We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to EWR, Shopping and Highways. Quiet and a Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Close to EWR, Shopping and Highways. Quiet and a Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Even though this place is right next to EWR (we had a great view of the takeoffs/landings from our room), didn't get a lot of airplane noise. At night, we would get a few planes overhead, but only for a few minutes...maybe flight pattern changes.

Breakfast was really good (free) and they had dinner (free) a few nights a week. Two burner stove with microwave and full fridge with ice-maker. Meals start to add up for a family of 4, so the price of the room got better with every free meal!

I saw a few dogs here and there, but thankfully did not hear them barking. A pretty large Residence Inn as far as I'm used to (6 floors, 2 "wings"), but didn't seem crowded. Plenty of space during breakfast and dinner and we even brought back breakfast to the rooms a few days.

Front desk very friendly and informative. Wireless and wired in the room was good and simple to log on. Internet computers in the lobby were a bit slow and had a weird browser interface that had problems with some websites, but figured out how to get to what I needed to print...again, free service.

Takeout menus "provided' under the door a few days a week, but we didn't use them. Bought groceries for many meals.

We had a 1Bed Suite so we had a door to separate us from the kids. Slept four very comfortably. Pool was nice, but not too large. Hot tub was plenty hot (104F), but a lot of kids in and out (including mine). May have to flexible with timing if you really want to relax in the pool. Didn't use the gym, but it had a few treadmills, elliptical machines, etc.

Free parking, and walking distance to the Mall (Jersey Gardens?). I saw a shuttle downstairs, but not sure if it was for the mall or just for the airport. Check in/out was quick and charges were correct...no funny charges at the end.

Would definitely stay again, but would plan better for meals. I didn't realize they had free dinner so often. Plus, one night they showed a kids movie during dinner.

Room Tip: Clean, Quiet and had a bedroom door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
65
38
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We recently spent a night at the Residence Inn on our way to Canada. The hotel is close to the airport with a shuttle running 24 hours. The shuttle dropped us at P4, where we took the Air Train to NJ Transit, from where we went to Manhattan for $12.50 each. That made transport for a quick visit to New York so much easier. Our room was spacious with a kitchen and big bathroom. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Jersey Gardens shopping centre. I would definitely advice people to stay there if they need to fly to and from Newark Airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!! If you just have to stay at a Marriott stay at the Courtyard it's right across the street (walking distance)!! There were what the regional staff Drew called "BED GNATS" and "MOSQUITOES" in the bed in the bag (for the sofa bed) and there was a dirty sock wedged in the mattress. Also, my ring was "misplaced" when they moved us when I told them not to do so unless someone was in the room with them! This hotel made my trip horrible!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent one night at the Residence Inn before going into Manhattan because of its proximity to the Newark Airport and it was a good value at the Southwest Airlines partner price. We were pleased. Theair conditioned hotel shuttle was prompt coming to and from the airport (a blessing in the middle of a heat wave), the room was clean and comfortable with the standard Residence Inn amenities including a fridge and freezer which was great for cold water bottles , the AC worked very well, and the breakfast was fine, though like many RIs the breakfast area was too small to seat everyone. I found the entire staff to be friendly and courteous - even other guests were friendly and courteous - it was a pleasant experience and I would definitely stay there again if I returned to the NYC area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Location is great. Right opposite the mall and close to NY city. Staff is helpful. Breakfast is standard as expected. Stayed for 2 days and breakfast was exactly the same. Breakfast area is pretty crowded and tends to get messy. Don't be surprise if breakfast is over by 9:30 and you only have few choices after that. Rooms are clean and beds are fine. Air works and on average rooms are quite. Swimming pool is biggest negative. Water looked cloudy and somewhat unhealthy. Pool is small, exactly what picture shows on hotels site.

Room Tip: Rooms have no safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Friendly staff
Good food
Relaxing bed and pillows
Clean all around
Nice new decor
Close to New York City
Right across an outlet mall

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We arrived at the hotel near midnight after a long flight and transfer. Upon checking into our one bedroom unit, we encountered a very strong air freshener odor throughout. The hotel was fully booked so no possibility of a room change. And of course, no possibility of removing the offending odor which made breathing difficult. My partner had to place a towel over her face. Trying to sleep became more challenging with a periodic buzzing/hum all night in the bedroom. Talk about sleep derivation. Condition and maintenance of the hotel is average. In short, we canceled our second night's stay and moved on!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport

Address: 83 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Residence Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.