We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Crack House!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Route 46 East, Elmwood Park, NJ 07407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elmwood Park
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Crack House!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The defunct bowling alley next door and the weeds growing through the parking lot's pavement should have been a clue. The smell of curry as we entered the lobby should have been a clue. The 3" thick bullet-proof glass at the clerks office in the lobby WAS a clue. The handwritten signs offering rooms in 3-hour blocks was a clue. The plastic sheeting on the matteress to keep bodily fluids from soaking in to their mattresses told me all I needed to know! This is a dump where prostitutes turn tricks and smoke crack!!
We were GONE 10 minutes after arriving there!
What a TOILET!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

It wasn't bad man, we are suprised by the previous review. I was there on road trip to NY. It was good , room was comfortable and rate is very cheap. What else can you expect for that rate. Red carpet Inn is right off Garden state parkway and on route 46. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I went to check into our room that was booked on line and upon seeing and smelling the smell of urine in the room I couldnt stay there. It was so disgusting I couldnt bring myself to stay there. When I asked for a refund they wouldnt give me one. If you value your personal cleanliness you would not ever think of staying there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were looking for a cheap hotel close to NYC and tried this one. Rated only a single star for some reason but it's really at least a 2 star place. We used the rate service from Trip Advisor and were surprised that Travelocity had the best rate. They were the only one to offer a Senior rate which saved us a few dollars.

Rooms were clean and beds were firm and comfortable. There was wireless internet available but it was pretty weak and only really worked in the lobby.

The earlier review about the porno on TV must have found something on HBO or HBO2 to object to. Probably an episode of Californication or Real Sex would be my guess. Nothing but the two HBOs and the usual cable channels. Reception on a few of the channels was a bit weak but the TV worked well.

New double pane windows and the heat was more than adequate.

Bathrooms could use a little work. Stains on the ceiling in ours and the shower was a bit hard to turn on but worked well and the room was clean and the towels were adequate and thicker than most.

Microwave and fridge in our room. Both clean and worked well. They offer a limited breakfast. Coffee or Hot Chocolate from a machine, a couple of choices of cereals, milk, some kind of juice, some mini bagels and a few packaged muffins and Danish. We preferred the Dunkin Donuts next door.

We had room 334 which was close to the (rather loud) stairs. It was a no smoking room but sometimes you could smell smoke in the hallway coming up from the lower floors. I'd try to get a room further down the hall next time but it was a pretty good deal for the price for that area.

We didn't try the bus service mentioned in a previous review. Drove into the city since it was a weekend for two of our days and on the last day we drove to the Staten Island Ferry Terminal and took it over just so we could ride the ferry. (It's also the cheapest way to "drive" to the city. $8 bridge toll and $7 parking. Ferry was free.)

Lots of steps and no elevator so not good if you are handicapped. It's on 46 which is a big divided highway with no left turns allowed so you have to find a place to do a jug handle U-turn if you come from the wrong side.

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Loud toilets - sound like those on a cruise ship.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

I was afraid upon reading the previous review.
The Hotel is newly renovated, very clean. Every room has TV, fridge, microwave and air conditioner.
Plenty of parking also available. The ice machine is located in the basement by the stairs. Internet (pay service), pay phone and ATM in the lobby.
Hot/cold water machine, coffee available at all times. Polite service at the front desk and fresh towels every day.
Only trouble with long distance calls; they will sell you phone cards to use. Can't charge it to the room.
I can recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — friendly service, safe parking, quiet room, air conditioner
  • Disliked — Payphone
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Red Carpet Inn in Elmwood Park, NJ on the night of 22 Dec 06. We have an eight year old boy and a four year old girl. When I went in the room I immediately started surfing the dial for a TV show for my son to watch. I was horrified when I got to channel 3 - it was HARD core porn. I could not believe this was on one of the channels. There was no cable box or selection option for adult movies you find in other hotels. You just flipped to channle three like you were flipping to the Discovery channel and there it was. I would have reported it to the desk clerk if I though it would do any good. The guy at the desk looked like he just flew in from Calcutta and could barely speak English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park

Address: 204 Route 46 East, Elmwood Park, NJ 07407
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elmwood Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elmwood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park Hotel Elmwood Park
Elmwood Park Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn Elmwood Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.