We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a loverly setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort to your Saves list
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a loverly setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Its a nice building about 10 years old with all sorts of olde worlde decorations, I'd guess some are real and some are reproductions. I spent a happy half an hour walking around trying to figure out which was which.
The restaurant wasn't very good, we were forgotten about and had to go and ask before anyone took our orders, and our waiter was a bit forgetful.
The staff were nice and friendly.
The winery and glass museum were a nice walk but the route to get there from the hotel took you a long way out of the way and we ended up walking down the edge of the road with no sidewalk to get there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
89
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at here for Labor Day weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. Overall we had a pleasant stay. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful; so was the patio and pool area. Air conditioning throughout the hotel was spotty --- some times the areas were cool or they were stifling hot. We stayed in a standard room that was a large but a bit outdated. If you are looking for luxury, you'll be disappaointed. The room was simple and had the basic amenities.
We booked using one of their package deals, which in our opinion was woth the value. The wine tour and tasting was very informative and interesting and the tasting was well done. Our group drank to a lady who was celebrating her 80th birthday ---- very sweet.
For food, we did the six course dinner at the Gourmet Restaurant (excellent) , the Champagne Brunch (pretty good), dinner at joseph's Restaurant (excellent), and breakfast buffet at Joseph's (excellent).
My husband said the golf course was well maintained and challenging.
Atlantic City is about 30 minutes away and made the trip one night to do some gambling, making the hotel a great base for day or night outings.
Aside from the room (and very hard bed) , we were pretty happy with our stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendham,NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We enjoyed our quiet time, played awesome golf, and love the food!
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms, not worth upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We visit the Tuscany House several times a year to take advantage of the getaway weekend type specials. The hotel and restaurants are always predictably good to great, and we feel at home there after years. I'm writing this review to confirm that the property is still worth trying, but we had an issue that has taken some of the shine off for us.
We are used to excellent service from the front-of-the-house staff at the hotel and restaurants, but this time we have to move into the management because of a computer problem causing our hotel package to be filled to our CC twice. After repeated phone calls, referrals to the "Finance Manager" (who apparently is a voice mail box on payroll), we have gone a month with no call back, much less any resolution.
I like the place, but I'm very disappointed in the management!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the moment I talked with Kathy on the telephone to make reservations to when we were departing...what a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was very good. The rooms are huge and very clean. Overall, very nice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had our wedding at the Renault Winery in August, 2011. We worked with Amy, and had our wedding ceremony outside, and reception in the Burgundy Room. Amy was fantastic from the beginning, whatever we requested, she made sure we got it. The grounds are beautiful, the service was excellent, food was excellent, and the chef customized a full vegetarian menu upon our request. All of our guest remarked on how friendly the staff was, what a beautiful place it was, and how they had a great time. We also stayed at the Tuscany house, as did many of our guests. I booked all the rooms through Francine, she also was excellent, answered all my questions, and gave us excellent service. The guests also commented what a nice hotel it was, and how the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the hotel, and the winery as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

my wife and I took advantage of the Saturday night package and upon arriving found the room to be very nicely decorated, clean and icy cold considering this weekend, July 23,2011, had temperatures of over 100F. Since this was a weekend to just relax we stayed by one of two pools, had an exceptional dinner at the Gourmet restaurant across a very small street which is actually a driveway for the resort and no big deal. The next day we had another great meal at the same restaurant consisting of a buffet with unlimited champagne and very high end desserts.
The wine samplings at dinner were large and the wine prices very reasonable. Considering the return you get as part of the special, $100.00 toward dinner, $40.00 toward the buffet,$10.00 toward the winery tour with a nice glass, and a bottle of champagne upon arrival the overall price was very reasonable. The returns I just noted completely cover the meals with the exception of the tax and tip and note that the tip, 20%, is added to the bill before the tax so check the bill. The dinner waiter did not mention that the tip had been added but the breakfast buffet waiter did which is nice.
The staff were very attentive and pleasant. The grounds are sparse and the area a bit remote so I do not think that the place is worthy of more then a night but certainly one night is a good deal. No refrigerator in the room unless you pay an extra $10.00 and the ice machine runs out of ice fast and I do not know what happens when the ice is gone so be prepared. The golf course looks nice and the clubhouse is across the street from the hotel but I did not come to play golf and to be honest golf in 102F temperatures with high humidity is not fun anyway. As a parent I would not suggest this for kids who would be bored to death. Nice coffee and tea service in the morning and iced tea throughout the day. No chance to try the bar or Joseph's, the restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Address: Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearly a century and a half old, Renault Winery is a recognized New Jersey State Historical site and one of the oldest continuously operating wineries in the United States. Like a fine varietal, the winery has continued to grow, develop and improve with age. Today, Joseph Milza, a former newspaper owner and publisher, owns and operates the winery and vineyards with his family. Under his direction, the winery has thrived and become one of the most popular tourist attractions in New Jersey and a favorite of local residents.~Renault Winery ~ Tuscany House Hotel ~ Joseph's Restaurant ~ Vineyard Golf Course ~ Renault Gourmet Restaurant ~ Wedding ~ Banquets ~ Corporate Meetings ~ Award Winning Wines ~ Gift Shop ~ Tours & Tasting~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany House At The Renault Winery Hotel Egg Harbor City
Renault Winery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.