We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive but could use some attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3105 Woodbridge Ave., Edison, NJ 08837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Positive but could use some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a event at the convention center. The convention center is only a couple minute drive from the property.

Check in was smooth and flawless. Staff was friendly. While walking to our room we noticed trash consisting of two empty cases of beer and a microwave sitting outside a room. Our room was standard with two queens beds and a large flat screen tv. The room & bedding were clean. The bathroom could have used some attention. The shower was dirty with a previous guest hair on the walls.

We also opted for the breakfast addition upon checking in. The food was tasty and made to order.

This review would have been a 4+ rating but the hair in the shower was a deal breaker.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    77
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
25
21
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and overall was a decent experience. Highly recommend getting a room that doesn't face the highway if you're interested in a good night's sleep. Staff was helpful throughout stay and quickly assisted with room change request. Fitness center has a couple of treadmills and an eliptical with free weights, clean and not crowded at 7AM. Lobby is typical of Courtyard's and very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a nice hotel however my wife dropped something on the floor and it rolled under the duvet. We picked it up and the floor was quite dirty with food on the floor. The cleaning staff never vacuumed there. The heat was the old fashioned kind that was regulated in the machine itself rather than on a wall thermostat as is in other Courtyards that we have stayed at. Front desk staff was really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I often stay in the Edison area and this was the first time I had used this hotel. Close to three major highways and commuter rail stations for easy access to NYC and the Tristate area. Nice comfortable hotel with well appointed rooms and reception staff professional. Although close to two major highways I experienced no traffic noise. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Check in and check out: quick.
Front desk employees: very attentive and nice.
Room: got the king bed room. Good x 3 people. Got a sofa bed. Bed is smooth and comfy. Good size bathroom with combination tub and shower. Got a desk, flat TV and wireless internet which was perfect.
Room cleaning: could be better. Stains on furniture and mirror door closets. Never got cleaned.
On Christmas day: NO HOUSEKEEPING on rooms! Not aceptable. No restaurant either.
Food quality: average. Expensive breakfast buffet. Not worth the money.
I had some very noisy neighbors. A called to the front desk @ 3AM solved the problem at once. One suggestion: the people working on the very late night shift could be a little more attentive when answering the phone @ the front desk.
No restaurants or entertainment around the hotel. You definitly need a transportation to move around. But I don't like hotels in busy cities, so I was glad with this one. Very quiet.
The hotel is sitting netx to a busy high way. Its white noise, but you can request upon reservation to get a room at the other end of the highway. That is what I did and they gladly complied my request.
Also, when needed extra towels or blankets they sent them @ once.
The indoor pool is nice, not heated but template. The whirpool is nice too.
Gym, small but nice.
Overal: I WILL RECOMEND THIS HOTEL. Very happy with it.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this Courtyard Marriott while visiting friends in Edison because in our past experiences Courtyards in other locations have always been very good. I have stayed in Courtyard Marriott hotels in Boston, New York, Chicago, LA, Cambridge, and Orlando and they have all been exceptionally clean and well run. Unfortunately this one missed the mark. While the staff was very polite and accommodating and polite, and the front lobby seemed bright and new the rooms were something I would expect in a budget motel. The first room we tried smelled of dirty socks and the carpet was stained and dirty looking. Unwilling to stay in this room for 3 days we called the front desk to request a room change. The woman at the front desk was very apologetic and happy to change our room, however when we got to the next room things had not improved much. This room smelled like a nursing home (which was an improvement over the dirty sock smell). Once settled I noticed that the mirror on the closet door had something smeared on it, and my fiance found what appeared to be dried blood spattered on the bathroom door and wall. The headboard was also covered with dust and fingerprints. We again called the front desk and spoke to the same woman who again was apologetic and immediately sent someone to clean the blood off the wall.
While the staff was more than helpful the cleanliness (or lack there of) was enough to make me not want to come back to this particular Courtyard. Understandably housekeeping will miss a spot of two from time to time, however I think that dried blood stains or a dirty looking and stained carpet should not be overlooked. Normally I would highly recommend any Courtyard Marriott, but maybe not this one.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the back side of the building. The highway is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here back in March 2012 on a business trip. My first night there I witnessed the most inappropriate behavior from an employee.. I was sitting in the lobby getting some work done when all of a sudden I hear shouting and cursing.. Come to see the young lady working at the front desk who had checked me in was in another guests face. They were both shouting and cursing the guest asking the employee at to get out of her face and call the manager. I have never seen anyone anywhere as a employee get in the face of a guest using profanity and there hands.. Other guest was visibly distraught and rightfully so.. Employee could have handled situation very differently.. I checked out the next day because of this situation @ 4am and canceled the three other nights I had booked..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I'm sorry you experienced this situation during your stay. Without getting into the personal relationship between the guest and the former employee, suffice to say this is not acceptable behavior in our hotel by anyone. The end result is the employee is no longer working for our hotel.

We take these situations very seriously and as such it was dealt with immediately by management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge

Address: 3105 Woodbridge Ave., Edison, NJ 08837
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Edison/Woodbridge Hotel Edison
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
Marriott Edison
Edison Marriott
Edison Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.