We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an Overnight Stay in Atlantic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6811 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for an Overnight Stay in Atlantic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in a king sized room this past weekend at this hotel. I booked this hotel because the price was reasonable compared to what I would have paid had I stayed at a hotel on the Boardwalk. It is a short drive from this hotel to the Boardwalk via the Atlantic City Expressway (toll road) or Black Horse Pike (no tolls). There are also several strip malls and what appeared to be a regular mall a a few miles up the road.

I arrived at the hotel early, but the room wasn't ready. The young lady at the desk stated that she'd call when it was and she was true to her word. I was a little leery of what the room looked like on the inside, because the outside door had paint that was chipped and peeling, but the room was fully renovated and a good size. There was a fridge, but no microwave in the room. There is a microwave in the vending area of the floor I was on (4th).

I agree with one of the other reviewers about the smell. There was a strong odor of paint in the wee hours of the morning and it seemed to last for about 10-15 minutes before dying down. This happened on two separate occasions while there.

I did eat breakfast and there was a decent variety (scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit, etc.)

Overall if you are looking to book a room in Atlantic City without breaking the bank I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel front desk isn't attached to the hotel. There are two entrances. One is closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. With the rooms and halls all being re-painted the smells can linger for a bit, and I do apologize about that. We are airing out the rooms as best as we can. And I will have our painters re-check your room door so the chipped door is fixed. The breakfast is a great deal. You can't beat the free eggs, bacon, pancakes, yogurt, and of course our famous warm cinnamon rolls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    27
    20
    20
See reviews for
46
46
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It doesn't look like the standard HIE with the separate check in/out lobby and no direct access to the outdoor pool as this property was obviously converted from another brand. Given that there is renovating going on, I really can't complain about our short stay. The breakfast had a full complement for the brand incl hard boiled eggs = good! The fitness room was average to above for the brand because they had a weight machine and cardio = good! The room was fine. TV channel selection was large. The outdoor pool, on a hot day, was refreshing. Most major franchise restaurants are within a mile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review. Our location is a hot amenity around here! So close to everything without the congestion of the down town. We are under renovation so our lobby, breakfast, and rooms will all be in one area. We are hoping by the end of year we will be all NEW! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I understand the Go Green, cut down on washing towels etc however when you book and pay for a room for 2 adults, 2 towels is ridiculous. In the bathroom, one tiny shampoo, one tiny conditioner, one lotion and two bars of soap. So we could each have our own bar of soap but were expected to share the shampoo. 2 towels 2 hand towels one bath mat. So you had to figure out how to dry you body and hair with the same towel. Since this was a one night stay, and almost $150 for a room (with tax that is) I assumed towels and shampoo was included. I didn't bother calling the front desk because the desk is not in the hotel , it's a separate building and I wasn't about to walk outside at night for that. I believe they are renovating to add the main lobby to inside the hoterl. the room was clean, it is not fancy at all.. very basic, peeling wallpaper but minor. We tried to go to breakfast and it was so packed we got coffee and left. So I would think about staying there, but ask for extra towels and toiletries at signing...and don't count on breakfast unless you are up at 6:30. They have a shuttle to RESORTS but none of the times were convenient. Resorts charged only $10 To park and if you get a receipt when you pay, they will let you come back once.. parking at night is $15 At RESORTS. Margaritaville and steel pier with the rides is right there. Staff was nice... no visible security.. I would not walk alone. because it is desolate.

Room Tip: if you want a washcloth, bring your own.. you will only get 2 towels no matter how many people are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing in. We appreciate your feedback. We put a standard number of towels, shampoo, conditioner, soap & lotion in each room (as outlined from our brand). We would absolutely give any guest extra towels or bath amenities upon request. We are moving our lobby to the rooms building and are excited about all the new changes. Our breakfast area will be brand new with additional seating to help with the busy weekends. We hope you will come back and see us again, and no need to bring your own towels, we gotcha covered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have never taken the time to write a review on a hotel before but now I always will! I'm up at 12:44am have a 6am flight can't SLEEP cause of the smell in this room! They could not change our room for us, my kids kept saying its so bad. Ok they are renovating so don't put guest in a room that the paint smell is not out of. I will be writing a letter to corporate!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for telling us about your stay. And I would like to apologize for the paint smell. We are under renovation as you mentioned and the rooms do have a fresh paint smell. We do try to air out the rooms as best as possible, but unfortunately, just like at home, a paint smell takes time to fade. We are almost done with all the rooms, the final 50 rooms are being done as I write, so hopefully the smell will be gone by the next time you are in town. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The first night we turned down the sheets and there were candy wrappers in the bed. Obviously they didn't change the linens. I had to make the beds with new sheets at midnight. Room wasn't vacuumed. They are renovating but it still wasn't as clean as it could be. The elevator was filthy. They wouldn't let us use the pool because they said the chemicals weren't balanced. Location was great but the hotel around the corner was much nicer and cleaner for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I would like to apologize for the room services. I am quite suprised at the candy wrapper situation, we hold ourselves to much a higher standard, and I am so sorry that happened. We have talked with our housekeeping staff regarding this. As for the pool, we had the pool closed due to the weather. We had off and on storms that entire day. Our chemicals have been fine all season. Not only do we check our chemicals three times a day, but we also have an outside company check our chemicals on a weekly basis. Unfortunately, if ever there is a threat of a storm we have to close our pool, this is for everyone's safety. We hope you will be able to visit us again when the sun is out and enjoy our relaxing pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Just what we expected for a quick getaway near ac and brigantine. They were currently remodeling but it didn't inconvenience us or interrupt our visit. Breakfast was fine but we suggest that it go until at least 10 am. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love to hear your comments and suggestions. We are so glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time. Our breakfast hours during the weekdays are 6:30-9:30am (we get a lot of corporate travelers who are normally out by 8am), but on the weekends we do extend our breakfast until 10am. We have a lot of leisure travelers over the weekends and we know it feels great to sleep in (especially in our new pillow top mattresses!)

We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two years in a row during our annual trip to Atlantic City. We got what we consider to be a great rate for a summer Saturday ($109 total including taxes) within a 10 minute drive to the casinos. This also included a complementary hot breakfast for the four us - a nice bonus. This year we had a renovated room. The updates were apparent, with fresh paint, updated furniture, and a flat-panel TV. The rooms also include a refrigerator. The rooms are smaller in size, including the bathroom, but the entire room was clean. Check-in was smooth and the staff was very friendly. Our floor included laundry facilities and a microwave in the vending area, which we did not use, but could be useful features for people who stay longer. The FREE breakfast had a nice variety of coffee, juices, fruits, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, etc. The only downside is the safe in our room was locked when we got there, and no maintenance personnel available for 1.5 hours to come fix it, so we headed to town carrying all of our money on us. While judging our stays in various hotels, we take into consideration the quality of our stay for the price we pay. This place has met, if not exceeded, our expectations for two years in a row, and we likely will stay again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We love having our guests come back year after year. I am sorry to hear about your safe. Since your comments, I have made sure each manager is trained to fix the safes in the rooms when this happens. Thank you for helping us improve our services and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City

Address: 6811 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Are you looking for a clean and affordable hotel, but don't want to stay in downtown Atlantic City? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in West Atlantic City, NJ is a four-story interior corridor hotel with a great room and a full breakfast served from 6:30 AM - 9:30 AM daily. We are located just two miles from FAA Tech Center and Atlantic City Airport. Holiday Inn Express in West Atlantic City is located just 10 minutes from the excitement of the Atlantic City casinos, beaches and boardwalk. We offer a shuttle to the boardwalk for those guests who would prefer not to drive. Every over sized room has a 25-inch TV, free cable and HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and voice mail, coffee makers, fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers and clock radios. You will fall in love with our brand new king and traditional double bedded rooms with desk and easy chair. Visit Atlantic City, NJ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Holiday Inn Express Pleasantville
Holiday Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.