We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newark Airport, Jersey Gardens, Liberty State Park (statue cruise) Carlo's Bakery @ Hoboken etc.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Newark Airport, Jersey Gardens, Liberty State Park (statue cruise) Carlo's Bakery @ Hoboken etc.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and will be checking out today.
Cleanliness - no worries about that, just dont rush the housekeeping to do your room in a jiffy ( they also have other rooms to clean)
Location - a stone throw away from the jersey gardens. They offer shuttle both to the airport and JG (even though the hotel is just across the mall). If youre visiting the statue of liberty, its probably a 20 minute drive from the liberty state park ferry terminal.
Service - the only staff that i saw welcoming and smiling was the breakfast crew and the oriental guy at the desk, he's very helpful and approachable.
Value - with free breakfast which varies everyday (i just wished that they should have offer the bacon, eggs and sausage everyday) and IHOP and Ikea is just beside the hotel if you prefer to eat there.
POOL - freezing cold! The heater wasnt working. Id Stayed at the whirlpool the whole time.

Im not coming back to this area but we had lots of memorable experience here in NJ and NY. I dont recommend driving to Manhattan. Off to our next stop... Sheraton Atlantic City.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    288
    83
    39
    31
See reviews for
194
206
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The beds were comfortable. My husband and I along with our two teenagers stayed here for Shopping at Jersey Gardens and a trip to New York for about for 4 days 3 night . The breakfast was good, they made eggs every day and I don't eat eggs but other then that the fam liked it. We spent the day at Jersey Gardens which my kids liked. I did not get to do as much shopping as I needed to because for two of the days we were sleeping in the very comfortable beds until late in the after noon, going to bed at 10pm and getting up at 6am for breakfast and then relaxed in the comfortable beds before going out. As you might be able to tell, we have a fast paced life to relaxation are always a part of out trips. Next time I will stay closer into NYC because we end up paying alot of tolls going back and front.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great location, great staff, polite and attentive in the front desk, the breakfast area excellent one of the best I've ever met, not by the room space but by the variety and quality of food and great service from staff,clean and nice rooms and bathrooms,easy parking lot and easy access for the majors freeways,worth the money spent!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

i booked one night in this hotel cuz the location infront the mall, firstable i choosed the "'shop jersey garden mall package"' because we think will be great have some snacks, and the shopping bag , and many things they offer, but what a surprise they don"t have the gift card and anything else....
the room with the furniture brooken and dirty.... the "clean" towel with hear!!!
finally we asked to the receptionist for a razor, she did a misunderstanding and started to yelling me on the phone like a crazy.... 1 hour later we came to the reception to keep our bags and she started to yelling us !!! again!! just in front all the people even the manager was there and just cant stop!!! at the end we decided to ignore her, the manager was completly incompetent , no body offer an apologize .... nothing we felt really offend about this situation... and for shure will never come back to this hotel....

Room Tip: dont choose the packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We highly apologize for the experience you had at our property and any inconvenience it may have caused during your visit. We would be more than happy to send you the gift card via mail and hope you will give us another opportunity to turn this experience around for you and in hopes maybe you will visit us again in the future. Please contact the hotel and we will be more than happy to help you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at this Country Inn for one night even thou I booked 2 Nights on the Internet I could only stay one night due to a change in my Plans, it was a non-refundable rate but since I was there in Person they only charged me for the one night, what was very kind...
This doesn't happen every day, everywhere...
Enough of this...
Got free Parking and Breakfast that was all great.
The Room and the Hotel was in very good and very clean condition (Pretty New one too thou) PS. Can't even think of anything Negative at all, except the Heavy Snowfall outside

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michael
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located right opposite Jersey Garden Mall you can literally walk across the street or you can take the complementary shuttle to and from the mall. Ruby Tuesdays and IHOP are also very close to the hotel. My Husband and I stayed there for 3 nights on a shopping trip from Barbados and we loved it. The complementary buffet breakfast each morning was a plus and the staff was very friendly and always willing to help. There were complimentary cookies and 24hr coffee in the lobby and a market with wine, beer, frozen foods, ice cream etc. The swimming pool and whirlpool were very clean and so where the rooms which came with a fridge and microwave and there was free Wi-Fi through out the hotel and a business center in the lobby with printers. We also appreciated the fact that there was a storage room where we stored our luggage while we explored the mall until our room was ready ( we arrived 3hrs before check in) and after we had checked out we were still allowed to used the storage room, as well as the business center. I give the hotel 10/10 and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamieL10, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here with my 3 children on a trip to NYC. The staff and stay were fantastic. The rooms were clean. The beds were VERY comfortable! The hot breakfast was delicious. The variety was great. Every morning has cereal, fruits, assortment of bread and muffins, waffles, yogurt, coffee, milk, orange and cranberry juice. The hot items varied from, (1) eggs, hashbrowns and bacon, (2) eggs and sausage gravy, (3) eggs, bacon and biscuits.
We traveled to NYC for site seeing. The easiest and cheapest way is to catch the complimentary hotel shuttle to the airport, then catch local bus #62 which is $1.50 per person each way, which will take you to Newark Penn Station, from there take the PATH train $2.00 each way which will let you out at WTC(World Trade Center)(buy a Metro Card which is also good for the subway in NYC). You can then catch the subway to Times Square for another $2.00. This way only cost you $5.50 per person to get to Times Square. The NJ Transit train is MUCH higher and is also located at Newark Penn Station. (NJ Transit ticket to the airport will cost you $50.00 for 4 people)
The Jersey Garden Mall is across the street. It will take you about 5 minutes to walk there. Adjacent to the parking lot of the hotel is Ruby Tuesday and IHOP. We ate at both places and both were fantastic. The IHOP had great food at economical prices. Ruby Tuesday was typical for the chain but the cost for 4 is around $70 and the salad bar wasn't up to par for most Ruby Tuesday chains.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially with children. There were several church groups and exchange student groups but the noise was not a problem. We had a room on the 6th floor(7 floors in total) and watched the planes come and go from the nearby airport. The noise from the airplanes could not be heard from our room.
I felt safe at ALL times. The parking is free and also has a secured gated area for parking, even though I parked my car out front. I had read several reviews about limited parking and having to park at the Ruby Tuesday parking lot. Our stay always had a empty spot or two for parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor, cozy accommodations, friendly service and affordable rates, the Country Inn & Suites is one of the top Newark Airport hotels. Ideal for families, our hotel is considered the most family-friendly hotel in the area. Conveniently located just three miles from Newark Liberty International Airport and within 30 minutes of all that New York City has to offer, you'll soon be saying I love this country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.