We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07021   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Called for pickup from Newark Airport-van arrived quickly and driver very polite and helpful.
I arrived at 11:30A.M. well before 3P.M. check-in time. The desk clerk was very nice and gave me my room promptly. When I got to the room, the maids were still inside cleaning up. They had me drop my luggage and asked me to come back in 20 mins. Went back to the lobby and the desk clerk immediately apologized and offered me another room. I told him thank you but I'll wait till they finish. 20 mins later the room was nice and clean. Everyone was very polite and I appreciate their efforts on my behalf.

The room itself was quite nice. There is a stovetop and microwave, countertop with sink and a full size refrigerator. Large bed, good size bathroom, hair dryer and iron/board. Nice flat screen tv and new carpets throughout, They were working on painting the exterior and some parking was blocked, but not enough to be a bother.

A few things:

This is an airport hotel which does mean its near the airport. You will hear planes taking off, but it didn't bother my sleep at all. If you need total silence, this might not be for you.

Although the shuttle from the airport was free, going to the airport there is a $5.25 charge. They don't tell you this in advance, which I didn't appreciate. Although it is much cheaper than a taxi, they should tell you in advance on their website.

Other than that this is a nice place to stay even for more than a few days. Would be nicer with a dishwasher and oven, but is worth the money spent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a full refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.
It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    26
    12
    16
See reviews for
27
22
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Staff is top notch and extremely friendly. Rooms are newly redone with fresh carpets on the floor. The kitchen ara is something to be desired with no oven and not the best stove, but a few pots and pans are offered if you need to cook. All rooms have a refrigerator as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been coming to Extended Stay America in Elizabeth, NJ for a while every time I have to work on the East coast. And they have upgraded their decor quite impressively. So now they are approaching the 5 star level as their employees especially Carmen. And I know there are a lot of plugs for Carmen but you have to come meet her yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I would like to personally thank you not only for your continued loyalty to our hotel, but also for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. To be told that we are “approaching the 5 star level” means so very much to all of us.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we cannot wait to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Carmen at the front desk is every bit as awesome as the rest of the reviews suggest. That is where the good things end. Airport shuttle costs $5+tax and runs 7am to 11pm. The hotel is run down. My non-smoking room stinks like cigarettes and marijuana. The bedspread has holes in it. The TV remote doesn't work. Whatever - I wasn't expecting luxury for $94/night at the airport for the 6 hours I'll be in the room. But what really takes the cake is the construction going on in the room directly above me at MIDNIGHT! Drills, hammers, etc. When i called the front desk, the agent (not Carmen) verified that construction was indeed happening in the room above me and suggested that I talk to the manager when he arrives at 7am because "she just works there". Seriously???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and would like to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about Carmen. But I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.
It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived here with a party of 8 and had 2 rooms reserved. But initially the both rooms were on different floors.Carmen at the front desk was very helping and she went out of the way to re-assign our rooms at the same floor. She also helped us with our questions related to restaurents and also with the questions related to local travel. She really showed interest in trying to help us. I was impressed a lot! and I will strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
"I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I am so glad that Carmen was able to get both of your rooms closer together for you, and to help you with regard to the surrounding area. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays, and your willingness to recommend us to others is the greatest compliment you can give us!
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Im about to write this review and can already read the numerous positive reviews about the Front Desk clerk Carmen... and for a good reason. She fulfilled all of our requests. We were already stressed out because my husband is active military and we were en route to Germany on pcs orders. We were also traveling with our cat. She helped make our stop in between flights extremely accommodating and was understanding with a family issue that had come up.

The property was excellently priced for what we received, but honestly, it's always great service that makes the stay worth wild. Carmen should be highly commended for her uplifting personality, sense of understanding, efficiency, and overall charismatic quality, wanting to help and putting others before herself. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Kimberly,

I would like to thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport, and, in particular, about our colleague Carmen. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays. We also realize that we are very fortunate to have Carmen representing us to our guests!
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Good:

Rooms have decent space.
Love their convenient Laundry and microwave oven.
Very warm staff. Meet with a lady called Carmen (I think). Very genial person that is hard to find in other hotel receptions.

Bad:
Rooms have a strange odor, but the window can be open by yourself, so it's not a big issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a full refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.
It would, of course, be our pleasure to see you as our guest again in the future. Should you experience any issues with odors on your next visit, please be sure to bring it to our attention so that we can rectify the issue during your stay. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport

Address: 45 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stayamerica Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stay Elizabeth
Elizabeth Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.