We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valenca

Valenca
665 Monroe Avenue, Elizabeth, NJ 07201
(908) 354-4024
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 223 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Deliciously!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Many have asked me why would I want to go to a restaurant where I pay to cook my own steak? Well, simply put....because it is delicious!! We were a group of four. We made reservations and even then we waited about 40 minutes to be seated. The place gets really crowded...they have a small parking lot, so most likely you will be parking on the street. But it felt safe to park and walk to the restaurant. That is my only complaint.

We ordered appetizers...chorizo and raw oysters. Both delicious! The oysters were ginormous and so meaty and fresh! Then we ordered the steak on the stone, which is what this place is known for. Since we were 4, we each ordered different...steak with jumbo shrimp, steak and tuna, double steak....OMG....the quality of the meat....amazing...it was so soft you can slice it with a butter knife! It was thick, juicy and tender (both the tuna and the steak). You get a garlic butter sauce which I used to cook the meat, and two other dipping sauces. The meats come with a large order of rice and papas (fried potatoes...almost like chips). We also ordered a pitcher of sangria but that was not impressive.

Definitely come here...make reservations...a must...order the steak/tuna on the stone...so worth it! Oh, and be prepared to smell like you were grilled...the smell from everyone cooking on the stone fills the air and gets all over your clothes and hair. But the experience is well worth it. Great staff. Very attentive...busy place but never felt forgotten or ignored...and the food...EXCELLENT!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    13
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Steak on a stone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

If you've never tried steak on a stone you have to do it just once in your life... One night while visiting a local club I met some people who suggested a late dinner. They said they knew this great place that served steak On a stone! I had never heard of this. Boy was I glad I went. The place has a kind of cool old school NJ feel to it. The steak comes with all these dipping sauces that are supper good. You cut off a piece and cook it individually on your plate. Awesome service awesome food. A great experience. Try it if you're close by.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hot Stone Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant can not be beat for the value. Everything we have ordered has been delicious. The meals that are cooked on the hot stone when brought to the table are amazing and reasonable. Very good seafood dishes and appetizers. Sangria is excellent also. We prefer the main restaurant over the grill area next door. Reservations are recommended (and you will still wait about 30 mins). The restaurant can be a bit noisy, but enjoy the lively atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High hopes, disappointing end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, we were pleasamy surprised with the immediate attention of being seated and then given bread and salad with a side of olives. However after we ordered it seemed we no longer existed as the waiter ignored us completely. The food was average at best, yet my fiancé did get a very good cut of steak. I attempted to get our waiters attention and he ignored us completely. Very sad as we will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Have been going there for 20 years and never disappointed.

the food is great and terrific value. My in town guests always have steak on a stone and talk about it for weeks. It is a must try at least once

be prepared though the service can be variable especially when they are busy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valenca also viewed

 

Been to Valenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valenca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.