We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Parking
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

One night business stay on executive floor. Gym and pool are excellent with state of art Precor machines. Pool is large indoor -- very inviting and good for laps. Breakfast was excellent - great assortment of fresh fruit, fresh cooked scrambled eggs- not dried out. Getting to the hotel is an extreme challenge and demands gps and a lot of attention. Self parking was easy. Did not try restaurant. There is little in the way of restaurants or other diversions nearby. But if you are looking for a quality place to put your head down close to EWR and at a reasonable price this is it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    161
    49
    17
    17
See reviews for
56
76
41
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here after a long flight into Newark Airport. The hotel is ok as a business sleepover. Had to laugh at the website comment "Unlike other hotels, we offer floor-to-ceiling, sound-resistant windows facing Newark Airport and sweeping views of the NYC skyline that will take your breath away". Saw a plane take off, didn't see the airport or the NYC skyline. Also no floor to ceiling windows but the room was somewhat quiet being next to a very busy airport. The room was ok but the bathroom was really small. Ate dinner in the bar because the restaurant was booked for a private party. The food and service was ok. Didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E.PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just spent the weekend at this property and had a nice stay. This is my third stay at this hotel ( each a year apart) The bed was very comfortable. The food was good. The Tomato Bisque was exceptional. The shuttle service to the airport was prompt and on a 20 minute schedule. I do not know what the rate was since I crashed with my brother who was there on business. From the talk I overheard if people are using the meeting rooms, the staff is very responsive to needs. It is a great place for a conference, or a pre/post flight stay. It is not the type of place to choose if you want to go strolling around the neighborhood of the hotel. If you want to use it as a base to go into NYC, you can: but it will cost you $25.00 for each RT on NJ Transit from the Airlink station at EWR

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Horrible location if you want to walk to it from airport area. Otherwise very nice hotel. No real lobby shop or restuarant. Was here for 3 day for conference. Very clean

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

There are all the typical hotel chains in and around EWR and none of them are actually "in" the airport. Even the Marriott which is the only hotel located on the airport property requires a shuttle to get to. Being a loyal Marriott Elite member, I've spent many nights at the EWR Marriott, Courtyard and SpringHill Suites but far and away my favorite hotel when overnighting at EWR is the Renaissance.

The hotel recently went through a complete renovation. The lobby, restaurant, bar, concierge lounge and rooms have all received a facelift and the place looks great.

The restaurant has constantly delivered on above average food quality and is now served in an ultra-lounge type atmosphere. This is a definite plus because besides the other hotels in the area, there's really no place else to go in the area for food even if you have a car. Our room on this stay had a hardwood floor entry, lounge area with flat screen, HD TV, work desk and a sleeping area tucked towards the rear of the room.

The only downside to this room (and this was the first time I noticed this on my several stays at this hotel), was that we were able to hear the group next door. It's possible that this was due to the adjoining door between the two rooms (I'm not sure if I remember seeing this in the previous rooms I've had), or maybe it was because there were no guests next door on my previous visits. But you could clearly hear the conversations going on. The soundproofing must be better on the outside walls because there was no noise coming from either the car or air traffic outside the hotel.

Concierge lounge served all the typical Marriott/Renaissance offerings for breakfast and in the evening in a freshly renovated lounge.

If you're considering staying at either the EWR Marriott or the Renaissance, especially if you're an Elite member (or any other hotel at EWR for that matter), I would definitely recommend staying at the Renaissance. Bigger rooms, better restaurant, newly renovated and usually 30% less per night than the EWR Marriott

Room Tip: It's possible that not all the rooms have been renovated yet (per other reviews). Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed one night after arriving with a cruise ship in Bayonne port. From Bayonne we took a shuttle to the airport ( $ 17 each) and from there we took the hotel shutlle. Rooms and standard of the hotel was very good. Nice rooms. We were given a new room immediately when we said we did not like rooms with connecting doors. We had our meal in the bar, which also is called a grill, but it looks more like a bar. Breakfast was very expensive, $ 18.
We were thinking of going to the Jersey Garden mall by using the hotel shuttle to P4 at the airport, and then the $ 5 shuttle to the mall, but in the hotel, there was Maria from Uruguay, who drives a lincoln town car shuttle at taxi-prices, so we used this service for $ 25.
We had a late flight to Europe that night, so it was a fine thing to do instead of spending many hours in the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

dont let the name renaissance fool you.
it used to be a doubletree or some other brand
and has been renovated but not completely.
rooms still show wear and tear
a real 3 star in my opinion.
nice bar and restaurant
not much around area
you will need a car
they do offer a frequent airport shuttle
a basic airport hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Address: 1000 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 story Hotel with 396 guest rooms and 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Upscale with restaurant, bar, and starbucks coffee cart. "Sweet Dream" bedding system in large guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.