We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spanish food in Elizabeth, no question...............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manolo's Restaurant

Manolo's Restaurant
91 Elizabeth Ave, Elizabeth, NJ 07206-1632
908-353-7674
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manolo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 222 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Audubon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Spanish food in Elizabeth, no question...............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Unbelievable old world Spanish cuisine in a beautiful old building with the best service and servers in town! We were on business in Elizabeth for two months and ate here often. There are many really good restaurants in Elizabeth, but this one is the best. Well worth the costs and the food is just out of this world. We loved the stuffed pepper appetizer as well as the chorizo and the garlic shrimp. For the main courses, the fish dishes are wonderful and the lamb is incredible. This was the only place in town that did the octopus correctly, so we give this location our top ratings! Try it and you will love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best in Elizabeth...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Manolo's is simply one of the very best restaurants where I have had the pleasure of dining! From the location (downtown Elizabeth, Industrial) to the layout (quaint and cozy, with the perfect mixture of ambiance and privacy) to a fantastic menu (Spanish, Mediterranean) to servers extraordinaire! They have everything and more to make your dining a wonderful experience. Once inside, Manny and his team will take great care of you. Last weekend was my niece's high school graduation and I went to Manny and Manolo's to put together a great night of food and celebration. They did not disappoint. Manny had a beautiful table for 10 prepared (with balloons and roses) and since graduation did not end until 9 and the kitchen closes at 10, he also had our dinner orders in advance and ready to go for the moment we sat down at the table. Although the the kitchen closed at 10, Manny and his staff stayed as long as we wanted to stay. You have to let Manny or Kiki mix you a blended drink with nothing but different juices. Very refreshing. The entire menu is delicious, especially the fresh fish of the day and the steaks are like butter. Excellent!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent short notice lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

was early for an appointment in Elizabeth, asked the securtiy folks if they had a recommendation, they pointed me to some deli, on the way, I found Manolo's....EXCELLENT....Chicken and Orzo soup, grilled salmon was the best I've had in a LONG time! Garlic Bread with chopped tomatoes and a large cappuccino to finish it off....~$30...but well worth it! excellent atmosphere, granite bartop, top shelf liquors.....I will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

clean, great service, and great food. i enjoyed this place so much, i ate there 3 times during the week. you will drive through neighborhoods that may have you thinking your in the wrong place, but keep going. great seafood prep and beers on tap.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old time look, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Everything seemed to click for the four of us at Manolo's on a recent Saturday night, starting with the delicious sangria. This is a dark, wood-paneled restaurant, with tablecloths on the tables. We had a reservation, but probably didn't need one since the place never totally filled up. T Service was attentive; food was excellent. We mostly ordered from the daily specials, including fish & some serious beef (fillet wrapped in bacon, for example). Meat was cooked precisely to our order. No bread on the table - were we supposed to ask? Lemon cake and a frozen ricotta pudding were tasty shared desserts. We all look forward to returning because the meal was so enjoyable, and the place is not pretentious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manolo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Manolo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manolo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.