We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab House

The Crab House
541 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 68 Restaurants in Edgewater
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to the crab house on Sunday afternoon for dinner and the view of NYC at Sunset. It's pretty romantic, the food was ok too. Only problem was the chef did not cook one of the fish dishes all the way through and it had to be sent back. The staff was very courteous and the problem was resolved by the presentation of another serving of the same dish, second time was perfect. If this didn't happen I would have given the place a higher score.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    13
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“There are no signs for this place, but if there were they'd say "Turn Back Now!"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

First, it was more aligned with an Appleby's that the upscale restaurant I was expecting. It was very difficult to find because it is tucked away in the back of a strip mall with no signs and impossible to see from the road. The small lot was filled to capacity on a Saturday night--so it would be a busy night.

I guess to cut costs they had one bartender on for the entire bar. Which made it tough to get a drink or a check without losing your patience.

Then they had two servers for the dining area. So while I say the service was beyond awful-- our waitress was doing the best job she could.

Our appetizers arrived after a very long wait. Anything that was hot came with that "I've been standing on the counter for 15 minutes" film. The waitress forgot to put in my day's appetizer. So his came 5-10 minutes after our appetizer plates were taken. The entrees came at an even slower pace. With a similar film and cold. Two in our party ordered steaks medium that came out dry, leathery and burned. What was the point of sending anything back? It was hopeless.

My mom did send back a leathery freezer burned lobster tail and then a dish of raw oysters. Neither are things I would have ordered from this restaurant. I got a cold and inedible grilled seafood platter. (37.00)

It was a birthday dinner for me so we had more patience that usual because we err enjoying the company. But the food was a punishment (as was the bill..)

There are a million great places in the area DO NOT go here!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good but where's the crab?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This mostly seafood restaurant is really delicious, however with the word "crab" in the name there should be crab legs of every variety. We thought it quite odd that crab legs could only be ordered in the bar area. Why aren't they served in the dining room where patrons can enjoy in comfort?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A tad pricey but the food and service was very good. The 2 trays of clams on the halfshell were delicious. I'm not big on seafood so I had fish and chips and it was excellent. My wife had crab, avacado and mango and told me it was great.
All that and a beautiful view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More than a seafood restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We go to this place fairly regularly and it rarely disappoints. The seafood is very fresh and the portions are decent. There are several different areas you can sit with different views, but it's got a view of the city that is wonderful and for boatwatching, it can't be beat. It's in a shopping center, but a bit removed from the stores and on the water. The crab dip is amazing although there's never enough bread and also the mussels.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.