We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Newark-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Newark-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128-38 Spring St., Elizabeth, NJ 07207   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good Value Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This airport hotel is priced right for a no frills business hotel. Parking is free. The rooms are clean and new. It's a standard Hampton.

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively equal at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    296
    92
    38
    18
See reviews for
222
171
75
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The desk clerk laughed sympathetically when I mentioned how hard it was to get to the Hampton Inn. We could actually see it but had difficulty finding how to get onto the right street. Once there, everything was fine. We chose the Hampton partly because of its convenient 24-hour shuttle to EWR, which was on time and had a very helpful driver.

Our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable, and the business center was easy to use. Breakfast was appetizing, especially the bake-your-own waffles. And the breakfast bags for early travelers are a thoughtful touch. Another good idea is the free parking---not the norm for EWR hotels, I found.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night. When I woke at 5:00am to get ready to go to the airport I saw a bug on my pillow and also blood stains on the bed sheets. I reported this immediately to the front desk. They apologized and told me they would not charge me for my room. When I arrived home I noticed they did charge me for the room and I also had over 100 bites on my body from the bed bugs. I again immediately contacted the hotel and the manager told me that when this has happened before they have exterminators exterminate the room as well as the ones next to it. The manager admitted to the hotel having this problem!!!!! Not only has this caused a great deal of psychological stress but now I have to spend thousands of dollars to get my house exterminated and all of my clothing as well as my families clothing treated as well! I highly encourage travelers to not stay at this hotel and to always check for bed bugs as soon as you enter your hotel room where ever you may be staying!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Well maintained, five minutes to the airport on the hotel shuttle that runs every half hour. the highway was a bit noisy as was the airport- but convenience outweighed the periodic rumble.

Clean rooms . . . a bit older but well maintained. Decent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I had a nice room, that was surprisingly quiet (shocking to me, since it was right off Rt 1-9). Couldn't hear a thing! Room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and appeared to be upgraded with more trendy neo-classical decor. Hi-speed internet access was free. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable my stay was. And best of all, it was very reasonably priced! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

No bar & restaurant, but clean and comfortable...would stay there again for 1 night lay over.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed at hotel one night while on business for early flight. Hotel is close to EWR and offers a free shuttle 24 hours a day (every half hour) to the airport. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Surrounding area was questionable. Decided not to walk outside by myself at night. Overall quality of hotel was decent for a 1 night stay close to the airport for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Newark-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newark-Airport

Address: 1128-38 Spring St., Elizabeth, NJ 07207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newark-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Newark-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Hampton Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Newark-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.