We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Save Saved
You added Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Egg Harbor City
Mt Holly
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I planned an overnight stay at the Renault Winery and Tuscany House hotel, because we were attending a function in the area the next day. We had dinner at the Gourmet restauarant that was very pricey and no much better than the dinner down the road.
The hotel rooms were big, but very old and out dated. We had a family in the rooom above us that stayed up all night banging, playing music, and kids running around, jumping off the beds and making noice. I called the front desk six times from 1:00am until 3:30 am, and each time all they said was, we will take care of it, but never did. I asked for a room change and they said we cannot offer you this option.
The next morning when we checked out, I asked for the manager, and none was available. I asked to speak to someone and no one was available to speak to. A few days later I emailed the three managers / owners, etc. and never got a response back. I emailed them the second time, and again to no avail.
Renault Winery looks nice on the outside, how they meant for it to be, but watch out for all the dirty hidden secrets once you pay, and are committed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
81
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The drive up to Tuscany House is very impressive -- vineyard and golf course on the right, circular drive and imposing Tuscan architecture on the left. The lobby befits the hotel's name with fountains, murals on ceiling and walls, and a beautifully landscaped retreat in the back, featuring statuary and pools. But here's the rub. The rooms, the cheapest of which is $249/night are sadly out of date and in need of renovation. For that price, one would expect a little more than washed out bedspreads, a sagging couch, and artificial flowers. Very disppointing. I guess the lobby's make-over took precedence. Also, DO NOT BOOK ON-LINE! We were charged for the room a week before we arrived. They said it was their policy to do so, but the website displayed no such policy. The winery tour was delightful as was the brunch at their Gormet Restaurant. The hotel's main restaurant, Joseph's, was sadly bland, not unlike the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tuscany Hotel at the Renault Winery on a Sunday night in August.
We had heard good things about the hotel and since we had booked an overnight at the Seaview Hotel in Galloway the night before, we decided to try a night a the Tuscany. The hotel was pretty enough although the rooms could use some upadating. We were on the 3rd floor and found the hallway to be very hot but the smell from the food cooking in the Italian restaurant below as quite nice! The hotel surprisingly quiet for a summer weekend. We arrived at the hotel late in the afternoon so we didn't get the opportunity to try the wine tasting at the Renault Winery that day but we did eat dinner at Joseph's Restaurant at the hotel which was very good. But again, the restaurant was nearly empty on a sunday evening in the summer. If you are looking for a quiet hideaway this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place should be embarrassed that it uses the word "resort" in its name. It is nothing more than an old hotel that has an old winery and a new golf course across the street. It is a tired and kind of run down place that thinks a lot of plastic flowers, fake sculptures, fake murals, and plastic grapes create a resort like atmosphere. The rooms are decent size but the furniture or lack thereof in them is tacky and the lighting in the rooms is pretty much nonexistent. Food in the restaurant was plentiful but only average. I might have given a little higher grade because the staff was very friendly but the fact that room rates are in the upper $200a makes it very overpriced. If you are visiting this part of New Jersey spend your money at one of the nice casino hotels in Atlantic City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Having been to the Renault Winery for dinner several years back and prior to the Hotel being built, my husband and I thought it would be nice to celebrate our 28th anniversary by spending the weekend there. We booked for a two night stay Saturday and Sunday and we took the weekday package which was about $800.00 for the two nights. Included was the Gourment dinner, breakfast, brunch and free wine tasting along with a free bottle of wine. Sounds nice but it wasn't all that. Upon entering our room there where dirty tissues on the floor. Ok so maybe it was missed by the cleaning crew, but it was right as you entered the doorway. The gourmet dinner was suposed to be 7 courses, apparently they changed it just this week and now it's only 5 courses. Several other guest complained about it and one couple actually got up and left. stating they paid for an advertised 7 course and thats what they were expecting to get. The food as ok, not great and certainly not gourmet. The Hotel staff isn't in tune with what is taking place throughout the rest of the Winery. We had asked if we could use the brunch voucher for a breakfast since we wouldn't be at the resort for brunch. We were told we could only to find out the next morning that they don't serve breakfast on Monday mornings at either of their two restuarants. The ice machine in the hotel is turned off Sunday's so if you want ice Sunday night you can forget it. My husband and I remember the grounds being prettier, it seems as if they are letting the place go. All in all, we were disapointed we had expected more based on past experiance. One doesn't mind paying the price if the quality is there. This time it was not. On the plus side the gourmet restuarant was very accomodating to my gluten free diet, which is a big plus. I'd give it a C+

Room Tip: Don't bother spending the money for a balcony, all you see is th back of the winery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, ME
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We took advantage of the Tuscany Hotel's special package that included dinner at Joseph's Restaurant. We are glad we did. The room was spacious, comfortable, well-furnished, and very clean. The meal at the restaurant was excellent! We also took advantage of a wine-tasting and tour across the street at the Renault Winery. We had a slight problem at check-in, but it was quickly rectified.

Room Tip: Ask about the package deal which expires in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

A lot of fun. Beautiful place. Rooms were clean and spacious. Winery right across the street with 2 choices of restaurants. Great forna weekend get away

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Address: Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Egg Harbor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearly a century and a half old, Renault Winery is a recognized New Jersey State Historical site and one of the oldest continuously operating wineries in the United States. Like a fine varietal, the winery has continued to grow, develop and improve with age. Today, Joseph Milza, a former newspaper owner and publisher, owns and operates the winery and vineyards with his family. Under his direction, the winery has thrived and become one of the most popular tourist attractions in New Jersey and a favorite of local residents.~Renault Winery ~ Tuscany House Hotel ~ Joseph's Restaurant ~ Vineyard Golf Course ~ Renault Gourmet Restaurant ~ Wedding ~ Banquets ~ Corporate Meetings ~ Award Winning Wines ~ Gift Shop ~ Tours & Tasting~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany House At The Renault Winery Hotel Egg Harbor City
Renault Winery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.