We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicaped not Welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Handicaped not Welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 months and had to keep telling the front desk staff that there were vehicles parked in the handicap parking spots that did not have handicap plates or placards for these spots. Most of the time my complaints were met with indifference and excuses. Great place to stay if you are healthy and do not care about the rights of handicaped people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    85
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
63
38
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are modern, spacious and clean. Sofabed is comfy. Staff at front desk is professional and courteous. Location is excellent. Unfortunately breakfast is limited and the dining area is tiny. No restaurant or dinner service, except for some complimentary grub on M-T-W from 6:00-7:30pm. there is also no way to purchase alcohol here; one must cross over to the hotel in front for that. All in all though, it's worth it especially if traveling with family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here in the immediate aftermath of Hurricane Sandy.

The most notable observation is the professionalism and friendliness of the staff - from the manager to the breakfast buffet staff to the front desk staff.

Rooms are spacious and clean and mostly quiet.

Hotel shuttle is convenient and takes you to Newark Airport and adjacent (within walking distance really) to Jersey Gardens outlet mall.

Only negative: not in the best of areas in terms of what I perceived as low-income housing and commercial areas. Would not have felt safe driving or walking outside of the immediate area of the hotel or adjacent mall.

Location, though, trumps security given proximity to NYC (a short train to Penn Station by way of hotel shuttle to airport and then to NJ transit) and NJ areas.

An overall positive experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Nebraska
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Got a last minute room here, as a place to rest for a flight.
The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and well thought out. Best decor I have ever seen!
I was the one in the room sleeping on the pull out sofa, and it was cozy.
Wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This review is based on two stays the week prior to the arrival of Sandy. Please check directly with the hotel for any changes that may have occured. OK, now for our stays. We flew into EWR, took the escalators up and followed the signs for airtrain after getting our baggae. Take Airtrain to P4, take the escalator down and out to the benches. The hotel shuttle departs the hotel on the hour and half hour, so somewhere close to :15 and :45 after the hour, the shuttle bus will stop to pick you up. Friendly drivers and each time, airline people taking bus - already a good start. The drive is about ten minutes, and if you are paying attention, you will notice the Jersey Gardens Mall (200 outlet) parking lot on your left as you turn right and 2 short blocks and you are at the Residence Inn. They serve a good breakfast each morning, so having an IHOP one block away may not be that convienent. About a dozen places to eat in and out of the Mall are about 15 minutes away on foot (less if you walk fast).

Anyhow, checkin was very smooth (we arrived in the evening) and late checkout of 1PM one time was no problem. Also, leaving a suitcase between stays was provided with a smile. Rooms were a 1 BR (small) with sofabed in LR (not large). Ref was quiet. The counters are granite, the tile has a curve to add interest in the LR. Room was clean and quiet - keeping in mind that a few planes chose to fly over and rumble a little in the sky. View? Not really. Flat panel TVs were right size for each room. About dozen HD channels and rest not quite as sharp, but good selection of channels including kids channels.

Location, we were on a family vacation, so it took us about 1.5 hours to get to the 9-11 memorial as follows:
1. Hotel shuttle to airport P4 15 min
2. Airtrain to NJ Train Station 7 min
3. Train to Penn Station 40min (this service is not running as of 10.31.12 due to flooding)
4. Subway 1 to Rector Street 25 min
5. 2 short block walk following signs to entrance to 9-11 3 min (advance reservations required)

Of course, the mall is a short walk from the lobby, and it is nice inside (entrances are under construction, so we entered via a temp entrance). Otherwise, it is in an industrial looking area, so drive (11 to park) or use public transit.

In summary, clean, friendly, good food, good service, and value depends on your room rate - ours was good value. We will stay here again when on vacation in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd and 5th floors, both rooms seemed identical and I can only say that the elevator is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We flew into NEWARK the day before a cruise and had reservations at this hotel. We made our way over to the pick up location for hotel shuttles via bus as the train system was not working. Very inconvenient to lug all our luggage on the bus but what could you do?? We waited about 15 minutes for the complimentary hotel shuttle. When we checked into the hotel, we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, as there were four adults traveling together, for no cost which was WONDERFUL!! Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living and kitchen area. We walked over to a nearby restaurant. It's nice that this location affords several eating and shopping choices within walking distance in a safe area. The furnishings were new and nice and it was very clean. No complaints at all. The included breakfast served in the morning was good with several hot items. I don't eat gluten so it was nice to have something besides cereals and breads. We took the hotel shuttle back to the airport in the morning to get limo service to the port area.
I would highly, highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay here whenever I am in the NY area for more than a few days, and it has a pool and hot tub, so I can relax from the stress of flying in today's climate of hassles and poor quality customer service by the US air lines.

This is a Nice Hotel and is very close to NY city, take the shuttle to the Newark airport Air train, take the airtrain to the train station, and then the train into NY city. It takes about 1 hour due to the shuttle bus schedule but much better than trying to drive in and dine or drink then drive back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport

Address: 83 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Residence Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.