We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; near airport and outlet mall.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location; near airport and outlet mall.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of this hotel worked very well for our family reunion. The shuttle service to and from the airport was definitely the best. The hotel was in walking distance to the mall. The free breakfast each morning was always very hot and plentiful.

The only caution would be to not use the hotel safe. Locked things up in the safe and was unable to re-open the safe -- even the hotel staff could not override the lock code. This turned out to be a terrible inconvenience for two days. Hotel staff had to call the manufacturer of the safe to re-open. Missed our Sunday morning event waiting to have the safe opened.

The hotel could use better training on cleaning the room. We had a pull-out sofa, and there was trash and a sock under the couch. Had to have been there a while.

Room Tip: Received a good value renting a suite. The room was very soundproof despite the airplanes flying ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    238
    65
    34
    24
See reviews for
134
143
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were concerned due to the negative reports but were happy with our decision. Room was clean, breakfast spread was not bad at all. Just needed a room for the night and then on to the ship. Took the shuttle from there and the car stayed on their lot, no hastle. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were given a low level room which is decorated in the style of the retirement home.
Cluttered would be an understatement so with poor decor we asked, politely, if we could move. Nothing available for 2 nights so as we were here for 5 nights we thought we would just grin and bear it.
We styled the room by putting 1 chair in the cupboard,NOT a wardrobe and the Mommys Psycho chair we manoeuvred to make more room.
Thought we would lock away the valuables in the in room safe. But it was broken. Looked out of the windows only to see outdoor vegetation through the dirty windows.
Now the important bits. Room carpet needed good cleaning, feet sticking to fibres is not good. Foreign items under the bed which I will not enlarge on. All in all tatty and far from appealing.
Now we have stayed at other Country Inns and they were a whole lot more inviting.
Breakfast, only if the hotel is not packed with raucous American school kids who have little or no regard for others.
You guessed we did not enjoy this "place" and would certainly not revisit even though we normally give places the benefit of the doubt. We stayed put in our cell and only moved out as we stayed at the Airport Marriott hotel for the last night and oh boy £20 more($35) and it was a different world.
Forgot to mention they also had leaking roof in reception, but hey what should we have expected!!

Room Tip: There's an Embassy Suites being built opposite. Delay your journey till its finished. Second t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a good hotel except I kept finding hair everywhere. There was hair when you pulled the covers from the bed, in the tub, on the towels. The pool was small and there was so much chlorine, it makes you want to pass out as soon as you walk in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for a flight to Europe, leaving the following day. The airport shuttle apparently arrives at the airport on a regular schedule during busy evening hours - every half hour at :15 and :45. Our shuttle arrived about 7 minutes late, but that was fine since the hotel is only about 5 minutes away. The staff at the front desk were friendly and remarkably personable. There is a small pool and jacuzzi. Everything is clean and new - similar to many 2 1/2 - 3 star hotels. I was impressed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel itself was average but a bit pricy. The pool was small and so strong with chlorine that just being in the pool room made your eyes sting. We were suppose to get a grab-and -go breakfast, as we had a 6 am flight. It consisted of a small bottle of water, a badly bruised apple, and a granola bar. We were taken to the airport terminal, rather than the normal parking lot drop off, because it was so early. On our return it was a nightmare. We arrived at 1 am and called as soon as we got our luggage. They said it would be a while. We were traveling with our 2 and 5 year old grandchildren. After 15 min. they said they were waiting for the van to return. After 45 min. they said he would be there soon. After more than an hour they asked where WE were. We were at the baggage and passenger pick up area. We were told that we had to go to the 3rd floor. After ending up in the parking lot we asked security for help. The elevator was shut down. The escalators were not running. We had 2 small children, luggage, carseats, etc. The hotel said their driver was not familiar with the airport. We could not get to where he was. At 3 am they said take a cab. The hotel was not happy about paying the driver and refused to tip him, we did. We still had over an hour to drive home. The hotel said it was not their problem that they took over 2 hrs to get us. A very expensive mistake. Do not use the stay, park, & fly package!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We also apologize for the long wait at the airport and our driver not picking you up in a timely manner. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Ragrds,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Morning construction going on next door not to nice. Hotel staff is always smiling and pleasant. Close to airport. Not to mant decent restaraunts in the area. Options are limited to about 4. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor, cozy accommodations, friendly service and affordable rates, the Country Inn & Suites is one of the top Newark Airport hotels. Ideal for families, our hotel is considered the most family-friendly hotel in the area. Conveniently located just three miles from Newark Liberty International Airport and within 30 minutes of all that New York City has to offer, you'll soon be saying I love this country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.