We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to brag about....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Save Saved
You added Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Egg Harbor City
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to the winery for an overnight quick getaway, with friends. We booked the one-night gourmet restaurant package. Upon arrival, the winery has a quaint cute appeal. The grounds are pretty and well kept. Very scenic and pretty. It looked similar to a grand Mexican hacienda in cabo. Check in was simple, and we were there just in time to catch the last winery tour and tasting for the evening. If I knew when I was driving at top speed to catch this last tour what it entailed I would have slowed down. The tour is short and nothing I’ve ever experienced before, having been to another winery. Their bottling operation is very, very, very small. It’s interesting to see the old gigantic oak barrels but that was the highlight. When you enter the dimly lit dark tasting room that wreaks of a dirty wet bar rag odor, you gather around this rather large bar and you are given one glass to taste all of your wines which you have to rinse out between wines. (I found that to be rather disturbing and tacky). They give you a list of over thirty wines, but only let you taste six wines of their choosing. If you interesting in anything special they tell you, you can purchase a bottle. To their credit the make a very tasty zinfandel, but stay away from the blueberry wine and blueberry champagne. We left the tour to change for dinner at the “gourmet” restaurant, I could have stayed in my travel clothes, and needless to say we were over-dresses. There was nothing gourmet about the gourmet restaurant. We expected a gourmet experience and received cheap mass produced wedding reception type food. The only decent thing on the menu was the filet mignon. The extra lobster tail was tough and rubbery. We were very disappointed. So after the disappointing dinner we thought we would go to the main bar for some good drinks and some music…..wrong idea. It was just a wedding party sitting around a bar of the café restaurant watching a sporting event. There is nothing to do at this place. We should have made plans to go over to Atlantic City. The room we had was nicely decorated and clean, didn’t like the motel style bathroom set-up, but overall it was clean and nicely decorated but could use some updating. This is a day trip visit, not a weekend getaway. We were there less than 24 hours but glad we weren’t there longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
80
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garnet Valley, pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had received a gift certificate for the Renault Winery and Tuscany Hotel from my son and his wife and decided to go there for my husband's birthday. We were delighted with the service and the food was excellent. We had a large, comfortable room and we went to the wine tasting Friday evening followed by the seafood buffet. My husband played golf on Saturday morning and was very surprised with the beautiful golf course which presented a challenge. He has played all over and thought it was one of the better courses in New Jersey. We would recommend this resort for a pleasant weekend getaway.

Room Tip: They have a lot of weddings so stay away from the middle of the hotel where the reception rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This facility is outstanding, the only drawback is their wait staff and bar personnel. The waiter Arnie was clueless and the bartender "Kerry"? was as personable as a stale doughnut! The facility itself is outstanding, the food was awesome and the golf course is amazing! Definitely worth every penny to stay there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I planned an overnight stay at the Renault Winery and Tuscany House hotel, because we were attending a function in the area the next day. We had dinner at the Gourmet restauarant that was very pricey and no much better than the dinner down the road.
The hotel rooms were big, but very old and out dated. We had a family in the rooom above us that stayed up all night banging, playing music, and kids running around, jumping off the beds and making noice. I called the front desk six times from 1:00am until 3:30 am, and each time all they said was, we will take care of it, but never did. I asked for a room change and they said we cannot offer you this option.
The next morning when we checked out, I asked for the manager, and none was available. I asked to speak to someone and no one was available to speak to. A few days later I emailed the three managers / owners, etc. and never got a response back. I emailed them the second time, and again to no avail.
Renault Winery looks nice on the outside, how they meant for it to be, but watch out for all the dirty hidden secrets once you pay, and are committed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The drive up to Tuscany House is very impressive -- vineyard and golf course on the right, circular drive and imposing Tuscan architecture on the left. The lobby befits the hotel's name with fountains, murals on ceiling and walls, and a beautifully landscaped retreat in the back, featuring statuary and pools. But here's the rub. The rooms, the cheapest of which is $249/night are sadly out of date and in need of renovation. For that price, one would expect a little more than washed out bedspreads, a sagging couch, and artificial flowers. Very disppointing. I guess the lobby's make-over took precedence. Also, DO NOT BOOK ON-LINE! We were charged for the room a week before we arrived. They said it was their policy to do so, but the website displayed no such policy. The winery tour was delightful as was the brunch at their Gormet Restaurant. The hotel's main restaurant, Joseph's, was sadly bland, not unlike the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tuscany Hotel at the Renault Winery on a Sunday night in August.
We had heard good things about the hotel and since we had booked an overnight at the Seaview Hotel in Galloway the night before, we decided to try a night a the Tuscany. The hotel was pretty enough although the rooms could use some upadating. We were on the 3rd floor and found the hallway to be very hot but the smell from the food cooking in the Italian restaurant below as quite nice! The hotel surprisingly quiet for a summer weekend. We arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon so we didn't get the opportunity to try the wine tasting at the Renault Winery that day but we did eat dinner at Joseph's Restaurant at the hotel which was very good. But again, the restaurant was nearly empty on a sunday evening in the summer. If you are looking for a quiet hideaway this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place should be embarrassed that it uses the word "resort" in its name. It is nothing more than an old hotel that has an old winery and a new golf course across the street. It is a tired and kind of run down place that thinks a lot of plastic flowers, fake sculptures, fake murals, and plastic grapes create a resort like atmosphere. The rooms are decent size but the furniture or lack thereof in them is tacky and the lighting in the rooms is pretty much nonexistent. Food in the restaurant was plentiful but only average. I might have given a little higher grade because the staff was very friendly but the fact that room rates are in the upper $200a makes it very overpriced. If you are visiting this part of New Jersey spend your money at one of the nice casino hotels in Atlantic City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Address: Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Egg Harbor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearly a century and a half old, Renault Winery is a recognized New Jersey State Historical site and one of the oldest continuously operating wineries in the United States. Like a fine varietal, the winery has continued to grow, develop and improve with age. Today, Joseph Milza, a former newspaper owner and publisher, owns and operates the winery and vineyards with his family. Under his direction, the winery has thrived and become one of the most popular tourist attractions in New Jersey and a favorite of local residents.~Renault Winery ~ Tuscany House Hotel ~ Joseph's Restaurant ~ Vineyard Golf Course ~ Renault Gourmet Restaurant ~ Wedding ~ Banquets ~ Corporate Meetings ~ Award Winning Wines ~ Gift Shop ~ Tours & Tasting~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany House At The Renault Winery Hotel Egg Harbor City
Renault Winery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.