We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stay away from this place.

Was stuck at Newark Airport and this place was on the list of options offered by United Airlines where they said they had negotiated good rates, so I expected it to be reasonable. Turns out I paid more through the United Airlines website that if I had gone directly. Any price was too much! I would not go back if they paid me to stay there. Took 45 minutes for the shuttle from the airport to arrive even though it is only 5 minutes away. The place was really gross. Filthy. The TV, alarm clock and wall heater unit did not work. The bathroom had a inch of brown water on the floor.

It would have been better to sleep on the floor at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    17
    34
    104
See reviews for
42
35
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If I were you, I'd be embarrassed to fly this establishment under the Days Inn flag. No attempt to clear walkways or entrance of snow. Melted snow pooling in lobby. Room not updated in at least 40 years. Dingy, old, depressing decor, some missing items, not ever replaced. No alarm clock. Only bedspread, no blanket. Heater was either too hot, or not. Horrible lighting. Continental breakfast was a roll in a sack. Room was only 8 by 8. Had to slam the door to close. Very unhelpful staff, no smiles, only excuses. The only passable issue was that the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you drive, it's very convenient. For others, they have an excellent shuttle service. The hotel is a typical, older motel. Low-priced. They have a great sports bar next door with great food and drinks. The music was for the younger generation but heck, it was a great night and great way to be stuck at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Checked in at 3 am. First room hadn't been cleaned (tv on, bed un made, dirty towels). Checked into second room. Blow dyer rip off the wall. Outlets falling out of the walls. Realized the next morning that my sheets were stained and the balcony door didn't lock. I talked to the man at the front desk and he was incredibly rude. He refused to discount my rate or really even hear me out. I was highly disappointed and will not be staying at the Days Inn again. Nor will I recommend people there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

small ,completely worn out, cold, no phone on wifi as advertised, continental breakfast was an apple,small chocolate bar and a small juice box in a paper bag.Coffee machine with powder milk. RUDE desk people. 1 face cloth.Shuttle driver was very pleasant.Newest Days Inn in America

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Days Inn Newark Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.