We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rate from $119
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Airport Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

So this hotel is slightly below what you would expect for a Hilton hotel, but fairly typical of a close to airport property.

Free airport shuttle, rooms and bed are comfortable, and free WiFi for Hilton Honors members.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    351
    213
    75
    44
See reviews for
162
165
120
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean, spacious, modern room furnished nicely. I've always loved the Peter Thomas Roth Toiletries.

This is a fairly basic property. The location isn't wonderful, but there is, of course, a shuttle to the airport.

I liked my room, had a decent experience with service, and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Will be honest in admitting that I spent less than 8 hours at the Hilton - got in around midnight and was gone by 7. Overall, the hotel feels a bit tired with faded paint and an 80s vibe. The room was an adequate size - very comfortable Hilton bed and an adequate bathroom with a powerful shower. Views across Newark airport so you can see flights taking off and landing. Didn't get to try the breakfast but the staff in general were friendly and helpful. Would recommend if you need an easy option near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad our location met your needs, however we apologize you didn't enjoy our room decor. We hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.


Regards,
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here because it was the only hotel available after Hurricane Sandy. The staff was very accomodating and helpful even in trying circumstances. The rooms are a bit outdated, but Im sure there aren't many good options in Newark. Would stay again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is shabby, run down and dirty. When I checked in I was given a room that currently had someone in it! So much for your safety and security when staying here, when I explained the situation to the front desk they just treated it like it is something that happens all the time.

I could not wait to check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback on our hotel. I appreciate your honesty and am deeply sorry for the incident of double booking your room. Please know that this is not a common occurrence and we take the safety and security of our guests very seriously. Additionally, we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest rooms are an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to the area.

Thank you.
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the Hilton at Newark Airport is tired and in need of renovation. Their airport shuttle runs infrequently so you lose the advantage of proximity, for the amount of time you wait for the shuttle you could be 15 miles away at a newer hotel for less money. After waiting for the shuttle they send a small van for way too many people. I would not return, there are better options for the money.

Room Tip: sk for a room on the 8th floor, the only floor renovated in the building. The oer floors are very t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam C, General Manager at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the dependable shuttle service you expected and deserve from our property. We will share your comments with our transportation team as we continually look for ways to improve our guests’ experience. We know how important a reliable ride is when catching a flight and apologize that this was not your experience. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to show you the quality service and accommodations you desire should you return to the area in the future.

Thank you,
Sam Calello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hilton Honors check-in resulted in upgrade, for $18, but room wasn't available until 2 PM. Had luggage taken to room and headed to restaurant for lunch. Initial requests not available but what was served was very good if not a bit pricey. The bar didn't open until 4:30 so there wasn't much to do. Went up to room and thought we had entered a cave. Walls and furniture were black and grey and the window looking out over the airport was very small. Of course they use those new low wattage bulbs so it was a very dark room. Hard to find enough light to read by. Bed was comfortable, room was sound-proofed from airport but not the kids running up and down the hall. Good nites sleep. Went to bed early because I didn't like the way the election was going. Woke up early, packed and had coffee in lobby before taking shuttle to EWR. Note: shuttle will drop you at your airline terminal but will only pick-up at the P4 Skytrain station so you have to get your luggage, take the elevator up to train level, go to P4, take the elevator down to ground level and wait for your shuttle. This is for all hotels, not just Hilton.

Room Tip: Very isolated. Try Newark Hilton at Penn Station. Join Hilton Honors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers.In 2012 the Hotel will complete a full room decor and furnishings renovation to include upgraded services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.