We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for overnight stay between flights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newark Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Newark Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rate from $119
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Northants, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good option for overnight stay between flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed many times at this hotel, and always find it comfortable, clean and fairly convenient.

The rooms are very good (at least on the Hhonors floor) and the people are friendly.

Just two niggles - the bus comes every 20 minutes which can seem like an age when waiting at a murky end of Newark airport when tired, squinting to read the signs on the buses in the dark (and rain). And, why start breakfast at 6.30am when so many people need early flights? After all, that's why we stay there! The Starbucks option isn't credible - to me at least. Open for breakfast at 5 or 5.30 am and it would be much better!

There is no Executive lounge for those that are used to such things.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the opportunity to let us know about your stay at the Hilton Newark Airport this past week. We appreciate your comments and are working toward the addition of additional services. In 2012 we will accomplish a renovation of all guest floors and rooms and the inception of an Executive Lounge are in the planning stages in the course of this renovation. We do pride ourselves in running a 20 minute shuttle schedule and we appreciate that at late night and bad weather times this can seem longer. Thank you for your understanding in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    353
    214
    75
    44
See reviews for
162
167
122
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and bed very comfortable. No outside noise from the airport even though very close.Would stay here again if we were in the area. However would not eat or drink here, very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Hilton Newark Airport. Friendly staff and comfortable, restful sleep experiences are the foundation for success and we are very happy we met your expectations in those regards. Thank you and we do hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Good location and excellent free shuttle from airport.
Rooms and decor a bit tired looking and probably deserves a bit of decoration.
Wifi is not free and would have expected that to be included for the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay last week and we are happy we were able to meet your expectations. We want to let you also know that in 2012 we will be refurbishing all guest rooms and corridors with a complete change of decor and added amenities. While there is a charge for in room HSIA please note we do have complimentary HSIA in all public areas of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Hilton has 24-hour shuttle service to the airport so it was a perfect place to stay for an early morning flight. All of the staff members were really impressively nice, from the front desk to the barista at the lobby Starbucks. Rooms were Hilton-quality, though our bathroom was slightly outdated - but the service and location more than made up for it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and slept like babies: no airplane noise could be heard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay. We truly appreciate your letting us know about the friendliness of our service oriented staff and how our shuttle and room window soundproofing contributed to a great stay. Also, in 2012 we will renovate all guestrooms and corridors which will again make the Hilton Newark Airport the finest quality hotel in the Newark airport market. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Hotel staff was personable and attentive. The lobby and guestrooms look out dated and worn BUT clean.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide comments on your recent stay. The friendliness of the staff and clean facilities are key contributors to an enjoyable stay as you outlined. In 2012 we will renovate guestrooms and corridors to assure we go from 'out dated' to the freshest hotel in the Newark market. We hope you will return to enjoy the new look and feel of our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night when we flew in from Phoenix so my husband could leave from JFK out of the country. It was OK- free shuttle, nice lobby and comfortable beds with lots of pillows! Room service was expensive, as we got in at 1AM and just wanted to eat and go to bed. But that's to be expected with room service, but the food was good! They were very nice about bringing in a baby cot (playpen) for our daughter and brought blankets with it also.

The rooms were clean except the bathtub had some mold in the corners and the sink had some mold in the ring along the counter. No trash can liners int he trashcans though? The other thing that concerned me was that the window opened inwards without any security screen and the window was down on the floor level where it worried us that our toddler could unlock it and crawl out. We watched her closely, but this is something parents should be aware of this danger!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here with girlfriend as a close hotel for one night before an early flight from the airport. Got to Airlink stop at 7pm and waited no longer than 20mins for complimentary transfer bus to collect. 8mins to hotel. Nice entrance area, a little grander than expected. Checked in quickly. Room was good for what I understand is a 3* - clean, big, hd tv, king size bed with amble pillows (bed was so comfortable). bathroom was all you needed, quite spacious with a few marks on ceiling evident following a repair, but nothing to worry about. room was quiet even though by lift, cant complain. complimentary bus collected us and others on time at 6.20am - was told buses collect every 20mins on the hour. bus is a 12 seater or so with baggage space so not sure what would happen if 20 people waiting for the bus at one time - perhaps you have to wait but theres no orderly queue or anything!

ticks the room comfort / cleanliness and shuttle bus arrangements boxes well from my experience.

will very happily book her again, and most likely will see as i'll be going back to new york next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillDOSM, Director of Sales at Hilton Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. Your positive comments and ratings are very much appreciated and it's always great to share these type comments with our staff. Just as a note, early morning airport departures are very heavy here, and when the guest count exceeds capacity we do all possible to add an additional shuttle run within 5 minutes. Hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the New York area next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Airport

Address: 1170 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets as well as 24 hour room service. Our Precor Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers.In 2012 the Hotel will complete a full room decor and furnishings renovation to include upgraded services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Newark Airport Hilton
Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.