We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but I rather stay at the Marriott hotels next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Catch it While You Can!
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
1 review
“Not bad, but I rather stay at the Marriott hotels next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Front disk personnel are not that good in hospitality, if they dont know how to smile they should've chosen deffrent profition. I'm staying at the hotel for 7 nights and I asked them to vacuome the room once, nd the lady who works on the HK wasn't happy about it nd on the top of that she didn't leav us any coffee and didn't clean the sink.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to the area. We appreciate your feedback and we want to apologize for the inconveniences you endured. We hope to have another chance to provide a great stay in the future for you if the opportunity presents itself. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    415
    246
    90
    47
See reviews for
189
207
137
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed there Saturday night before an early morning flight the next day. Check in was quick and easy, shuttle to and from was smooth and without issue, actually both drivers were very nice. Room was good, bed comfortable, shower great - there is a restaurant but we didn't eat, had a couple of the drinks at the bar - very friendly bartender. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
179 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Prior to staying here, based on the ratings on this site of the hotel, I was quite pessimistic. After my stay, it was clear that I had nothing to worry about, as my stay here was quite good. Shuttle pickup at the airport was reliable and quick. Check-in was lightning fast, and I was in my room within minutes of my arrival. I booked a good rate for the hotel through Priceline, so was expecting the worst from my room; but, again, I had nothing to worry about. My room was quiet and clean. I could not hear the airport, nor the highway noise. There were plenty of lights; and, perhaps most importantly, plenty of outlets. The bathroom was small, but functional. One minor complaint would be the loud slamming of room doors. The hotel offers 24-hour shuttle service, 24-hour room-service, and has a pool and workout facilities. All this, combined with the close proximity to the airport, make this hotel a smart choice. I'd absolutely return if in the area and have a similar need for a hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great staff here from arrival to check out, complimentary shuttle works really well.
No issues at all , will be staying here again at Newark airport especially as price remains competative.
Upgarded to a really nice room on the 14th floor that had recently been upgraded-Very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently fitted out room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
251 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,912 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for a night since I had an early meeting in Newark the next morning. Given its distance from the city or anything of interest, I think that nearby meetings or an early morning flight are really the only reasons to stay at the Hilton Newark Airport. Here are the key points of my visit:

1. Location- The Hilton Newark Airport is not connected to the Newark Airport but there is a complimentary shuttle that runs every 20 minutes. I would say that the airport is 2-3 miles away.
2. Lobby- The hotel’s lobby area was dark with a Seventies disco feel. There was a small Starbucks coffee kiosk as well as a boarding pass machine.
3. Room- My room was large, plainly furnished and clean.
4. Internet- The internet was complimentary and quick.
5. Service- I ordered an egg white frittatta for breakfast and was extremely specific that I wanted it made with eggs whites only. I waited 40 minutes and when it arrived, it had been made with regular eggs. I sent it back and Room Service Manager called to personally apologize. He also gave me the replacement frittatta for free and offered me a free beverage at the Starbucks in the lobby. I really appreciated him making the effort to make things right.
6. Fitness Facility- The gym was small but perfectly adequate. There were 2 elliptical machines, 2 treadmills and a free weight area. There was complimentary water and each machine had its own television.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience with your room service order. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this well worn hotel several times. The good news is that they are renovating the rooms on this dated Hilton

First the staff are great! The room cleaning staff are the friendliest on the planet. !

We had a conference there; awful! Bad AV, bad food for lunch, poor service for the meeting. So be careful if you book a meeting here!

If you need a room, make sure you get a renovated room!

Hilton needs to look seriously of who caries their brand at this hotel... Mgt needs a course on running a hotel,, the staff gets it; mgt doesn't

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the guest room. As you stated, we are completing a renovation and we want to thank all of our guests for their patience. However, I apologize for the level of service you experienced with our staff. We will be sure to make the necessary corrections and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for 1 night prior to a flight. The room itself was large and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. The room has a beautiful window but the view was not.
The front desk was very efficient. The shuttle was on time. We did the park and stay and the pick up shuttle was also on time.
We ate in the lounge and the food was very good.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
#1 of 13 in Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers.In 2012 the Hotel will complete a full room decor and furnishings renovation to include upgraded services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.