We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a unique setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery

Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery
72 North Bremen Ave., Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
609.965.2111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US RT 30
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great food in a unique setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a late dinner on a Saturday night, with the 3-course chef's selection menu being perfect as far as options and serving size for everyone in our foursome. Service was prompt and friendly, as Gus our waiter took special requests in stride and timed our courses perfectly. We even had a nice chat with the owner of the place, Joe Milza who always adds some fun to the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“"Queenly" Fine Dining in historical setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

While my wife sat in her rattan "throne", I sat in my regular chair, in an auditorium like setting that had marvelous (to some) old time charm. This is a strange "gourmet" restaurant. The menu is extremely limited. The food itself is very good plus, with extras. The service is very good. Hard to describe the atmosphere; but basically not intimate, except perhaps in cubicles; live entertainment possibility though not when we were there. Cubicles were neat.
This is an old style place adjusting well to modern times, with very intriguing historical surroundings and significance. And any woman will love their "thrones"!! Good value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great meal wine tasting at Renault.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I had a great time at The Renault summer wine fest Sunday July 28th. We enjoyed a five hour wine tasting from 12 different wineries on the Renault grounds and it really is very nice grounds to walk around. We also had diner in Joseph's restaurant where the meal we had was excellent. All in all a very rewording day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very romantic place to go! the service is A1 and the food and wine is to die for...truly Heaven! our waiter Gus was amazing and i don't think i could say one bad thing about the place! A must if you get a chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbank, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The winery tour was great. Took my husband for a birthday lunch at josephs and was sorry I did. The restaurant is described as a five star fine dining restaurant. Fine dining to us is a cloth tablecloth and napkins NOT paper placemats and napkins. The bartender didn't know what a NEGRONI was. The host asked my husband and he went with him to tell him the ingredients. It is the most popular drink in all of Tuscany let alone Italy. I was born in Tuscany. The bartender should have known how or at least looked it up in his manual. The dining experience was not that of fine dining. The mussels in the wine sauce however were delicious and I should have skipped the entrée and ordered two orders of them. Hopefully someone will read this and shed lite to the owner/manager to make it a fine dining five star restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Restaurant - Renault Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.