We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not believe this was a Days Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could not believe this was a Days Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was clean BUT....when last did you sleep on a spring mattress and other amenities are outdated, toilet did not flush right, television had snow on every station, and the luggage was two intoxicated men, the lobby was dirty actually food on the floor, windows and doors had not been cleaned. When I got to breakfast nothing was left...even with a reservation...Never again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    19
    50
    143
See reviews for
56
44
56
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had to stay overnight in Newark due to flight issue. I booked room through Expedia from the airport when I landed. It was the cheapest hotel (motel actually) in the area, it is close to the airport and I only needed a place to shower and crash for a few hours. When the cab pulled up to the hotel, I was in shock to say the least. It is a VERY sketchy area. The entry into the driveway was all broken pavement/rubble. The hotel lobby is small, which is fine, but it is difficult to navigate through entryway with luggage. The young man at the desk was very friendly. I was just handed the room card and but was given no directions to room so had to go back in to ask where the stairs were (as I was on the second floor). The stairs (narrow and rusted) were around the corner and there were people loitering around the parking lot blasting music and talking very loudly (drug deals possibl). The room was a disgrace. Dingy, no clock, small bathroom, including locker room type shower with hair on the wall. The lamps and remote did not work. It was loud as my room faced the highway with motorcycles racing around all night. The toilet ran literally ALL NIGHT. Someone knocked on my door at 11pm (clearly not the staff, as they would have called). I had the chain lock and two deadbolts on, thankfully. In the morning, I had to wait an extra 25 minutes for the shuttle to the airport, which is supposed to run every 1/2, 24 hours a day. Shuttle driver was very nice and friendly. I can say this is the sleaziest hotel in such a horrible area that I have ever stayed. One last thing, looked at bank info and was charged by Expedia and ALSO have a pending charge from the Days Inn. I called the hotel to ask why this was and the rude man over the phone said that it is impossible the hotel charged me if I booked with Expedia. This issue is still up in the air as I am waiting to see if the Days Inn charge "falls off" as it is only pending. My advice: Only stay here if you have extremely low standards!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had to spend a night at EWR and Days Inn was only hotel available. This is by far the worst hotel I've ever been. The Indian manager is rude and the staff is worthless. The room is smelly, dirty, people sell drugs in the patio. It's scary. Never again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Cancelled flight necessitated staying in Newark. Not the cheapest, but certainly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Lobby was crowded with baggage, and dirty. Room was disgusting; carpet felt wet and sticky, most lights didn't work, beyond sub-standard room. The entire hotel setting felt unsafe. The physical plant was in disrepair, with failed construction attempts obvious. Can't believe the airline had this as a recommended hotel. I suspect they don't get very many repeat guests... Would have asked for money back, but it was late, and had to leave at 3:30 AM. Will not even consider this hotel if stuck in Newark again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The place can use some remodeling, but the front desk staff try to be nice, the room was ok, but the heater in the room was broken, no need to complain, you get what you pay for. I was in transit and just needed a place to crush, if thats your situation then thats the place for you, not a romantic getaway.....you get the picture. I had no car so don't know much a bout safety. The front desk night clerk disturbed my sleep three times during the night, at 2am, at 230am then at 3am, finally i said you are gonna have to reimburse me for all this disturbance, he was confused about the payment method, my credit card had already been charged and he could have waited till morning to call me. They offer to go breakfast in the morning, too bad i did not try it. I have never liked hotels that do not have a secured building, while i was sleeping, someone tried to open my door at 1am or something, could have been the night clerk since he did not know if the room was occupied. If you can go someplace else, do and have peace of mind, theres a Crown plaza right next door, i was not willing to part with $ 140 for a night, if you are, do. If you are on a flight, this Days Inn has a shuttle to the airport which is helpful.Don't forget to tip the driver, he's a talker and complains about people not tipping. There is free wifi in the rooms which came in handy. I would stay again if i was in the area alone, but this time i will find a baseball bat and keep it handy. Good luck!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Days Inn Newark Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.