We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay across the street from the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Low Rates from $179
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good stay across the street from the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed there Saturday night before an early morning flight the next day. Check in was quick and easy, shuttle to and from was smooth and without issue, actually both drivers were very nice. Room was good, bed comfortable, shower great - there is a restaurant but we didn't eat, had a couple of the drinks at the bar - very friendly bartender. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    283
    172
    62
    34
See reviews for
121
131
100
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Prior to staying here, based on the ratings on this site of the hotel, I was quite pessimistic. After my stay, it was clear that I had nothing to worry about, as my stay here was quite good. Shuttle pickup at the airport was reliable and quick. Check-in was lightning fast, and I was in my room within minutes of my arrival. I booked a good rate for the hotel through Priceline, so was expecting the worst from my room; but, again, I had nothing to worry about. My room was quiet and clean. I could not hear the airport, nor the highway noise. There were plenty of lights; and, perhaps most importantly, plenty of outlets. The bathroom was small, but functional. One minor complaint would be the loud slamming of room doors. The hotel offers 24-hour shuttle service, 24-hour room-service, and has a pool and workout facilities. All this, combined with the close proximity to the airport, make this hotel a smart choice. I'd absolutely return if in the area and have a similar need for a hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great staff here from arrival to check out, complimentary shuttle works really well.
No issues at all , will be staying here again at Newark airport especially as price remains competative.
Upgarded to a really nice room on the 14th floor that had recently been upgraded-Very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently fitted out room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
1,739 helpful votes 1,739 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for a night since I had an early meeting in Newark the next morning. Given its distance from the city or anything of interest, I think that nearby meetings or an early morning flight are really the only reasons to stay at the Hilton Newark Airport. Here are the key points of my visit:

1. Location- The Hilton Newark Airport is not connected to the Newark Airport but there is a complimentary shuttle that runs every 20 minutes. I would say that the airport is 2-3 miles away.
2. Lobby- The hotel’s lobby area was dark with a Seventies disco feel. There was a small Starbucks coffee kiosk as well as a boarding pass machine.
3. Room- My room was large, plainly furnished and clean.
4. Internet- The internet was complimentary and quick.
5. Service- I ordered an egg white frittatta for breakfast and was extremely specific that I wanted it made with eggs whites only. I waited 40 minutes and when it arrived, it had been made with regular eggs. I sent it back and Room Service Manager called to personally apologize. He also gave me the replacement frittatta for free and offered me a free beverage at the Starbucks in the lobby. I really appreciated him making the effort to make things right.
6. Fitness Facility- The gym was small but perfectly adequate. There were 2 elliptical machines, 2 treadmills and a free weight area. There was complimentary water and each machine had its own television.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience with your room service order. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this well worn hotel several times. The good news is that they are renovating the rooms on this dated Hilton

First the staff are great! The room cleaning staff are the friendliest on the planet. !

We had a conference there; awful! Bad AV, bad food for lunch, poor service for the meeting. So be careful if you book a meeting here!

If you need a room, make sure you get a renovated room!

Hilton needs to look seriously of who caries their brand at this hotel... Mgt needs a course on running a hotel,, the staff gets it; mgt doesn't

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the guest room. As you stated, we are completing a renovation and we want to thank all of our guests for their patience. However, I apologize for the level of service you experienced with our staff. We will be sure to make the necessary corrections and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for 1 night prior to a flight. The room itself was large and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. The room has a beautiful window but the view was not.
The front desk was very efficient. The shuttle was on time. We did the park and stay and the pick up shuttle was also on time.
We ate in the lounge and the food was very good.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I missed my connecting flight due to bad weather and needed to find a place to stay. The United person recommended a Ramada, but I was quite nervous to go to Ramada as I don't stay at them. I saw the Hilton Newark Airport Shuttle and jumped aboard as everyone else was going to the Ramada. The hotel was in close distance to the airport. Check in was quick and simple. I had a very nice room that was clean and very modern. The bed was comfortable. I hadn't had dinner so I ordered room service, which was a little expensive, but it was very good and the gentleman that brought me my meal was very nice and courteous. I loved the TV and the services you could order were great. I would stay here again if in the area. The only downfall was that I had to get up very early to catch a morning flight and didn't get to sleep longer in the comfortable bed. There were other amenities in the hotel I didn't get to enjoy also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton
Address: 1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers.In 2012 the Hotel will complete a full room decor and furnishings renovation to include upgraded services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilton Newark Airport to your Saves list