We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Average and Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Between Average and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 5 nights here visiting New York. We flew into Newark and the shuttle was over was smooth. We had 2 rooms that were connecting. The rooms were clean but it does seem as if the hotel needs to be updated. The breakfast was fine and there is lots of choices for all different tastes. I wasn't wowed but I would say it was okay. Bonus is there are outlets across the street for anyone needing to shop!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    295
    85
    39
    32
See reviews for
201
210
48
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here during my over night layover in Newark. Sure a nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff...
This hotel has free airport shuttle something I look forward to when I stay in hotel just to kill my layover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Raphaël, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

In Jan 13 was my third visit to this hotel and will not hesitate to go on my next visit. The location is great close of the airport with free shuttle, there is 2 excellent restaurant on the same lot (Hop and Ruby Tuesday) and across the street the Jersey Garden great outlet shopping. The continental breakfast is excellent good choice of food and free

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SappiNY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property after our flight from LaGuardia was cancelled right after the Memorial Day weekend. We were definitely not happy regarding our flight situation, but when we arrived at the hotel after some last minute booked, we were very happy. The property was very clean, the staff welcoming, and overall we LOVE the Country Inn chain. This was our first time staying at Country Inn and since then we've stayed at 3 other hotels in the US and Canada. The hotel offered what we needed, we did not use too many of the amenities. We had an early morning flight so we were not able to try the breakfast, but it's typically the standard fare of oatmale, make it yourself waffles, yogurt, fruits, and muffins/breads. And of course they have delicious cookies throughout the day. I would definitely recommend this chain if you are looking for a clean hotel with friendly staff at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Secluded hotel is about 15 minutes from Newark Airport. Complimentary shuttle bus departs every 30 minutes from the airport. Opposite the hotel is The Outlet Collection - Jersey Gardens (for the food/eat, but rather do you go somewhere else). The hotel is a normal standard Country Inn with free breakfast, free hot drinks during the day, with a small pool and whirlpool. The greatest weakness are of some members of the reception desk. When we arrived at the reception desk was a man who ate. Not even greeted us and NOT responded to our greeting. He was reluctantly and bored, he gave us a card to our room and told us not a word more. During the next stay, we met with the ladies - receptionists, that were enjoyable (and they greeted), but welcoming, friendly and helpfull reception staff we are really imagine differently. Maybe there were there for a punishment.

The rooms would have need a bit of renovation and not ironed bed linen does not too clearly/freshly. Even long black hair on bed linen were not very pleasant.

If you do not expect anything from the staff, you will probably be satisfied and then we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel prior to my cruise aboard Explorer of the Seas on 12/12/2012 because it was recommended by a couple of Cruise Critic users , its free airport shuttle, as well as the Sleep and Cruise package. The hotel showed some sign of wear and tear but the staff were extremely friendly and more than helpful. Our flight got there to early to check in so the clerk locked our things away and we walked over to Ruby Tuesday for a quick bite to eat and then we walked over to Jersey Garden outlet mall to waste time.Once I was able to check in I took a nap and my friend he went back to the mall to stroll around some more. We got up the next morning ate the complimentary breakfast and awaited the shuttle to Cape Liberty. Upon getting off the ship we contacted the number on the voucher and the driver picked our group back up and dropped me and my friend off at the airport and returned the others to the hotel. Sorry I did not take photos this time but to be honest I was trying to get ready to board the ship and locate missing and forgotten items I would need aboard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family (wife and two teenage kids) came to NYC for a sightseeing trip right before Christmas 2012. This hotel was very clean, the room was a decent size and the beds were very comfortable. There was a complimentary breakfast which was better than you would normally expect. The breakfast area was quite large and was very clean. I was concerned about security before arrival but that isn't a concern at all. The area is well lit and there are other hotels and restaurants right there. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor, cozy accommodations, friendly service and affordable rates, the Country Inn & Suites is one of the top Newark Airport hotels. Ideal for families, our hotel is considered the most family-friendly hotel in the area. Conveniently located just three miles from Newark Liberty International Airport and within 30 minutes of all that New York City has to offer, you'll soon be saying I love this country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.