We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some noise, you get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3105 Woodbridge Ave., Edison, NJ 08837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Internet
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Boston, Mass.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Some noise, you get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I really enjoy Courtyard hotels and have seen outstanding ones, either due to great facilities or outstanding staff, and adequate ones. This is, in my opinion, an adequate one. I should qualify my review with the statement that we only stayed one night (wife, 10 yo son and myself).

I chose this hotel due to a combination of price and location.

First, the property was hard to find coming off of Route 440 but I would blame that primarily on my GPS. The GPS states that you are arriving at the Courtyard when it is to your left and you can't make a left turn. You basically have to drive past and then circle around.

The property looked well-kept. The front desk staff was nice enough but hardly as welcoming as I've grown to expect from Courtyards.

The rooms were clean and and spacious. The toilet had the annoying habit of filling the tank intermittently, but not so loud that it interrupted our sleep.

We had a room that wasn't looking away from the highway but wasn't directly looking toward it. The highway noise was tolerable and did not interrupt our sleep. What did interrupt our sleep was the noise of revving motorcycles/cars in the parking lot at about 8 am on a Sunday morning.

All told, a decent Courtyard and an excellent value, so that we'll probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide insight into your stay with us. Each and every response you provided is greatly appreciated for its constructiveness and for the assistance it provides to correct any weakness in our service. At the Courtyard Edison Hotel, we are committed to providing the highest level of service to our guests. And, while we do many things well here, our failure to insure an immediate and friendly welcome at the front desk, is inexcusable, but I assure you, is being urgently addressed. I know your next stay with us will reflect the daily improvements we are working diligently to implement. Once again, thank you for taking the time to help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
22
20
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this hotel in the midst of a rainstorm, travelling 95S with no reservation at 5pm. I called on the way to the hotel and got a fantastic AAA rate right over the phone, saving around $70 off the standard rate for 2 queen beds in the room. The hotel is truly right off the highway and allows 2 minute easy on/easy off. The ONLY negative about this hotel is that I could faintly hear trucks throughout the night. My husband, however, is a very light sleeper and heard nothing all night, and the kids had a great nights sleep. The hotel decor is new, spotless, modern, and chic with navy and orange accents. Upon arrival we went right to the pool and hot tub. The pool was very comfortably warm, probably around 80 degrees, and the hot tub was one of the hottest I found in a hotel and large enough for 10 adults comfortably. The workout area next to it had 3 treadmills, an eliptical, and a huge rack of 5-60 lb weights. There were 4 med balls, which are new to the Hampton Inn workout rooms and a terrific piece of equipment to have. Our beds in the room were very comfortable and the bathroom featured all Paul Mitchell products which smelled and worked great.

The lobby of the hotel has an open area with booths, high tops, and couches, as well as several more private areas towards the back of the lobby. As with the newer Hamptons, there was a long bar in the back where you could order drinks (alcoholic and non) and food that was then delivered to your table by the server. The breakfast featured a choice of 4 hot dishes and 4 continental meals which came piping hot, cooked to order, and amazingly delicious. There were also several breads and pastries as well as some sides available. I had a lighter style breakfast sandwich with egg whites, spinach, canadian bacon, and light swiss on an english muffin which was huge and incredibly good. The kids had inch-thick cinnamon french toast, and my husband had eggs/toast/homefries/bacon. It was a little more expensive that I had expected, at $9-10 per adult entree, but it was a terrific value. There were individual TV's in several booths, so the kids could watch quietly during the meal or we could watch morning TV. We were back on the road early so we didn't venture into the area at all. The employees, from checkin to the breakfast bar to the checkout, were friendly and so helpful, making sure we had everything needed.

I would highly recommend the hotel for family or business travel. So happy we found it!!

One additional note when looking to eat outside the hotel, especially as a family. We needed a quick meal as soon as we got to the hotel and saw a greek diner directly across the hotel entrance called the Paganis Diner. What a find. Everything is incredibly good and all homeade Greek and American food. I ordered the Greek Pastichio which came with homeade chicken noodle soup and greek salad- so much food and just mouthwatering. We also had a Greek Chicken Gyro with real, moist chicken and greek spices. The highlight of this diner is their dessert seletion, with 12" high cheesecake, lemon cake, blackforest, key lime cake, and tiramisu choices. Apparently the diner is so well known for dessert that the line goes around the place at holiday times. With so much food at dinner we didn't sample the dessert, but we are staying there on the way back from NC so plan to try it then. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room facing away from the highway to get a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Great customer service is certainly an aspect of our hotel that we pride ourselves on and strive to perfect, daily. Thank you again for acknowledging the high level of service that you received while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

One of the unfortunate things about other hotels near NYC is the small rooms where they offer the option of a queen or two double beds. The first thing that you notice at this Courtyard is that they offer spacious rooms with a King size bed or two queens. It really makes a difference. We stay at this Courtyard more frequently than any other hotel because we have family in the north/central Jersey suburbs and around Staten Island. Besides the nice rooms, they have an indoor pool and whirlpool, which is great for the kids. The people at the front desk have been consistently friendly and the price on the weekends has always been affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind words about our team which we are extremely proud of. We so look forward to the pleasure of your stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is literally (read actually) feet from the Highway. It's true that real estate is very valuable in most of New Jersey, but someone should have said "No!" to building here. You can hear and, in some cases, feel the every truck go by. The rooms are dingy, the hallway smells like smoke, and the AC struggles. The staff is friendly and the location is certainly convenient, but that can't drown out the rest...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Edison, NJ and for sharing your review. I will absolutely follow up on the issues you encountered during your visit with us.

We were thrilled to read how you enjoyed our friendly staff and services. We will celebrate those with our Ambassadors as we do so enjoy when we go above and beyond our guests' expectations.

Thank you again and we hope to have you return to our Edison, NJ hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The reviews are pretty spot on, and the wi-fi was upgraded - we had no problems with Internet speed. The place was in very good shape, very quiet location and staff were very nice. The location could be a little tricky to find - just map it and you'll get there without issues.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler H, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is very much appreciated! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This review is long overdue. Traveling on family business in NJ in Jan 2012, this was the 4th hotel we stayed in during our 12 days in NJ. From the moment we walked in, we felt right at home. The staff--from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping--is outstanding; they are friendly and helpful, and can even converse with you!. The lobby is comfortable, and while the restaurant is closed through mid-day, the service and food at breakfast are terrific (we did not have dinner, though the menu looks good). The staff is attentive and the booths along the windows have TVs available so you can watch the news while eating. The room was very comfortable, and the location is quiet. If you need to check the web or print boarding passes, there are 2 computer terminals available in the lobby. This was far and away the BEST of the 4 hotels we stayed in, and we would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We always try hard to make our guests feel at home when they stay with us. It's nice to know it's noticed and appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The staff and service at this courtyard really stood past what I am used to from the rest of the courtyards.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge

Address: 3105 Woodbridge Ave., Edison, NJ 08837
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Edison/Woodbridge Hotel Edison
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
Marriott Edison
Edison Marriott
Edison Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Edison/Woodbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.