We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Thai food at a decent price. A local favorite...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pimaan Thai Restaurant

Pimaan Thai Restaurant
79 Kinderkamack Rd, Emerson, NJ 07630-1827
201-967-0440
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Emerson
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fresh Thai food at a decent price. A local favorite...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Always busy Thai restaurant. Reservations recommend, especially for parties of 4 or more.
Nice atmosphere, although very noisy on a busy evening. Tables are relatively close together.

But - the food is absolutely delicious and well proportioned.
BYOB if you desire wine with your dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Its always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We like to eat in this restarunt before going to a play at the Bergan County Players theater.
They are fast and we never wait long for our food and theyare ever so polite and nice servers. The menu is no tover sized that it takes for ever to read the menu and decide.Eeverything is cooked very well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The reviews looked good so a group of us traveling on business decided to go a bit out of our way to give this one a try. It was worth the visit. The food and service were excellent. We ordered a variety of soups and entrees and each was excellent. Everyone enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife & I have been to Pimaan a few times. First time we went there, we did not know much about Thai food and all the different types of curries, green, red, garlic, panang, masaman etc, etc. Basically, you have to pick a meat (chicken, beef or some seafood) and then decide which curry it should be cooked in. Our first time, we made mostly wrong choices picking mostly red curry sauce which was not very good.
Fortunately, our more knowledgeable friends took us there next time and everything was delicious. They picked mostly green curry sauce, garlic sauce & tamarind sauce.
Our most recent visit was last evening with a group of ten. On a Friday evening, the restaurant was full but not chaotic. The noise level was moderately high.
Our appetizers were Chicken Satay, with cucumber salad & peanut sauce, and spring rolls with house sauce. I loved spring rolls but chicken was a bit dry and rather ordinary in taste. All sauces were good.
For entree, fried whole red snapper with tamarind sauce, was tangy & delicious just as expected.
The chicken in green sauce and Jumbo shrimp in garlic sauce were also good to very good. The portions size was adequate.
We did not try any desserts even though fried ice cream was tempting.
The service was efficient. The prices are extremely reasonable with appetizers around $7 and most entrees priced under $20, some way below that.
I will definitely recommend Pimaan Restaurant.
The decor is very bland. The restaurant is more suitable for a dinner out with family & friends rather than a quiet romantic evening. We have been there for lunch on weekdays when the place is much more quiet and suitable for a nice business lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Neighborhood Resto -- Delicious, Consistent, Priced Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pimaan has been my family's one of two "go-to" restaurant since it first opened over a decade ago. Open 6 days/week, we are assured of our favorite dishes and quick, pleasant service at every visit.

Pimaan is a great neighborhood restaurant that delivers consistently delicious food at reasonable prices. Their lunch specials are actually great (from $7.50 to under $10) for choice of soup/salad and entree. We especially like asian cuisine and Pimaan has become our basis for good Thai food (we used to go to Hackensack). When we go to Pimaan, we know we will get what we are craving for, and it is not always you can be assured of consistent food in other places. Decor is just okay, but they always have fresh flowers on the table. Dishes are plated well, served hot, shrimps are good sized ones, and food is delicious. The waiters are friendly and helpful, service is generally quick; they can get really busy though, even during lunch hour, so sometimes it may not be as fast. Owner and/or daughter are almost always present. Btw, this is BYOB.

My family's favorite dishes are: Softshell Crab with eggplant/garlic sauce, Red Snapper filet with garlic sauce, Pad Thai w/ Shrimp, Tamarind Duck, Drunken Noodles (w/ beef) -- if you want to play safe, Grilled Beef with Sticky Rice, Beef Fried Rice (I know, until Pimaan, I would never consider fried rice as an entree but I love this), and Crabmeat Fried Rice. Beef Panang is also good but haven't had that for a while. For appetizers -- Steamed Mussels with herbs (lots of cilantro), Pimaan Roll (crunchy and delicious with sauce), Papaya Salad and Nur Nam Tok (my favorite beef salad-- citrus-y, spicy and refreshing). For dessert, and you have to order in advance with entree, I like their Chocolate Souffle w/ Ice Cream "to share" -- honestly, the consistency is not of a souffle -- it is not light and airy as it should be, but I like it all the same. Served warm, with warm chocolate sauce and cold vanilla ice cream.

I could only think of 2 cons for Pimaan. First, is the din of noise. At some point, they switched their tables/chairs from wood to metal and we think this may be the reason for the increased noise level. The chatter must vibrate off their tables/chairs and the noise can be pretty loud. Second, as happy as we are that we can expect the same tasty food all the time, it would be nice if they introduced "Specials" once in a while. Just to shake things up a bit.

We always call to make reservations at Pimaan, except when stopping by for lunch. Pimaan has become more popular recently so I suggest you call for dinner reservations. So there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pimaan Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pimaan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pimaan Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.