We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location, new chief” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Bowl

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Bowl
1628 Route 27, Edison, NJ 08817
732-572-7272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 208 Restaurants in Edison
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Monroe Twp, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New location, new chief”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After restaurant moved to new location, a two level building, big space but lost the traditional taste. Possible they changed new chief who like to add a lot of MSG. The dish I ate is same as before moved, but much salty. My wife has Din Sen which is new menu but too much MSG added. We went last week (1/31/2014), a very cold weather, not much heat inside either.

Feel sad that they move to bigger location but lost the traditional taste and quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly different twist on the usual Chinese food with chaotic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a large restaurant that relocated from a smaller strip mall location. You definitely will not feel crowded. The menu is somewhat atypical. We did not recognize many of the listed appetizers. The shrimp toast was unremarkable but the egg rolls were enormous and tasty. The Special Soup was lacking many of the listed ingredients e.g. the shrimp and chicken and was served in a bowl that looked like it came from a garage sale. This was corrected upon request but it returned without a ladle.

Although most of the food was tasty, it was brought out in chaotic fashion instead of the normal sequence. That being said, the Lobster Cantonese and the Seafood Special are recommended.

We have tried this restaurant twice and probably will again but we are hoping that they get their act together.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only congee place in the vicinity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Like the other reviewer, I'm happy this place is back.
This is the only place I know in Edison that serves authentic congee and noodle soup.
There are newer noodle houses by Penang/Old Pst Rd but I still prefer the taste and cost here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“There are better....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tried this place twice. Both times the food was mediocre. Considering the plethora of Chinese/Asian restaurants in the area, there are better places to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“They are back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have missed the NYC noodle shop experience here in NJ. They are back in a location near the old one, and the food is just as good. Larger, cleaner restaurant. I've stuck to old favorites (roasted pig, duck and pork), wonton noodle soup,and congee/jook.

I am looking forward to trying the dim sum.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Bowl also viewed

 

Been to China Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.