We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nizam's

The Nizam's
6666 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEVER again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went there for new year dinner with family. they didn't have any appetizers at all. Waiter tells me we don't carry this items most of the times then freaking take off the MENU. No fish dishes, no lamb or goat dishes, what the hell!! We walked out from there and OWNER has filthy attitude. I will never go to place ever again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After a week at the shore enjoying good seafood I was craving Indian food and stoped for lunch at The Nizam's on Saturday.

I love Indian food and will go out of my way for it. The buffet at Nissan was excellent and included rice pudding dessert an chai. The service is very good and although the atmosphere is fairly plain, the quality of the food more than makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have been to Nizam's for lunch many times. When it first opened about 3-4 yrs ago, I thought the food was pretty good. The last couple times, it's been so-so. A little on the bland side. The food is not bad, I'm not saying don't go there. Nizam's just needs to spice it up!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC AND DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First time to Nizam....Loved it....food was fresh, authentic and delicious. Service was friendly, fast, attentive...our table was check upon several times during our meal...the atmosphere was calm and relaxed.....the decor was plain and clean.....it is a byo which is another plus.....Will be back to try other dishes

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just got back from dinner with my husband and 2 children. It is our "go to" place for "comfort" food. We pretty much get the same thing every time only because we are addicted to those meals, that would be the chicken saag (chunks of chicken in a pureed spinach) for me and hubs gets the chicken mahkani (chunks of chicken in a creamy red sauce) and we share vegetable biryani, a side of raita (mmm..our son eats that yogurty goodness like soup!), naan or roti for dipping. We also start out with papadam and they give you great sauces to dip. We bring a bottle of white wine to boot. We always feel happy, satisfied and full! Honestly, Everything is so fresh and made to order. I love the bringing home leftovers...yes,I have been know to eat them for breakfast :). We have been faithful since they have opened and are true fans. We didn't even know what to order the 1st time ever eating Indian, we read reviews and someone suggested the Chicken Lajawab, an almond sauce with chunks of chicken and spices..mmm! I do get that periodically! My hubs had the Chicken Tikka Masala, great too! We have tried many different dishes to be adventurous and honestly there wasn't anything we did not like. For dessert hmm, ok our favs are the keer (love the indian rice pudding!) and, the kids love the little sweet balls (like lil balls of donuts) called, gulab jumon...we always say it wrong but they know :) oh and yes, can't forget the kulfi (indian ice cream). We have become friendly with the owner and he is such a nice guy and family man. The wait staff we have really come to know and enjoy them as well. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing. Honestly, we have tried a few different Indian food places here in NJ, Pa and FL. and they didn't compare to our "go to" place. Sorry so long and I could even keep going on further. We have turned people onto it that used to say "I wouldn't like Indian food because I don't like curry." I love asking people what curry is and they thing it's 1 thing, little do they know it's a bunch of spices they like just put together....ahhh! Indian food is a wonderful experience...go, go to "The Nizam's"

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nizam's also viewed

Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 

Been to The Nizam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nizam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.