We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Restaurant in the Area!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiritos Italian Restaurant

Spiritos Italian Restaurant
third avenue, Elizabeth, NJ 07202
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 214 restaurants in Elizabeth
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in the Area!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Been here a couple of times as I am a resident of Elizabeth. The Restaurant is outdated but seems like they want to keep it the Original way. The food is excellent, the Pizza, Veal parmegian with spaguetti, the ravioli's !!! Mmmmmmmmmmmmm!! Delicious food!! Look around because you might see Famous people here. The place is known Nationwide and I have met people that drive from other States to eat here. Recently the famous Don King was eating here. Enjoy!! Bon apetit!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    23
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like dining with the Sopranos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

There's no butter, no coffee, no dessert, street-only parking and its cash only. The chicken parm is wonderful. Pizza is awesome. And everyone loves the homemade ravioli. The dark atmosphere definitely gives you a Mafia vibe, but it's more than welcome since the food is so good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best pizza on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Always my first stop when I am visiting home. Not only is the pizza the best, but the veal cultet also. The home made ravioli melt in your mouth. My grandfather used to take me there when I weas a kid- we would sit in the bar area and I would have a birch beer while eating with he and his cronies.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Classic GREAT Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I grew up in NJ in the 60's and my parents took me there as a kid so you can say I've been going there for 50 years.

My Dads absolute favorite meal was Spiritos veal parm. I can't remember a single time my dad didn't have it when we went there.

There are two sides, the bar side and family restaurant side and basically the main entrance brings you right through the kitchen. We almost always ate in the bar side.

This is old style italian food. The veal parm is one of my favorites also as is their ravioli. Can't think of a single time the food has been less than 100% and during my lifetime I've been there 100's of times.

I'm living in Indiana now and don't get to go to Spiritos on a whim any longer but when I'm back home in NJ, getting there is a priority.

I've read some other reviews about service issues but truthfully, I wouldn't care if I had to wait my own tables to have some Spiritos. My mouth is watering just writing this review. I'm sensing a trip back to NJ!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best Homemade Ravioli EVER!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The ravioli in meat sauce is to die for. You will never find anything better ANYWHERE. The pizza is fantastic as well and don't miss the garlic salad, although it will stay with you for a few days. Forget any kind of atmosphere but that doesn't matter because the food is awesome. In the summer walk down the block to DiCosmos for fresh Italian ices

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiritos Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spiritos Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiritos Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.