We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few glitches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Newark Elizabeth to your Saves list
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Elizabeth
Québec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A few glitches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard the night before boarding our cruise out of Cap Liberty (Bayonne), NJ.

The location was fine (there is a big outlet mall nearby - great to kill spare time). Check in was easy. The room size was reasonable and it was well appointed. Shortly after our check in, we went to the indoor pool to have a bit of quiet time. The kids enjoyed it.

Things were not as pleasant the following morning. We needed to head out only around noon, so we took our time to get out of bed. By the time we hit the shower (around 10 am), there was no hot water left.

We headed to the café for breakfast. We had pre-booked it in our package. I would not recommend having breakfast there especially if you are on a schedule. The menu is very limited and the service was extremely slow.

On our way out, we asked if there was a drugstore nearby. We were handed out a piece of paper with directions to Walgreens. The first 2 tips worked, but the directions did not work once you were on Highway 1.

We like staying at Marriott Courtyards. However, the Elizabeth NJ location did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Avoid booking your room with the breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction of the hot water levels and for not being open late on Sunday mornings. This is certainly not the Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry for your experience. I will be sure to follow up with our management team so that we may look further into these matters. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
54
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We're just back from our second stay here and can't say enough nice things about this hotel.Its right across the street from jersey gardens shopping mall which is a big bonus if your on a shopping trip like we where, It's 5 mins from Newark airport with a shuttle bus.It's clean bright and fresh and has free wifi. The staff are lovely and very helpful and what more could you ask for. See ye again next year

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I will certainly share this with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future so that we may show you a more perfect hotel experience.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Its location next to Newark International Airport and a sizable shopping center, helps to make your overnight transit between flights, a great opportunity to shop at great prices. the hotel is very wel run, and the shuttle service works perfectly.

Room Tip: a high floor, away from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. We are glad you have recommended us for stays with families when they are in the Newark area. I will certainly share this with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future so that we may show you a more perfect hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick. Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I travelled with friends and we flew into Newark airport and got the shuttle bus to the hotel. There are several courtyards in the area, do make sure the bus has Courtyard Elizabeth written on it. We arrived before check-in time, but our room was ready. Simone at reception was very helpful.

Hotel Room is modern, clean with a Tea/ Coffee maker in the room. Despite being so close to a busy airport there was no airport noise.
We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but at the iHop near the hotel.
The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle to Jersey Gardens Shopping Mall which leaves at the top of the hour. We rang the hotel from the information desk in the mall to get a return bus. Without the bus, it is about a 15 min walk to the mall.

We did visit Manhattan by getting the courtesy shuttle back to the airport and getting a train from the airport to Penn Station

I would not hesitate to stay here again as it was a good alternative for a short visit without a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
i am glad we were able to surprise you with all our benefits and amenities at our hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future so that we may show you a more perfect hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived a couple of hours before listed check-in (due to flight arrival) & was checked in with minimum of fuss, good start.

They mentioned my room request when booking me in and room allocated fitted the bill.

Room was a good size, large king-sized bed with a sofa & work area. Huge HD TV. Bathroom also a very good size. Internet was easy to connect to & no issues with speed. Only thing I'd mention that could improve would be addition of a fridge.

Ate (practically) next door & Ruby Tuesdays (probably won't again !) IHOP also very close and the Jersey Mall is only a 5 minute walk straight ahead from the hotel entrance.

Previous guest had helpfully (!) left the alarm clock on for 6am (on a Sunday !), I was already awake though due to time-zone, possibly something staff could double check when in rooms of folks who have checked out ?

I was down for breakfast for it opening at 7am (6.30am during the week) & staff here were very helpful. Again, I think over-priced however food was very good & a great start to the morning.

Check-out was painless & staff again were very pleasant. $11 per day for parking at this hotel.

I'm back in here later in the week & look forward to a similar experience.

Room Tip: Pick up water & snacks before you get to hotel to save using hotel mini-shop, it is very expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Flew into Newark airport and got shuttle bus to hotel, arrived before check-in time, but our room was ready which was great after a 7 hour flight. Hotel Room was modern, clean and big, Tea/ Coffee maker in room, there was no safe in the room but you could get a box at reception which was fine. The hotel is within walking distance to Jersey Gardens Shopping Mall which was why we had picked it. Breakfast was included in our rate, and there was Tea/ Coffee available in Reception whenever you needed it.
Free Wi-Fi in Rooms and computer at reception area to print out boarding card or to surf the net. Stayed two nights to shop and visit family in New Jersey. On departure we got the shuttle bus back to the airport then then took the train into New York City. Next time we fly to New York we will stay here again for the first few nights as a lovely hotel and great rate

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience.
Our location is a great reason to stay with us when you are in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth was FANTASTIC! I absolutely loved it! It was clean and the staff was so helpful and friendly! I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the hotel! Great location and great food! Will be going back soon!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor and it was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to make service operation impacts! We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Newark Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Address: 87 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business travel routine when you step inside our Courtyard Elizabeth Hotel near Newark Airport. Perfect for business travelers, this Elizabeth hotel boasts four meeting rooms and a state-of-the-art lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi & easy access to the latest news, weather & airport updates via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests of our Elizabeth hotel can relax in comfort in our contemporary accommodations featuring designer bedding, relax at our indoor pool & whirlpool or workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel is across from Jersey Gardens Mall and only 15 minutes from Port of Bayonne and the NJ Prudential Center. We are also central to UMDNJ, Rutgers & Kean University. The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel near Newark, NJ is designed to work the way you do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Newark Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel Elizabeth
Courtyard Elizabeth
Elizabeth Marriott
Elizabeth Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.