We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6817 Black Horse Pike, route 40 east/ 322 east, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“You Get What You Pay For”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Old and worn out property, although assistance from front desk was wonderful. Bathroom was in need of rennovating, wood flaking from the doors, mirrored marred, funky shower controls and lack of hot water. Towels were of poor quality and no bath mat given. This place is probably ok for a group of college students or someone strapped for cash, but would advise others to explore other options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your review , It help us to improve our rooms & services .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    48
    37
    34
See reviews for
60
61
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We decided to stay at the Baymont during our first trip to AC after finding a deal online. We were drawn b/c of the advertised shuttle service. However, you should know that the shuttle is only on Fri/Sat at specific times and most of the other hotels around use it also.

The hotel was questionable at best. The chairs have crazy stains on them, and it looks like someone tried out different paint samples on our wall (not exaggerating). Furthermore, the bathroom could use a good sheet of plastic over each surface if you want to feel clean. Overall, the staff was nice, but the hotel is just so beat up that it wasn't a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your comment , as we said earlier ,our intention is to improve our rooms & services all the time. Since we took over from previous management , we think we are in the right direction.It takes a lot of money and time in a bed economy . We are providing a comfortable stay at resonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I recently stay at Baymont Inn because I was in town to see a boxing match. The hotel prices in Atlantic City were astronomical,well over $300 per night.The Baymont was 5miles down the road, and offered ok amenities. I was very disappointed by the hotel bathroom (very blah and old)and my hotel view. I had to keep the curtains drawn, because I was on the 1st floor and people could look in my room. Other than that it was ok, and the bed was VERY comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at baymont inn& suites. we are in the process of updating our bathroom & rooms .As you said ,we are not $300 hotel , we provide comfortable stay at resonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel staff was attentive to our needs. Laura was great as she helped with travel needs and directions to Atlantic City and restaurants. Niraj was great as he was helpful with many things and requests. They were both always smiling as they helped us and they genuinely wanted to tend to our needs. BRAVO!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Not a bad hotel. I actually have stayed here before. It was under a different name. The staff were very nice and if i needed something they did their best to accomidate us. It was a very good price rang and not far from stores, beach, or the casinos. They really try to go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I came in with a room on the second floor and ask for the first floor to avoid the stairs and they did this as i checked in. I would definitely come stay here again.The staff is very friendly always there to help you any time of day or night.

Room Tip: May want their cleaners to make sure there is more than 2 trash cans in the room. Also check to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.we look forward to see you againe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I expected the worse and i was pleasanly surprised!!! I would recommend this hotel to other couples looking for a quick quiet getaway!!!! The price was right and the the service was great!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great location. Very close to Atlantic City casinos. Very friendly front office staff.Great weekend prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baymont6817, Manager at Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township

Address: 6817 Black Horse Pike, route 40 east/ 322 east, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson is located 4 miles from Atlantic City Airport(ACY), 5 miles to Atlantic City Casino, Beach and Boardwalk, 1 mile from Plesantville, 1 mile from Northfield , 5 miles to Linwood , 6 mile to Somers Point, 8 miles to Ocean City, New Jersey, 5 miles to Hamilton Mall. 1/2 mile from Shore Mall. Howard Johnson is centrally located. close to Garden States Parkway and Atlantic City Express Way entrance. safe and clean neighberhood. Close to shopping and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Atlantic City West Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Comfort Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.