We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My brother booked this hotel for my husband and I last min and once we got there we was a little sceptical but ended up loving it. Breakfast was a big plus with hot food, very well done. The rooms are pretty nice and comfortable and the view is wonderful....but have learned they had two different supervisors, one for week days one for weekends. Im not to sure of the name of the weekday supervisor but we have noticed that she looked very unhappy every time we saw her and also noticed she did not speak good english. Big fail on hotels part because you need someone there who speaks fluent english when asking a question not someone who sends you to the front desk to ask one question. But we also learned your weekend supervisor spoke fluent english and always looked happy. We had a problem with one of our light bulbs in the room and she fixed it herself without any ones help. Big plus because we did not have to wait long. Also noticed that our room was cleaned as we walked in as if we just checked in awesome plus for us as opposed to a just half fast job during the week day. April the weekend supervisor new places to go and how to get there with no little to your front desk staff who just printed out ways to get to and from our destination and took us sooo much longer to get their. Julien was the only one who explained things to us and apologized for the women not sure of her name who just kept talking and talking and acted like she knew everything. Very poor on hotels side for not hiring someone who you can clearly see that doesnt want to be bothered with her job nor anyone else.
The housekeeping is good but again most did not speak any english at all and was difficult to communicate, very loud during the day by our room but nice and decent once you saw them.

The location of the hotel was very convenient to the city due to Julien and April help. We got to walk on the boardwalk they have in the back of the hotel with great views of the city. I would love to visit nyc again but I would suggest to everyone to set your days on weekends...because its very different on weekdays and you don't want a bad ora to follow you as you enjoy your journey there. My opinion to have Julien or/and April as a manager because they both went well above to explain things to us due to us coming from so far with no hesitation.Also extremely respectful. My husband is more than willing on setting them up with a managment position should ever they need one..but they would have to relocate :)

Other then that we had a great time visiting new jersey and new york. Would stay again but under different terms. Wish we can put an overview of our stay for weekdays and weekends but we cant. Hope you all your employees smile but thats pushing it.

Room Tip: As long as april and julien are working you will feel at home and wont worry about any room you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
32
19
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When my grandma visits from overseas she likes to visit Mitsuwa located nearby so we sometimes stay at this hotel (as it's so close, and there is a movie theater down the street). The amenities are slightly better than average for the price. The water is nearby so it's nice to go out and talk a walk along the pier that is next to it when the weather is cool. I will definitely go again as I haven't had a bad time there as of yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was among the cheapest we could find around NY on a week end but still it was well above 100.
The hotel rooms are usual for this hotel class as well the breakfeast. But what a view if you take your bereakfast on the terrase behind the hotel. It is just on the Hudson river and you won't find any charming from this hotel that this moment with the morning sun on NY buildings and the vuew of an hold boat giving an old timer atmosphere.
Be aware that you need 25 to 30' to go downtown to Porth Authority bus station with bus 158. It cost $4,25 one way which needs to be budgeted when travelling in family.
Doesn' get better stars because of the overall price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I enjoyed staying at the hotel my children just adored the housekeeping supervisor April. She always had a smile on her face every time we saw her. She helped us out tremendously on where to go and how to get to our destinations as well as our room. Front desk staff were good as well, Diana (the front desk clerk) was the only one who was rude and just loved to cut you off as you spoke. The rooms were pretty good for a comfort inn never expected that..Breakfast was amazing big plus. Would love to stay again on our next visit. Our kids keep asking for your supervisor, We think they have a crush.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Rented this room for a mini weekend getaway around the Edgewater/Hoboken areas, thought I would up the romantic factor by spending a little bit more for a "junior suite" with "spa tub" and balcony with view of the Hudson River. When we walked into the room, it was just OK at first, nothing impressive and definitely not appropriate for the price (regular hotel room with unimpressive balcony, parts of which are old and falling apart, and definitely no privacy, spa tub was for one). The word "suite" is definitely misleading here. But we can live with all of this -- we were just crashing here after our date night around one of our favorite areas in NJ.

But then...

We were woken up at around 8:30am by loud vacuums/conversation from housekeeping just outside our door. We laid around for a while and couldn't believe how much noise they were making so early. Fine, whatever. We had brunch reservations at 11:00 so we got up to get ready a little bit early. It was nearly impossible to shower as the water kept alternating extreme hot then cold then normal then boiling hot again. This was so painful and uncomfortable that we could only wash off when the normal temperature water was on, but when the hot or cold came, move away from the stream. Totally inconvenient and uncomfortable experience. The last straw was when we noticed ants coming in through the balcony door, and two or three (that we could see) crawling around in the bed sheets. Totally unacceptable.

We rarely complain about anything and are very easy going, but we needed to alert the front desk staff to these multiple issues. While the single staff member at the front desk was very friendly and apologetic for our room conditions, she was also very busy (taking phone calls, speaking to a line of guests) so we felt that our complaints fell on deaf ears. Hopefully she remembered to let someone know about what we experienced in order to prevent it for the next guests. After the stay that we had, I can say with pretty sound confidence that it won't be us.

Room Tip: Couples - do not pick a junior suite. The "spa tub" only fits one and puts out alternating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgewater hotels

Waterford, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Recommended by my local business associate I had the pleasure of staying at this fine Hotel located along the Hudson River with an excellent view of the New York City Skyline. I arrived later in the day so I did not have a chance to enjoy the full benefits of this locale which include a walk along the Hudson River on the adjoining Promenade as well as an outside deck overlooking the NYC skyline. I did enjoy a very spacious second floor room with ALL the amenities one would expect from an upper level Comfort Inn. Bed was very comfortable and shower was extremely soothing. Hot breakfast in AM made this worth my trip. Only downside was that this was pricier than I had hoped but I was offered a AAA discount which saved me 10 percent. I would stay here again. Tichiganblues

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a better view of the New York City skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel mainly for its price as its quite cheap comparing with any other hotel in NJ or NYC,the rooms are spacious,advice: ask for river front view has a balcony.bathrooms need to be renovated but the entire hotel has been renovated,big comfy beds,simple breakfast,free coffee 24/7...the location is close to many stores,cinemas,tjmax etc...close to port imperial to take ferry to NYC..i rented a car which together with the hotel made my stay cheap and comfortable to
Move around (enterprise cars has the cheapest cars for rent)
Staff was extremley helpful!
Also rooms come with empty frigfe and microwave incase u want to eat in the room!
From everything i would say wonderful view and cheap prices for its location!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edgewater
Edgewater Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Edgewater Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.