We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with a great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my first time at the Extended Stay America and I was very pleased. This is a great hotel with great staff - they had things that I forgot when I needed them and were very helpful in every way. Although I had a lot of questions for one staff member (Shavone), she and everyone was very courteous and helpful....thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side give a nice look for airplane landing and taking off, but regardless of wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our Staff Member, Shavone, was so helpful in assisting you.Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    26
    12
    16
See reviews for
27
22
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights . Room was clean and comfortable . We loved being right across from the Mall . Staff was kind and helpful ,they let us store our luggage for the whole day while we were out shopping . We will come back and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and we had a great experience at this Extended Stay.
Room: really big, great bed, great shower, e everything so clean. If you stay less than 7 nights, you don't have housekeeping, but we did not have problems with that. There is a good kitchen, but almost anything of kitchen stuff (just a pair of knives, spons, plates, forks, cups and some pans). I think this is my only complaining about the room, it is impossible to cook with only these. There is also a coffee maker and a toast. Great wi-fi speed, there is the possibility to do an upgrade in the speed, but you will have to pay for it. We did not pay, and everything was ok for our needs.
Breakfast: really poor... Just coffee, muffins, cereal bars and apples. Apples were not fresh on the first days.
Staff: great staff,they helped us with directions to some places we needed and called us to remember the check out time.
Location: it is near Newark airport, and thanks God, it is not noisy! The hotel is in front of Jersey Gardens Mall (great shopping!!) and it is easy to get I-95 from the hotel, it is near too. Supermarket is not close, I think the nearest is at 3 miles distance.
We booked online, and the bad thing about this is that the website just gives you the cost for the room and does not specify the rates and taxes that will aply during the stay. We discovered these values just in check in time.
Despite the negative topics I mentioned, I would stay there again: great location and comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable, though I am sorry that you did not enjoy our "Grab & Go" breakfast. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to read that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on my way to Port Bayonne for a cruise. I was impressed with the cleanliness, and everything was new and modern. The staff that worked there were very friendly and helpful and it felt like a safe environment. There is not much to see or do around there, in an industrial/airport area, but suited my purpose well. It does include a rather meagre breakfast, so don't let that be your deciding factor. (Instant oatmeal and coffee). There is a kitchenette in the room, so good if you want to eat in. And the price was right!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a comfortable stay, and I thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am in the U.S. Army and my Mother is in Beth Israel Medical Center in Newark, NJ battling Heart Disease. My suite each time that I have stayed has been very clean, free parking and convenient. I would like to recognize Ms. Shavone (Hotel Staff Employee). Ms. Shavone was very courteous, professional and gave me service with a "Big Smile". I had to call her a couple of times to find out information and she was always patient, polite and professional. Ms. Shavone assisted me with information on the area and accomodations. Her expertise, knowledge and professionalism is truly a valuable asset to the Extended Stay America Corporation and to the public. SFC Lori A. Anderson-Doby, U.S. Army

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm thrilled that you had a great stay, and happy to know that Shavone went above and beyond your expextations . Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area, and we wish your mother the very best in her recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was my first stay at this location and was 5 minutes from the airport, across from Jersey Garden Mall, walking distance to IHOP and Ruby Tuesday's. The room was clean and modern the facility was spartan but for easy access, free parking, pullman kitchen and reasonable rate it met all my requirements. Only suggestion have more than one coffee insert and provide conditioner inthe bathroom. Potential negative the hotel is located in the flight path of the airport. There is good sound insulation but some might be annoyed. free WIFI and parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review of Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. I am happy to read that our location, parking, kitchen and rate were so convenient for you, and that you found your room to be so clean and modern. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.
Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I booked this to have somewhere to stay close to the airport before an early morning flight. The plus was the property is within walking distance of Jersey Garden Mall. The staff was very helpful in arranging a taxi for the early morning drive to the airport and the shuttle provided a ride to the mall in spite of it being so close. There is no maid service unless you are there for a week but extra linens were available at the front office if required. I would recommend for persons who need to be close to the airport and are interested in doing some shopping at the Outlet Collection also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I'm so pleased to hear that our hotel was so convenient for you Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport

Address: 45 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stayamerica Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stay Elizabeth
Elizabeth Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.