We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stay away from this place.

Was stuck at Newark Airport and this place was on the list of options offered by United Airlines where they said they had negotiated good rates, so I expected it to be reasonable. Turns out I paid more through the United Airlines website that if I had gone directly. Any price was too much! I would not go back if they paid me to stay there. Took 45 minutes for the shuttle from the airport to arrive even though it is only 5 minutes away. The place was really gross. Filthy. The TV, alarm clock and wall heater unit did not work. The bathroom had a inch of brown water on the floor.

It would have been better to sleep on the floor at the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    19
    50
    143
See reviews for
56
44
56
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If I were you, I'd be embarrassed to fly this establishment under the Days Inn flag. No attempt to clear walkways or entrance of snow. Melted snow pooling in lobby. Room not updated in at least 40 years. Dingy, old, depressing decor, some missing items, not ever replaced. No alarm clock. Only bedspread, no blanket. Heater was either too hot, or not. Horrible lighting. Continental breakfast was a roll in a sack. Room was only 8 by 8. Had to slam the door to close. Very unhelpful staff, no smiles, only excuses. The only passable issue was that the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you drive, it's very convenient. For others, they have an excellent shuttle service. The hotel is a typical, older motel. Low-priced. They have a great sports bar next door with great food and drinks. The music was for the younger generation but heck, it was a great night and great way to be stuck at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Checked in at 3 am. First room hadn't been cleaned (tv on, bed un made, dirty towels). Checked into second room. Blow dyer rip off the wall. Outlets falling out of the walls. Realized the next morning that my sheets were stained and the balcony door didn't lock. I talked to the man at the front desk and he was incredibly rude. He refused to discount my rate or really even hear me out. I was highly disappointed and will not be staying at the Days Inn again. Nor will I recommend people there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

small ,completely worn out, cold, no phone on wifi as advertised, continental breakfast was an apple,small chocolate bar and a small juice box in a paper bag.Coffee machine with powder milk. RUDE desk people. 1 face cloth.Shuttle driver was very pleasant.Newest Days Inn in America

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

To properly consider this place, keep in mind this is a motel in Newark, New Jersey priced under $100 total a night. I stayed in this hotel as it was prepaid by a friend who was on a budget. Now lets go to some pluses and minuses about the place-

*At Newark Liberty Airport, it appears to be the only hotel without an automatic dial amongst all the hotels at the Airport, the Shuttle also took a little longer than expected taking 11 minutes to go just under half a mile.
*The entire hotel is under construction and renovation as it was very recently an EconoLodge.
*The room was small and compact but well presented, everything worked, everything was provided but the sink fawcett was loose.
*The customer service at this hotel was very good, the front desk staff was courteous and helpful and the maintenance staff was on call if needed.
*The hotel and the surrounding area does not look great, it is located in an Industrial section near the Newark/Elizabeth border and the Airport itself. I got the impression this was a motel where one would want to mind to themselves at all time and do nothing to come across those in the neighboring rooms but in all fairness, all the hotels/motels in this area gave off this vibe which should not be too surprising given it's location.
*There is an excellent bar next to the hotel known as The Lobby
*Despite the Proximity to the Airport, incoming flight noise was not a problem.

Overall this hotel was not my first pick but it is better than it appears and it is less than $100 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the front as it will be an easier exit, be on the ground floor if driving your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Econo Lodge Newark International Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Days Inn Newark Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.