We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad 5 years ago, worse now!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City

Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6821 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad 5 years ago, worse now!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here at the insistence of the government agency I was doing business with at the airport.. Overpriced, staff rude, bar way overpriced, one elevator worked, fitness center quite minimal. My understanding is the property is about to convert to low income housing. Regardless, the owner has obviously stopped putting money into his hotel. If you must stay here, get the room on Priceline -- you'll save $25.00 compared to the official government rate, but my advice is go somewhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!! If coming on unreimbursed government business, use Priceline. A couple of my collea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    8
    16
    20
See reviews for
16
14
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was VERY reasonably priced. The elevators seemed to really be in need of repair and I was uncomfortable each time I had to use it. Its nice to have a suite but the room was very dark. My toilet clogged the first time I flushed it but they were very quick to correct the problem. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not. There was no mini frig in the suite which is atypical. I sat by the pool for a bit but it looked too dirty to swim in. The free breakfast was really bad. Easy access to Atlantic City and other beaches.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you can find another hotel nearby, avoid this one! Yes the lobby looks good, but thats about it. The rooms were in "okay" shape. They didn't really care for keeping the halls/carpets in the rooms vacuumed. Only 2 elevators worked. There is an "old" moldy smell throughout the entire place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for a family wedding nearby. The trouble started with trying to make reservations. Staff is unknowledgeable and nasty. No one seems to know what was going on. The day of, All our familys rooms were not ready when we got there. We had permission to check in early, again, the staff didn't know what was going on. We had to leave for the wedding at 330. Everyone had to dress in someone that had a room. The room is dirty. Outdated. The elevator did not work correctly. The down button didn't work, you had to press the up, to go down. Things in our other familys room didn't work correctly or were missing a shower curtain. again the staff was nasty, rude and unknowledgeable. The room was freezing cold., we turned down the thermostat and by morning, it was blowing warm air. Staff and managers need training in customer service. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel thinking Clarion was a good choice. The lobby is lovely, but that is where the positive opinion ends. Customer service is very much lacking at this hotel. We did not have a reservation when we arrived but had seen an internet price that was $40 less than at the desk. When we asked for that price the clerk stated she could not do that - said we would need to book on line. I walked across the lobby, made the reservation on my phone, walked back to the desk and she said "Now I can give you that price". When we went up in the elevator, the elevator carpet was disgusting. We were pleased to have a suite - - - except the AC was not working. We turned it down to 60 degrees with no difference. The suite did not have a refrigerator or microwave.

When we went to the free buffet the next morning, there was an extremely rude manager seating guests. As we entered, he was fussing at a waitress so badly in the middle of the dining room that she began to cry. He didn't speak any nicer to guests, including standing in the middle of the dining room and pointing across, saying "sit over there".

This hotel needs a lot of work past the lobby and the staff need training in proper customer service. We would need to think hard before staying at this hotel again at the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Got to Atlantic City by 6pm without a reservation. This Clarion was a good choice for $70.00. If you save ChoiceHotel points, the reservation needed to be made online through their own site (is this new??) so I went to the business centre at the end of the reception desk, made the reservation, walked back to the clerk and got checked in... seemed like a silly waste of time but at least I got the points toward a free room. The hotel/room had many attempts at modernization, but it's still an old hotel. It's satisfactory, not as dirty as some reviews suggested; did need a better vaccuming. Only serious complaint about the room was that the air conditioner blew directly onto beds so we went from hot to cold all night as the blowers worked. However, the breakfast more than made up for other shortfalls. Lots of fruit, cereal, juice, milk, toast, and a chef making fresh eggs, ham, fried potatoes to your liking. Wait staff very friendly and helpful with service and info about the area. Shuttle service available into the city. Free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethel park pa.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

1 night stay. Reserved a room with the whirlpool tub that was not usable. It was filthy dirty (you could see a ring of scum around the entire tub) & the tile around it was broken. The carpet was so dirty - staines & burn marks throughout the whole room. 3 elevators that I wished I didn't have to use. #1 was ok - #2 was like the Tower of Terror at Disney - #3 you had to go up to go down. This entire place needs serious work. The one good thing was the breakfast buffet - it really was very good. Awful smells outside - combo of garbage, cooking food ,& vomit.

Room Tip: Consider some place different if you are overly concerned about a clean place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City

Address: 6821 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 6 story atrium Hotel located just 10 minutes from the world famous Atlantic City Beaches and Casinos. With more that 25,000 square feet of meeting space including our Beautiful Grand Ballroom, we can acomodate groups from 10 to 1,000 Perfect for Weddings, Family reunions, Conventions, Bus Groups and Corporate meetings. We offer 213 oversized traditional rooms and suites We are the perfect place to "get together" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Convention Center Atlantic City
Clarion Egg Harbor Township
Clarion Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Convention Center Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.