We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight before going overseas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Newark-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Newark-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128-38 Spring St., Elizabeth, NJ 07207   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flight before going overseas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff at Hampton Inn were very accommodating, helpful, genuinely friendly. The free shuttle, wifi, comp breakfast is definitely a major plus...and reasonable rates was the kicker for us. We had questions about how to get into Manhattan and Javier behind the reservation counter was extremely helpful, courteous, and gave us helpful transportation info into the city. We will come back, and stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    275
    79
    36
    13
See reviews for
203
154
71
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to an early morning flight. Of most importance was the 24/7 free shuttle to the airport which was timely and efficient. We appreciated the bagged snack breakfast which was provided since we left before the complimentary breakfast began. Free coffee and tea are available in the lobby at all times.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is one in the hotel next to the Hampton and it was very good. It is just a short walk across the parking lot.

We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Flying from San Francisco to Aruba via Newark, the best decision we made was to breakup the trip and stay the night at the Hampton Inn. Best bang for the buck - nice, comfortable, and clean with helpful staff and so convenient to the airport with their half hour shuttle. Highly recommended and breakfast included too!

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the NJ turnpike
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight before a flight out of Newark airport. We were able to leave our car there for 8 days as part of the park n' fly rate which was very reasonable compared to the other parking options. The shuttle took us right to the terminal and even picked us up when we were on our way home. It runs every 30 or so minutes. Other than that, not much to say about it. The beds were comfy, linens clean, and shower hot. It's why we always stay at Hamptons!

Room Tip: I'd get off the ground floor. They appeared to have a guard posted by the back door so just to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before an early flight. Traffic was heavy the last 5 miles to hotel due to construction so plan ahead! Check in was easy and front desk was helpful. They recommended we eat next door which worked out well. Our room was clean and comfortable on one of the higher floors. Yes the AC unit is kinda loud and Yes you can hear planes overhead. I am a light sleeper so that kind of stuff kept me up, but it is no fault of the hotel. My only complaint was there was only two very deflated pillows. It was too late to call so we chose to suffer, but I would definitely call and request more/different pillows next time.
The park and fly was great- shuttle runs frequently. We did have to wait about a half hour for the ride back to the hotel after we did call the hotel directly to tell them we were waiting. But the driver was great and dropped us off right at our car in the parking lot.
I would stay here again before flying out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here one night since our flight out of Newark was departing at 7 am the next day. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was not an issue and was free while staying at the hotel. There were security guards walking the parking lot, which made me feel safer.

We arrived early (1 pm-ish) and were permitted early check-in. The room we had was comfortable (king size, non-smoking) and clean. They have menus at the front desk for anyone wanting to order food for delivery. There were two pizza places and one Chinese, I believe. We ordered the fried chicken and pizza from a place whose name begins with a B (can't remember the name!!). It was actually pretty decent food and we got a free 2 ltr bottle of soda with our order.

Check out was quick. We left so early that we didn't get to take advantage of the free breakfast. I'm pretty sure if you are checking out early they can provide a "bag" breakfast, although I don't know what time they consider "early" because upon check out at 4 am we weren't offered any. We didn't need the shuttle so I cannot rate that service.

Overall, it was a very nice hotel and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night only given how early I was departing from the airport. This hotel was clean, comfortable, and everything you would need for a night or two. The only downside was that there are very FEW dining options nearby! However, the shuttle to the airport was a major benefit and proved reliable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Newark-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newark-Airport

Address: 1128-38 Spring St., Elizabeth, NJ 07207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newark-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Newark-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Hampton Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Newark-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.