We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "motel" I have seen in a long time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
NiagaraFallsCanada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worst "motel" I have seen in a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our flight was cancelled due to weather conditions. The only room left near the airport was this hotel. We were quoted $189 per night but when we got to reception the rate had mysteriously changed to $300. We didn't feel we had any choice so paid the rate. But once we saw the room we changed our minds. What a total dump and does not deserve to carry the Days Inn brand name. In fairness, they did give me my money back and drove us back to the airport for no charge. After seeing the dirty room, we happily chose to sleep in the airport. Beware of this one!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    19
    51
    141
See reviews for
57
44
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I only chose this hotel because our United flight was cancelled due to weather and we had to stay overnight. I reserved it through United's discount program that they provide to passengers that have flight cancellations. The staff was very nice. However, the facility itself was in very bad shape as far as floors, furniture, and bathrooms. Luckily we only had to stay there a few hours. I thought a Days Inn would have higher standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel quality is very far compared to the Days Inn Hotels they have in the west coast and mid west. It is filthy and smelly, I chose this hotel on the expectation it is under the Wyndham group which I am a member and a regular guest. Thought, it will be refreshed and nice. But it was the opposite. The check in process was a breeze because I already booked ahead. This hotel is also next to a sports bar. So I guess there are a lot of drunk people check in here as I can hear people yelling outside at 1:00am in the morning. Next time I will pay a little more $$ and hopefully I get a better hotel. The hotel rate was not cheap neither.

Room Tip: If you get wasted next door, you can stay in this hotel to avoid a DUI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of the worst hotels I have ever seen. When we took a van to the airport, the van was dirty, and the driver didn't help us with one bag. Room smelt very bad and there were bags of trash on the one sofa,(surprised there was even a sofa) and there was sticky stuff all over the floor. Stains on the bathtub, and service was terrible. The front desk wasn't coordinated at all. We set up a deal with one of the receptionists to pay extra per hour to leave at a different time, and they said they would leave a note on a system about the situation. The person at the front desk claimed that there was no note, and we had to work it out with him. Room service bugged us once over the phone, and was very annoying. I know that this probably won't be seen by anyone, because the previous reviews show that nothing has changed.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Don't go on forth of July weekend, as it is packed and nisy, which adds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because our flight was cancelled in the middle of the night. After calling another hotel which was full, operator of a related hotel chain stated this Days Inn had a room and a shuttle from/to the airport. At that hour of the night I did not take the time to research options, so took the offer of a room over the phone. Wow, this was the worst decision of our vacation. On the positive side, the beds served their purpose. Also, did not see any bugs in the room (I really expected to, so not seeing any was a pleasant surprise). We didn't have our luggage with us and so the shampoo, soap, and sample pack of toothpaste in the room were appreciated. That's about all I can say that was good about this place. The photos they show on reservation booking sites are VERY misleading. This place is dirty, run-down, creepy, over-priced, disgusting.... did I mention creepy? Yes. Ok.

When we were checking in there were two families in the lobby demanding their money back. Both were complaining of issues with the bathrooms in their rooms. One said bathroom was flooded and smelled like sewer, one said the shower was dirty with hair and scum, and looked as if it hadn't been washed for a very long time. Both families stated they would rather go back to the airport to spend the night rather than stay at this motel.

If you have any other option, go somewhere else! Pay more to stay somewhere else! The "Days Inn" name is tainted by this poor excuse for a motel. Just gross.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The place is completely run down. Straight up disgusting! AC so loud it kept me up all night. Bed old and uncomfortable. small TV with few stations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Days Inn Newark Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.