We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Edison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Edison to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Edison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 Lincoln Highway, Edison, NJ 08817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient for NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times over the years as it is convenient for the major highways and also close to rail transportation to NYC. The hotel seems to be well run and managed, the staff are efficient, the rooms large and well furnished and always spotlessly clean. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you John for the encouraging review.

Indeed, we are less than 1 mile from major highways and we provide complimentary shuttle service to the Edison Train Station, which is only 1.5 miles away. Happy to hear that your stays here were satisfying, we will continue improving to earn that one additional point in service.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
23
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Edison, NJ for a business trip and found the hotel to be perfect for business travelers on medium budget. The rooms are compact but have all that's needed for basic stay. Service was decent and the breakfast was good.. The bar in the ground floor has good collection of beers and have good quality vegetarian food as well.. All in all a good experience..

Room Tip: Vegetarian food options are available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Greetings Punit,

thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edison. We are proud to be one of the very few suburban hotels that offer a manned omelette station Tuesday-Friday mornings. Our chef has also studied internationally and masters a wide variety of cuisines.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay here, hope to see you again!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed there a night or two every week for the past 4 or 5 weeks for business. I always enjoy staying at this hotel because the rooms are clean and spacious. The customer service is always excellent, my first night there was a credit card issue and the evening supervisor Beverly help clear it up very nicely. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello again Denise,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I have passed on your message to Beverly and she was smiling from cheek to cheek. Enjoy the rest of your stay this week!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while in town for a lacrosse tournament at Rutgers. The property is not within walking distance of anything. It's in a commercial area. We checked in late and the night manager was very professional and service oriented. However, can't say that or the rest of the team. Seven requests and assurances later- and a conversation with the GM- finally got us the cot we had requested when we made the reservation and had been assured numerous times it was on its way up to the room- at 11pm the second night. Not the best experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Greetings Lori,

No excuses for the length of time it took the staff to place an additional cot into your guest room. We were not prepared for the number of requests for cots due to the tournament, and that was an oversight on our part. We will look to purchase more cots so this issue will not happen a second time.

There is a diner and a couple of laid-back eateries within half a mile of the restaurant. If you do choose to return again you can request for our shuttle to take you to nearby destinations such as the Menlo Park Mall, where there is the Rainforest Cafe, a popular restaurant for kids.

Again, not acceptable it took an excessive amount of time to honor your request, if you shall return again please feel free to contact me and I will oversee your reservation.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in the Presidential Suite on the night before and after my wedding. When I tried to check in, I was told there was no credit card on file for the suite although I had arranged this many months prior with the sales rep, Eva. Apparently, she was on vacation and they had no paperwork on file to verify. Obviously, someone didn't do their job. On the day of my wedding, I rec'd a call from Maria at the front desk saying that they would "shut everything off" if they didn't get a credit card to charge. I had to run down and try to diffuse the situation. This kind of customer service is reprehensible. On top of that, the room itself was disappointing since the water from the shower head was shooting up into the ceiling, the shower floor was moldy and the toilet didn't work properly. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Erika,

We discussed your situation at our managers' meeting yesterday and are investigating the details for how the event transpired. Furthermore, we have sent engineering department to examine/repair the bathroom which fell below your expectations.

PS. Glad to hear from the front desk your wedding was a success, and a belated congratulations!

Sincerely,

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We typically stay with family, so this time we only needed to book a hotel for an overnight stay in the Edison area of New Jersey. My husband took a chance and used and online discount booking service and you don't know where you going to be booked, until it's done. There we stood in our living room with fingers crossed and the return option clicked, because who knew where we were going to be sent...then it showed Crowne Plaza. We both breathed a sigh of relief, as I looked it up online and read some reviews from the faithful TripAdvisor.

As we pulled onto the parking lot, we both realized that it was familiar because friends of ours had their reception here a few years ago. The front desk attendant was pleasant and informed us that they upgraded our room, but I don't know what the difference is - oh well I'll take it. Hmm, haven't figured out what constitutes as the"upgraded room" yet. There's a comfortable king bed, flat screen tv, mini fridge (mini wet bar area minus the alcohol), couch, etc. It's so nice that I decided the family overnighter can wait for next visit. I called the online booking service we used and booked for our remaining time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for extending your stay at the Crowne Plaza Edison and we are glad that your mystery hotel booking adventure ended with a good result!

With the exception of our Junior and Presidential Suites, our upgraded rooms are on the 5th floor. The 5th floor is a "quiet zone" with delayed housekeeping hours. These rooms have some additional room features such as granite bathroom floors. Additional amenities include bathrobe, extra bathroom commodity, with complimentary slippers and soda coming soon. The 5th floor also has access to its own business center and concierge lounge that serves complimentary wine/beer/finger food Monday-Thursday 3pm-8pm.

We hope you will return on your next visit to Edison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are nice and large. A bonus is the friendly Manager, George Kovacs. We always have a pleasant stay here when we want to visit family in the area. They have a shuttle and can take you to the train station to NY.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your encouragement to the hotel!

I will let George know you appreciated his service, I am sure he will be excited. We do have one of the largest guest rooms in the area at 425 square feet per room!

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Address: 2055 Lincoln Highway, Edison, NJ 08817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you re a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Edison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.