We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful view of the New York City Skyline. Rooms very clean and the staff was very warm and friendly. Rooms are all completely renovated with refrigerator and microwave. I definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANTI S, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jean,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

SHANTI SANTIAGO
GM
COMFORT INN
201-943-3131
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    18
    13
    11
See reviews for
30
18
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

It's inexpensive and with free parking is a good place to stay if you are on a road trip. Breakfast is crowded and it is not unusual for most of the food to run out. It can feel a little like survival of the fittest. Though it has been recently renovated, it's really just a thin coat of paint on a tired facility. Good access to a bus to NYC or a half mile walk to a boat that will take you to Midtown (but it's a commuter boat, so it stops at 8pm).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family do not have to stay in an 5 star hotel but we do not have to be subject to a digusting one. First there is no elevetator, okay we can deal with that but really? We walked up to the room it smelled really bad. We tried spraying it with lysol it just completely stunk. Then my husband tells me on the last day (stayed for 2 days) that there was ants in the bed and he had to call the front desk to come spray the rooms. Ants wasn't just in bed they was on floor of the room also. If it wasn't for all the problems in that room I would have noticed that the room has a nice view of NYC. But coudn't enjoy it becaus the room was just horrible. Only certain rooms get refrigerator and microwaves and want to charge you to put it in your room. I wanted to get my money back and check out. I had payed in advance and my husband is the the kind of guy that wanted to just get throught the 2 days. Really for that price I got that type of service!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgewater hotels

DUNMORE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

this hotel is not the place to go to if you want to get sleep! the walls are so thin you can hear the people next to you! it is not very clean the doors were banging all night people fighting in the hallway the breakfast is so-so i have stayed in alot of comfort inns that were so nice this hotel is like hotel from hell spend a little more money and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: i do not know if there is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Comfort Inn. The cost is far less than staying in the city, which leaves you money for expensive souvenirs and ballpark food! The hot breakfast is plenty sufficient, and the rooms, thanks to a post-Sandy reno, are gorgeous! The staff is super friendly and attentive. The best part is that it's pretty much a straight shot across the GWB to get to the stadium. We will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Look for first floor availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went here because of the location with 3 other people. After spending a day in NYC we ran into disaster trying to check in to our hotel room. The room we received was the size of a closet with one bed and a bathroom that had no walls but merely a fold up roomdivider! It smelled awful and should be completely illegal. we eventually had to get a refund and find another hotel. They would not give us another room or anything for our trouble. I would never stay here because it was the worst experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here in part to find out for myself after reading so many conflicting reviews. Is this hotel heaven or hell? Neither. It depends on your travel style, who you are and what you're looking for. This may not be ideal for some business travelers given the lack of on site restaurant/bar and one aspect of its location, i.e., at the end of a strip mall parking lot. On the other hand, if you want a break from Manhattan room prices and you get a recently renovated river view suite? The river is 20 feet away and the view fantastic.
What you need to understand is that this hotel was a victim of Sandy and has only recently been able to reopen the first floor. The upside is that all those rooms are brand spanking new. The downside is that try as they might there will inevitably be some hidden mold somewhere which they have to find and kill to prevent off odors.
But I had a great night's rest, better than normal for being away from home and the service is as good as you'll find anywhere. Small staff but very caring, helpful and attentive.
Only one small detail left to mention: at free breakfast, egg patty and sausage were both cold. This is easily preventable by attention to detail. And not a big deal for me because I just gave them 20 seconds in the complimntary microwave in my suite and quickly resumed my al fesco breakfast on my balcony enjoying the view of northern Manhattan over free coffee.

Room Tip: River view if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edgewater
Edgewater Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Edgewater Nj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.