We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Staff and Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Edison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Edison to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Edison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 Lincoln Highway, Edison, NJ 08817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Front Desk Staff and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I started recommending the Crowne Plaza to business visitors coming to the area in JUly 2011. The Front Desk team led by George Kovacs has worked tirelessly to accommodate my collegues and their needs. Many positive comments about the quality of beds and service. One gentleman stated he liked sleeping on the Crowne Plaza better than his one at home. If fortunate enough to rate an upgrade to the Executive Level, you will be treated to a warm and pleasant experience. I will continue to trust the Crowne Plaza with my visitors and will do so later this month with a group of more than 10 arriving in late August.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is only thru positive or other feedback that we can continue to grow as a team. I told George about your comments and he said to say thank you, greatly appreciated! We look forward to continue to host you and your groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
23
23
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I travel to NJ quite frequently for business & took a chance of selecting this hotel, instead my regular Hilton group Or Radisson chain of hotels, and got a very bad experience.
First of all, the moment I entered the Hotel, it was like some stinking smell, probably out of some sea food or /? -- all through out.
Immediately after I check-in, found out that my room AC is not functional, when outside was almost like 95F, it took them nearly 45 Minutes to attend / change my room, with my repeated requests. I had never seen such least-committed/disrespectful customer service, comparing to my other hotels.
Hotel Carpets, other fixtures looks like relatively very old, worn-out.
Restaurant: Never try that !!! Highly over priced, and too greedy people. If you spend like $15.00, they automatically add the Gratuity in your receipt, and top of that when you sign your credit card, you will find "Tips", most of the time you will miss that Automatic Gratuity part, and end up adding more into tips.
If you have a breakfast coupons, they will remind you repeatedly that Gratuity is not included.
Even thy Gym is just a regular one, most of the time you have to ask for Towells.
This hotel definitely needs improvements as well as they need to improve their customer's service and commitments. This is absolutely not worth of money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have reviewed your concerns with our staff and developed an action plan to insure customer service response times and levels increase. Our hotel was fully renovated in the fall of 2010 thus I'm not sure exactly what you were referencing. If you would like to address your concerns directly, please contact Greg Harlan, General Manager or myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edison hotels

Oshawa Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were there for a family wedding, we booked 2 rooms for 3 nights. The rooms were clean
and the beds very comfortable.The rooms will need to be updated and carpets replaced
but otherwise our stay was great. The maid service was excellent and the staff were outgoing and friendly and helpful. We asked for extra pillows and the maid delivered them within 10 minutes. We used the pool and the area was clean and well taken care of. Overall we would recommend this hotel and the location is convenient to all amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crusheen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner and I travel very frequently and rarely do I feel compelled to write a review other than a positive one however that is not the case for our recent stay here. No acknowledgment of the fact that we are Priority Club Members when we checked in and no mention of the Concierge Lounge on our floor...The front desk staff were not at the desk the majority of the time and when they were they were too busy chatting to each other to pay attention to guests. Likewise the staff in the restaurant, the whole place seemed to be full of little cliques of staff chatting to each other in their own language and doing their level best to ignore the guests. The food was expensive and just about passable.
The bed was not made properly and the water and tea/coffee in the room were not replaced, dirty cup was left in the sink...Dirty room service dishes were left outside the room next to ours for 2 days.
The manager on duty was dismissive to say the least when I complained to the bartender (who was extremely helpful) about a beer I had been served (it was flat)
Possibly the most disgusting thing that I have come across in a long time was in the ladies toilets in the lobby area..the receptacle for feminine products was between 2 stalls and had no bag in it..someone in the stall next to me disposed of something in it and it fell straight through onto the floor in front of me !!!
There were 3 staff members who were shining stars in the establishment however...Anne the concierge, Mercedes the bartender and Tatiana front of house.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, nor will I stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is only thru positive or otherwise feedback from our valued guests that we can continue to grow and pursue excellence as a premier hotel team.

On behalf of the General Manager and whole staff of Crowne Plaza Edison, I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. Please contact either the General Manager, Greg Harlan or myself at the hotel so we may gain further information to correct the matters you encountered with the appropriate personnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

As another reviewer mentioned, this hotel lacks attention to detail. The lobby is beautiful and sparkling clean. The front desk staff was polite and helpful.

My main problem with this hotel is that it is not a 100% non-smoking property. When you put all the smoking rooms on the second floor, why on earth would you put non-smoking rooms directly above them??? It makes no sense. The furthest I could get from smoking rooms was the 4th floor, and the hallways still reeked of smoke. Thankfully, the room did not.

The rooms are nicely made up with VERY comfortable beds. As always, I appreciated the bleached linens and no icky comforter.

The furniture was showing wear and tear, as was the rest of the room. The curtains, chair, and especially the carpet were full of stains and tears. The bathroom was mostly clean, but there were smudges on the mirrors and mildew in the shower. I would not walk barefoot on either the carpet or the bathroom floor.

There was no mini-fridge in the room, which is almost unheard of these days.

The breakfast staff was very nice, but the breakfast left much to be desired. With a very limited menu, I would have expected everything to be delicious, but my eggs were cold and the hash browns were still frozen inside. My daughter had Belgian waffles, and when I tasted it I was disgusted to find out that they used fake whipped topping on it. For the record, though, my daughter liked it.

I will probably give the hotel another try, based solely on the fact that it is conveniently located. Maybe it was a fluke and I'll get a super-clean room next time. Fingers crossed!

Room Tip: If you hate the smell of smoke, make sure you don't get put in a room directly above a smoking r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a trip review.

Please feel free to contact myself or Greg Harlan, General Manager regarding concerns that you have about the hotel. I would like to be able to know what room you stayed in so we may go inspect the room and make any necessary improvements, as all rooms have been renovated during the fall, 2010.

In regards to smoking: Please note all public areas are non-smoking. We do ask guests, via signage, to please smoke out in the courtyard area vs. in front of the hotel, so non-smoking guests do not have to walk thru the smoke to get into the building. Additionally out of 169 guest rooms, we offer only 8 smoking rooms, a very small percentage of our rooms, to accomodate our guests who still want to smoke.

Again, thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I liked the hotel room, the linens and the bed were great, and a very nice bathroom.

The one item that dropped by review so much was that the cleaning was not great. There was dried coffee stain on the dresser (I was able to wipe it of with a wet tissue, so it was simply not cleaned). This simple thing let me to question the cleaning of the rest of the room. It stuck in my mind after the first night.... it REALLY stuck in my mind after the stain was there after the next day of room cleaning! (I had to try cleaning it myself thinking it was something that wouldn't wipe off!).

The carpeted flooring through the hotel was dated and should be replaced, but that is an age thing... and I am sure coloured by my paranoia of the cleanliness of the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review Crowne Plaza Edison. It is only through feedback both positve and otherwise that we can continue to grow as a team. I have taken the the matter to the housekeeping auditors and they apologized for the error in cleaning. Intercontinental Hotels Brands take cleanliness in high regard and have a rigorous training program that each hotel must maintain and we try our best to maintain those standards here. I have noted your comments about the carpeting but it was just replaced at the end of 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for our wedding and the rooms were fabulous and the staff willing to help with anything we needed. We were allowed use of the lobby for pictures, the front desk staff provided scissors and glue for a night-before craft project. The food in the restaurant is great. We had moved to a hotel closer to the reception site for convience, but we ended up moving back to the Crowne Plaza after only one night.

Room Tip: The executive suites are beautiful and come with a mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is thru positive or other feedback that we continue to increase our level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Address: 2055 Lincoln Highway, Edison, NJ 08817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you re a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Edison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.