We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort to your Saves list
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
manahawkin,nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What happened to this restaurant? It's new buffet is aboluletly awful! Why did they change it. We used to come here quite frequently the past 12 years and have visited recently to find that the 6 course meal has been done away with! What a mistake! Our dinner the other evening was lobster tail and filet mignon. No sauce on the steak and very dry. The lobster tails were also very dry. They must have gotten rid of the chef from a year or two ago our last good meal there. Now, you get an entree and have to help yourself to a lame buffet. Salad fixin's, pork loin roll up was the carving station choice, bread, and tasteless mini pastries. Don't waste your time going to this restaurant you will be disappointed! You'll do better going to the buffets in AC!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
18
88
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The overall complex is quite nice, with a superb golf course, nice restaurant, and winery across the road. The highlight is clearly the golf course. Not only is it scenic, it is well maintained. The restaurant is far from gourmet status, but ingredients are of good quality. Portions are huge so order accordingly. The kitchen staff would benefit from some training in food presentation...

The hotel itself is OK. Decor is wonderful in public places. Our bedroom had nice furniture, but plain beige walls. The wall mounted heater was very noisy. There are no 'Do Not Disturb' signs, nor room safes. The magnetic keys demagnetize very easiliy, so ask for several at checkin. The TV was miniature.

The biggest problem with the property is lack of good cellular network. It does not matter what provider you have, reception is very poor, except on the golf course. You see people wondering around looking for signal bars - forget it. The hotel WiFi does not have sufficient bandwidth to accomodate a filled hotel. It is impossible for example to use Skype to make a voice call. So depending on what you seek, this lack of connectivity is either great or terrible...

Did I mention the golf course is great!

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor room to have any hope of getting a cell phone signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to the winery for an overnight quick getaway, with friends. We booked the one-night gourmet restaurant package. Upon arrival, the winery has a quaint cute appeal. The grounds are pretty and well kept. Very scenic and pretty. It looked similar to a grand Mexican hacienda in cabo. Check in was simple, and we were there just in time to catch the last winery tour and tasting for the evening. If I knew when I was driving at top speed to catch this last tour what it entailed I would have slowed down. The tour is short and nothing I’ve ever experienced before, having been to another winery. Their bottling operation is very, very, very small. It’s interesting to see the old gigantic oak barrels but that was the highlight. When you enter the dimly lit dark tasting room that wreaks of a dirty wet bar rag odor, you gather around this rather large bar and you are given one glass to taste all of your wines which you have to rinse out between wines. (I found that to be rather disturbing and tacky). They give you a list of over thirty wines, but only let you taste six wines of their choosing. If you interesting in anything special they tell you, you can purchase a bottle. To their credit the make a very tasty zinfandel, but stay away from the blueberry wine and blueberry champagne. We left the tour to change for dinner at the “gourmet” restaurant, I could have stayed in my travel clothes, and needless to say we were over-dresses. There was nothing gourmet about the gourmet restaurant. We expected a gourmet experience and received cheap mass produced wedding reception type food. The only decent thing on the menu was the filet mignon. The extra lobster tail was tough and rubbery. We were very disappointed. So after the disappointing dinner we thought we would go to the main bar for some good drinks and some music…..wrong idea. It was just a wedding party sitting around a bar of the café restaurant watching a sporting event. There is nothing to do at this place. We should have made plans to go over to Atlantic City. The room we had was nicely decorated and clean, didn’t like the motel style bathroom set-up, but overall it was clean and nicely decorated but could use some updating. This is a day trip visit, not a weekend getaway. We were there less than 24 hours but glad we weren’t there longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had received a gift certificate for the Renault Winery and Tuscany Hotel from my son and his wife and decided to go there for my husband's birthday. We were delighted with the service and the food was excellent. We had a large, comfortable room and we went to the wine tasting Friday evening followed by the seafood buffet. My husband played golf on Saturday morning and was very surprised with the beautiful golf course which presented a challenge. He has played all over and thought it was one of the better courses in New Jersey. We would recommend this resort for a pleasant weekend getaway.

Room Tip: They have a lot of weddings so stay away from the middle of the hotel where the reception rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This facility is outstanding, the only drawback is their wait staff and bar personnel. The waiter Arnie was clueless and the bartender "Kerry"? was as personable as a stale doughnut! The facility itself is outstanding, the food was awesome and the golf course is amazing! Definitely worth every penny to stay there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I planned an overnight stay at the Renault Winery and Tuscany House hotel, because we were attending a function in the area the next day. We had dinner at the Gourmet restauarant that was very pricey and no much better than the dinner down the road.
The hotel rooms were big, but very old and out dated. We had a family in the rooom above us that stayed up all night banging, playing music, and kids running around, jumping off the beds and making noice. I called the front desk six times from 1:00am until 3:30 am, and each time all they said was, we will take care of it, but never did. I asked for a room change and they said we cannot offer you this option.
The next morning when we checked out, I asked for the manager, and none was available. I asked to speak to someone and no one was available to speak to. A few days later I emailed the three managers / owners, etc. and never got a response back. I emailed them the second time, and again to no avail.
Renault Winery looks nice on the outside, how they meant for it to be, but watch out for all the dirty hidden secrets once you pay, and are committed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The drive up to Tuscany House is very impressive -- vineyard and golf course on the right, circular drive and imposing Tuscan architecture on the left. The lobby befits the hotel's name with fountains, murals on ceiling and walls, and a beautifully landscaped retreat in the back, featuring statuary and pools. But here's the rub. The rooms, the cheapest of which is $249/night are sadly out of date and in need of renovation. For that price, one would expect a little more than washed out bedspreads, a sagging couch, and artificial flowers. Very disppointing. I guess the lobby's make-over took precedence. Also, DO NOT BOOK ON-LINE! We were charged for the room a week before we arrived. They said it was their policy to do so, but the website displayed no such policy. The winery tour was delightful as was the brunch at their Gormet Restaurant. The hotel's main restaurant, Joseph's, was sadly bland, not unlike the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Address: Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearly a century and a half old, Renault Winery is a recognized New Jersey State Historical site and one of the oldest continuously operating wineries in the United States. Like a fine varietal, the winery has continued to grow, develop and improve with age. Today, Joseph Milza, a former newspaper owner and publisher, owns and operates the winery and vineyards with his family. Under his direction, the winery has thrived and become one of the most popular tourist attractions in New Jersey and a favorite of local residents.~Renault Winery ~ Tuscany House Hotel ~ Joseph's Restaurant ~ Vineyard Golf Course ~ Renault Gourmet Restaurant ~ Wedding ~ Banquets ~ Corporate Meetings ~ Award Winning Wines ~ Gift Shop ~ Tours & Tasting~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany House At The Renault Winery Hotel Egg Harbor City
Renault Winery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.