We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emerson Hotel
31 Emerson Plz E, Emerson, NJ 07630-1823
201-262-7557
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Emerson
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Emerson, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sliced steak is the best, I have been going here for over 30 years.....thin crust pizza is good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emerson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What happened here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Used to frequent this establishment but after two horrible consecutive meals this is a bar food only place

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Servers are always UNFRIENDLY!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Forget a smile, but could they at least get the scowl off their faces? They always seem pissed that they have to wait on you. I have never been to the Hotel when a) our order wasn't screwed up, and b)the waitress wasn't scowling. Like its my fault they gave me mashed instead of sweet potato fries...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Meet With Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to meet up with friends, this is it. Noisy enough so that no one pays attention to the noise you're making but not overwhelmingly loud. We've been going here for the past few years and really do enjoy it. Our favorites are the bleu cheese burger, sliced steak and the pizza. I saw someone's comment that the pizza is "so" thin. Yes, it's supposed to be that way. That's their "thing" and that's why people go. We usually get the pizza as an appetizer or with a salad to make a meal and we're big eaters. A large pie and a salad do the trick. The sliced steak has always been thin, done to your request and served up on toast points with melted butter. I can't take a lot of the butter so I tell them "very light on the butter" and it's just fine. The servers have always been so nice to us; I can't complain. Overall, a great family place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Only go at night, cuz it's really old and dirty looking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pizza is good, but they don't give you enough, extremely thin. You need a bunch of them and it gets expensive. Wine is tiny glass. I had a salad that was not bad, some pear thing. I would not go out of my way, just okay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerson Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Emerson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.