We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a few drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a few drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Recently stayed here before a conference in Newark and it was a solid choice. The room was spacious, bed was comfortable and it was clean. It was also nice to have a microwave and frig in the room.

I had been looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub (it closed at 11pm), so we headed to the pool area at @10pm. There was a large gathering of kids aged about 8 to 16 that were jumping in the pool and hot tub - totally unsupervised and boisterous. So much for relaxing.

Unfortunately, our room (#231) must have been near the laundry facilities because we heard the cyclic sounds of water feeding a washing machine and the whir of a dryer every half hour... for most of the night. It was loud enough to wake me up.

Aside from those two instances, we had a nice stay at a fairly reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask where the laundry facilities are - and request being far away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    238
    65
    35
    24
See reviews for
134
144
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here 1 night precruise. We thought the price, which included parking our car for 12 days, was a great deal. We were checked in promptly with pleasant front desk staff. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was nice with a good amount of choices. Although we had made arrangements to the pier with other cruisecritic members, they do offer information on transportation to the pier if needed. The on premise parking was gated and the hotel location was a plus as it is next to Ruby Tuesday and across from a great mall!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed there last week of jan/12 with my wife and 2 daugthers for 2 days. Very well located, large, clean and confortable room. Breakfast "stay at home" style with all we need (and usually have at home). Prompt and friendly front desk. Very good cost x benefit. Definetly my choice when I need to stay in NJ next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions when on an early flight out of Newark Airport. I usually arrive late and leave early so I can not comment on the breakfast. Shuttle drivers have always been great and on site parking is a real plus!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for 2 nights, pre-cruise. After arriving late from a west coast flight, we were in no mood to hastle with transportation issues. No problem! We simply collected our baggage, took the air train (free) to P4 (the pick-up and drop-off parking area for the hotel shuttle). The signs in the airport were easy to follow. Once at P4, we called the hotel and they sent the shuttle (also complimentary). A short 5 - 10 minute ride and we were at the hotel. The next day, after a very nice complimentary breakfast, we spent the day in New York City. The staff were very helpful in telling us the best way to get where we wanted to go. The hotel shuttle delivered us to the express bus area at the airport where we purchased 2 round-trip tickets ($54) to the city. Express bus dropped us at the Port Authority transportation center close to Times Square where we met up with a tour group for a 7-hour tour of the city. After the tour, we walked a couple of blocks to broadway for an evening show. Walked several blocks back to the Port Authority where we boarded the Express bus back to the airport where the hotel shuttle picked us up. The next morning, after a great nights' sleep and another great breakfast, we met up with a group for a pre-arranged shuttle with Independent Driver ($15 ea) to the cruise port.

What really impressed me about the Country Inn & Suites was AFTER our 12-day cruise. We did not stay as guests post-cruise, but our flight to the west coast was not until 6PM. The hotel allowed us to store our luggage in their locked storage room, let us hang around the lobby to use the internet and have coffee, shuttled us to the nearby mall and then back to the airport when it was time to catch our flight. Even though we were not guests, we were treated better than some places we have stayed where we were paying guests!

The front desk staff were professional, pleasant, and accomodating. The shuttle drivers were friendly. The hotel was clean, breakfast was good, price was right! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed there on 1/5/12 prior to flying out of newark. Check in was prompt and courteous. Room was clean , free breakfast was good. Good location near mall and Ruby Tuesday. Shuttle driver to airport was courteous as well. We are staying again in May for our preflight. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax & UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We used this hotel for two nights prior to cruising out of Bayonne over Christmas because: a) It offered a free shuttle from the airport AND a paid one to the pier b) was in an excellent location, close to the Jersey Garden Shopping Mall, and c) we received such excellent help and advice from staff member Jamie Lee prior to arriving. She was beyond helpful in describing how the sleep and cruise package worked, and costs involved for all options. I was only sorry we didn't get to meet her whilst staying.

On arrival we took the free AirTrain to P4 where all the hotels pick up. This turned out to be remarkable simple, even with the three big bags we were lugging around. We waited only about ten minutes for the shuttle to the hotel.The hotel lobby is a bit small, you could say cozy, and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Check in was a little lengthy, but understandable as a new staff member was being trained up.
The room was basic, nothing special, but clean, and the bathroom surprisingly spacious.
We ate at the Ruby, next door, both nights, having good value meals with great service.
The shopping mall was just a few minutes walk away, past the Ruby, over the main road, and across a car park. The mall was a great place to hang out, and get bargains. There is also a large cinema there, another great way for passing time during a stopover.
Breakfast was included and more than adequate, and the coffee good. We particularly liked the complimentary cookies in reception. Nice touch.
After the cruise, we had paid for vouchers to get us back either to the hotel or the airport. It was all very easy. We did some drop offs at other hotels on route and, seeing them, we were glad to have stayed where we did.

Based on our experience above, I would totally recommend people to stay at this hotel rather than others in the area, if only for the excellent location. If we ever cruise from Bayonne again, I wouldn't even look at any place else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor, cozy accommodations, friendly service and affordable rates, the Country Inn & Suites is one of the top Newark Airport hotels. Ideal for families, our hotel is considered the most family-friendly hotel in the area. Conveniently located just three miles from Newark Liberty International Airport and within 30 minutes of all that New York City has to offer, you'll soon be saying I love this country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.