We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Edison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Edison to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Edison
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   831 US Highway 1 South, Edison, NJ 08817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Edison
soupsmp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel was fine and decent for the money - about $75 per night. Decent room, clean, nice bed and adequate TV. Internet is adequate to surf and check emails - I wasn't able to send large files for work, but not a big deal. Blows away the Red Roof Inn and they are roughly the same price - but this is actually a hotel and not a motel like the Red Roof Inn. Free breakfast is a bit of a gimick but it's actually pretty good and improved over the years. I just think this is a good value for the $75.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
16
20
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Made reservation for a non-smoking room.. Walked in room stunk like old smell smoke / ash tray. Went to front desk had room changed. New room had cigerate burns on toliet seat, ac not working, remote control not working. Then next morning they offered a breakfast where food service employee had his white gloves on, we watched him push down the trash several times, then without changing his gloves put out and handled the food.... i wanted to puke.. I complained to hotel manager we was rather rude, but offered me 10% off my next stay when I come back... ya, like that would ever happen... They should send in the health department to this hotel.... Please save aggervasion and go some place else....

Room Tip: Seek other hotels in area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Working claims from Hurricane Irene. Stayed 5 nights here. I've read some of the other reviews, look.... Everyone wants a cheap room but then complains about the room. Rooms are clean & spacious, hotel has a good breakfast area, customer service was great.

Room Tip: This hotel is safe and clean. Excellent room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. When looking up hotel it stated hotel had HBO it did not. Breakfast left something to be desired, and restruants were hard to get to. On busy highway 1 it was imposible to walk and hard to drive anywhere.Do not know why but garbage was left outside side door and looked bad, but it was cleaned up after a few days.Would stay there again.

Room Tip: kings are the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at the room for $71. It was small but well equipped. The only negative was the cont breakfast was not all that great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

It is just an average Comfort Inn meeting its average standard. There was nothing really exceptional during our stay. I can say that it meets our expectation, and that's it. As it is located on a major route with divided lanes, so we will have to do a lot of U-turns whenever we leave or return to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Some folks here had said this place was wretched; we did not find it so. Yes, we had the smallest room I had ever stayed in at any hotel, but I attributed that to using hotel reward points to book our stay. The room was clean, however smelled very musty. Thought maybe that was explainable by the fact we came exactly one week after Hurricane Irene! One could see there was a major cleanup and dehumidification process ongoing. The carpets were new, but the easy chair had a high-water mark on it!

Other negatives:
- As mentioned -- musty smell
- TINY TINY room.. and they had two chairs in it, which we tried unsuccessfully to get out of the way
-Hardly ANY TV channels. Not even the ones available in the lobby showed up on our set. I did not complain, so I can't say if they would have or could have done anything about it.
- the second day, our key stopped working! Marched right to the front desk and the situation was immediately rectified.

Positives:
- For that kind of accommodation, the breakfast was good, with none of the "begrudging" attitude I had expected from some of the other reviews.
- I asked for a few things -- shampoo, face clothes, shower cap, and such requests were all satisfied courteously and promptly.
- must have been a new mattress too with the storms, slept VERY well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Edison

Address: 831 US Highway 1 South, Edison, NJ 08817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Edison 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Edison Hotel Edison
Edison Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Edison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.