We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6817 Black Horse Pike, route 40 east/ 322 east, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“It's ok of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok of a place it's an older hotel that's been updated. The rooms r pretty nice they got flat screen TVs w/ a lot of channels. But I really don't care for the location there's no places in walking distance to eat or drink.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review on tripadvisor. wallmart and six food places will come near by in the future . Once againe thank you for staying with us.bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    45
    32
    34
See reviews for
56
58
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson in Egg Harbor for the close proximity to Atlantic City. Labor Day weekend and soaring prices for hotels on the boardwalk we probably paid more than what is normal at the HJ. We had a King non smoking room. It was clean and neat. The furniture was old but I believe they are renovating. The air conditioning was a bit lacking and more humid than anything else. The front desk personnel were nice and accommodating. They have a small pool in the back which was full of kids early in the morning. Parking is free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked two non smoking rooms through Expedia. We received our confirmation and reservation numbers. This was a last minute trip, so we could not get any hotel closer to the casinos. As it turned out, this place was only 10 minutes away, and if you didn't want to drive, they did offer a free shuttle bus. Anyway, I called when we were about 20 minutes away to ask if we could check in early. First the desk clerk hung up. When I called back, he said he has us down for 2 smoking rooms. He said they were booked, and it wasn't his problem, take it up with Expedia. There were many phone calls, waiting for answers. We actually drove up to the hotel while still on hold. Bottom line, Expedia told us to cancel the reservations, and rebook at the regular price for 2 non smoking rooms. Someone screwed up, and neither party is owning up to it. We had to take the smoking rooms (it was only for one night), but I will be on the phone asap with Expedia, and they will make this right. If they don't oblige, then I will go to the corporate office of Howard Johnson. The manager at the hotel told us just because Expedia reserved rooms, he is allowed to give the non smoking rooms away if someone else calls and reserves. WHAT? It was like the Seinfeld episode, where they reserve a certain car, but the car rental place gives the car to someone else because they got there first. The hotel is old, but clean. The outdoor pool was the best part. It was clean, with plenty of chairs. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special. We left early because the smell was making me sick. Musty, smoky, etc. They actually gave us a can of Febreeze to keep in the room.

Room Tip: The "manager" finally did try and help, but don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Reservation came for smoking room from expedia eventhough you requested for non smoking as a request to expedia. If we have room available, we will swith as long as we are not sold out. Once againe thank you for your review. bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township

Address: 6817 Black Horse Pike, route 40 east/ 322 east, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson is located 4 miles from Atlantic City Airport(ACY), 5 miles to Atlantic City Casino, Beach and Boardwalk, 1 mile from Plesantville, 1 mile from Northfield , 5 miles to Linwood , 6 mile to Somers Point, 8 miles to Ocean City, New Jersey, 5 miles to Hamilton Mall. 1/2 mile from Shore Mall. Howard Johnson is centrally located. close to Garden States Parkway and Atlantic City Express Way entrance. safe and clean neighberhood. Close to shopping and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Atlantic City West Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Comfort Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.