We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Plain Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skylark Diner

Skylark Diner
17 Wooding Ave, Edison, NJ 08817
+1 732-777-7878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 230 Restaurants in Edison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Plain Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had brunch here recently; the decor is gorgeous and retro-modern. Our server was wonderful, friendly, always observant without being intrusive. The crab-avocado tower was delish, as was the mesculun salad that I fancied up with some blue cheese crumbles, tomatoes and red onions. My friend had a short-rib burger and some delectable french fries...I actually ended up ordering my own small order of fries, they were that tasty.

Clearly a very popular place, I can imagine it would be a lot of fun for dinner, too.

Definitely will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    75
    32
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This diner is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went here for breakfast and the food was really terrific. The place is surprisingly beautiful, the prices reasonable, and the service was wonderful. We will definitely be going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Surprising...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped for lunch at this "diner"...that looked like a diner on the outside but the inside was classy and modern. A pleasant surprise. Prices were moderate and the menu was full of choices. My friend had a burger and I had the shaved steak sandwich with fries. No complaints here..everything including the fabulous waiter was far above my expectations. Would definitely go here again. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Special Lunch Menu At Skylark Diner,Edison,N.J”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Last Friday we're about five persons with three grand Kids and all order different things but particular I order special their Lunch menu which is Cream of Mushroom soup and Sandwhich with all grill vegetabls with Cheese.It was so delicious You can repeat again and again.Even they also have good Omlette,french toast etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I'll be bacK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A really classy diner. I'm a "jersey girl" who loves the diners in Jersey, and this one is a classic. Good food, excellent service. Not living in Jersey anymore I actually went on trip advisor to find out reviews on diners and saw Skylark reviews...and that's why I tried it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylark Diner also viewed

 

Been to Skylark Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylark Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.