not usually as full that they had to put people next to him. Another clerk actually seemed surprised at our complaint, as if a long-term guest with music loud enough to vibrate the picture over our bed was something new. I felt almost apologetic when I had to keep making the call to the front desk. Otherwise, our room was spacious and very clean; bed and bath linens were above average; complimentary amenities of high quality. The only breakfast option is a $15 buffet. Ate elsewhere. I also have started to take exception to staff chattering away among themselves in another language who seem a bit condescending when approached by a guest, as if they do us a favor by switching to English. Quite honestly, nobody seemed very interested in customer service. At the prices we paid, the storm issue notwithstanding, we frankly expected a little bit more,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Onbehalf of the management and staff we wish to thank you for your comments.
Undoubtely, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Room was not extremely clean. You can tell that they only vacuum sparingly. The entire hotel, especially the lobby, smells of smoke, yet it's a smoke free hotel. The restaurant in the lobby was not busy yet it took the waiters forever to serve me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
On behalf of the Hotel Management and Staff please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls during your stay. We constantly strive to provide environment of comfort and value to our guests.

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we assure you that action will be taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Thanks for the feedback, you are a valued guest and we appreciate your patronage.

Sincerely
Fatima Ossman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel was off the beaten path. The pool was warm, but no towels by the pool. When I called for the reservation, I asked about a bar and/or restaurant to watch college football and they said no problem. When I arrived at 2, there was no place to get a drink or eat until 5 pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.