We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here while we were displaced by Hurricane Sandy, and it was such a comfort after what we had been through. Maybe it seemed like a blessing after leaving an unliveable home and staying in a very-sub-par hotel previous to this, but this place exceeded our expectations. The separate living room/bedroom was great to have, and the kitchen (stocked with the necessary pots, utensils, and plates) made it feel like a home away from home. It was great that breakfast was included, but a very nice suprise was the included dinner (weekdays only). It really helped to not have to spend extra $$ to eat out.

The suite was very clean, as was the entire hotel.

Of course, the location can't be beat, as there are many restaurants around as well. The only nitpick I have is that I needed to get to the ferry terminal to go to work one morning at 7am, and their hotel shuttle was not available until 7:30. But I am nitpicking.

This hotel also has self-laundry for $2 per load...so that's $4 for a wash and dry, which add up if you have a lot of laundry, but the machines have a large capacity and are high efficiency.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. The rates are very reasonable for what you get. I wish we could have extended our stay but they were all booked up!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a suite with a separate bedroom and living room if you are staying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    118
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
245
100
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Plenty of room in our suite for a family of four with comfortable beds, two large flat screen TV's and a useful kitchenette. The breakfast and dinner offerings worked well for us with an effort made to change the menu each day. We would also really recommend the Greek tavern nearby for great food and service. The hotel shuttle was very convenient for transfers to nearby shops and the ferry terminal. We found the commute to NYC each day fine but the hotel location means that it is not really practical (or economical) to come back to the hotel until you have finished your plans for the day in NYC. We usually caught the ferry from Port Imperial each day and returned on the NJ Transit bus route 158 from the Port Authority of NY/NJ bus Terminal in Manhatten. All the staff, including front desk, dining room, shuttle drivers and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. I would like to single out a couple of staff Jenice (at the front desk) and Dustin (dining room) who made our stay that bit more special. Great job! I would like to thank the staff for honouring our request for a NYC skyline view, which was great, especially at night! Would be five stars but unfortunate mixup at check out saw me presented with a bill for the entire stay even though I had prepaid an advance purchase rate. I'm confident this will be sorted out however.

Room Tip: Request a NYC city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels, but non could beat this AMAZING hotel with fantastic friendly staff; i certainly will come back to this GREAT PLACE!!! I stayed at this hotel with my two sisters for 3 weeks in October, and it became an awesome holiday experience even though "super storm sandy" tried to dampen the fun. After the storm left its devastation of no power or internet, the hotel staff made our stay eventful, and exceeded our expectations. The entire staff were tireless, and worked as a family ensuring all guests were safe and well catered for in spite of the limited resources. There was ever busy, smiling and helpful Jacklyn (the front desk manager), who wants everyone to be satisfied and happy, also very friendly and helpful Tally (she was never too busy to have a sweet chat) they both gave me a surprise birthday treat (wine, cake with candles) at midnight!!!! or is it Hector, (Chief Engineer) This guy went all out to pay extra fees to his phone network in order for us to use his phone as an internet "hot spot" to book our flights back to London..Incredible! Great.... Great team work!!! Thank you all guys, hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with New York skyline.... very beautiful sight to behold, especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I will definitely go back to this hotel if I needed somewhere to stay when visiting Manhattan. Easy to find, love the drive to the hotel - we got to see the Manhattan skyline from higher ground and it was beautiful! Roads to and around the hotel are easy to drive on.
Hotel itself is so clean. We had a one bedroom suite with a King bed and pull out sofa. Room was adequate for four adults. Beds and pillows were comfortable and clean. Liked the lay out of room.
Breakfast area was clean and big enough for the many guests. Love the running fireplace - makes it so welcoming! And the constant availability of coffee and tea!
Breakfast itself was more than adequate and certainly delicious! Kudos to the kitchen staff.
Check in and out was a breeze. I had called in to request early check in and Bobby was so helpful in ensuring that housekeeping worked on our room (I had checked in online and had already picked a room) ASAP. By the time we arrived at about 1:15pm, our room was ready. Thank you Bobby and houskeeping crew!!
Parking is plentiful and sheltered and free - awesome!!
Location is great - shops all around and great restaurants not more than 0.5miles away.
We were there the day before Hurricane Sandy hit NJ. We left the morning just before the storm and as we were leaving, we noticed that the streets were already starting to flood from the Hudson overflowing. Hope the hotel did not suffer too much damage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As a former Hilton employee, this hotel exceeded my expectations THROUGH THE ROOF! Every day our room was spruced up, and the days that we went over to the city, the shuttle was prompt and friendly service. ANY time we come back to NYC, Edgewater is where we're staying, and this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really great hotel, possibly the best hotel staff we've ever encountered. For example, on his day off we encountered one of the hotel staff on the NJ 158 Transit Bus and he took his own time to show us the location of the subway station we needed to find at the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Manhattan. Breakfast was excellent, and even dinner was quite good. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The mini-suite room had a view of Manhattan across the Hudson. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in and the room was immaculate. All in all a top-notch hotel; it is hard to say too many nice things about them.

The hotel provides a free shuttle car to/from Port Imperial where you can take the NY Waterway ferry to/from Manhattan (provided you are wanting shuttle service between 7:30 AM and 10:30 PM). On the Manhattan side, NY Waterway provides free buses that take you crosstown via several loops (see their website for details). This works pretty well and is a lot more comfortable and convenient than the 158 Bus which will just take you to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. It does cost more however ($33 for two seniors to go round-trip).

One consideration if you plan to use the hotel as a base for Manhattan sightseeing and Broadway shows: once you leave the hotel in the morning you will basically be staying in Manhattan until you return in the evening (late if you are seeing a Broadway show). The reason is that it can take some time to make the trip to/from Manhattan, especially at rush hours (5-15 minutes wait for the shuttle at the hotel + 10-20 minutes drive to Port Imperial + 10 minutes wait for the ferry + 10 minutes to cross the Hudson + 10 minutes waiting for the NY Waterway bus to leave + 10-20 minutes for the bus to drop you off + subway or walking or taxi time to your ultimate destination in Manhattan). So basically you can't sight-see in the morning, come back to the hotel to rest up and shower in the afternoon, then go to dinner and a Broadway show in the evening. The hotel is terrific and we loved it, but it does have this drawback if you are using it as a base for NYC sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a weekend we had planned to go to NYC to attend Comicon. Hotels were outrageous on Manhattan – the cheapest we found was over $350 a night. After taxes and parking it would be close to $1000 for 2 nights. So we began to look elsewhere.

We found the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Edgewater NJ. And it was A W E S O M E !!!!! Our room was great. It had a full sized fridge, microwave, 2 range cooktop stove, small kitchen table with chairs, full living room, separate bedroom and a very clean bathroom.

The kids slept on the pull out and had plenty of room. We had called ahead and gotten the amenities of the room so we were prepared and brought lots of food with us which was wonderful! It was much healthier and cheaper too!

The only bad thing was the room was a smoking room. We booked through Hotels.com and they booked us in a Smoking room. When we got there the hotel was full so they were not able to change our room. The room only smelled slightly musty and they offered an Eco-Deodorizer to come in and spray but we declined and decided to see how it would be with the air conditioning on and the windows open for a bit. It was ok. The next day the management staff called again to say they were sorry for our mix up but wanted to check on us to see how the room was which was really nice considering it wasn’t their mistake.

The continental Breakfast is a complete understatement to call it “continental”. We are talking fresh waffles, pancakes, bagels, English muffins, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, Danishes, muffins, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit….. it was INSANE. Both days the kids hopped out of bed to go down to eat – what a GREAT GREAT feature and what a nice surprise! I can’t say enough what a great breakfast this was!

The hotel is in a plaza and there is a really pretty shopping area below the hotel that has some shops and restaurants – selection could be better but it was pretty and nice to look at from our window. In the same plaza and right across the parking lot is a movie theater which is kind of neat. We didn’t go see one but when we got back late one night around midnight we did walk over to get some movie theater popcorn which was a fun treat.

There’s a fabulous area about 2 – 3 miles down the road called the river walk (?) It has GREAT views of Manhattan, has shops, restaurants (PF CHangs!) and is a really nice place to stop and hang out for a little while.

If you’re going to NYC – The hotel offers free shuttle service to the ferry station to Manhattan. We didn’t try it because the last shuttle back was at 10.30 PM and we were coming back much later than that and didn’t know if Taxis would be available at the ferry port when we got back. Also – the Ferry ride is $9 a person each way so with 4 of us – it was cheaper to drive in and pay for parking.

We drove into Manhattan and it took about 15 minutes - the Lincoln Tunnel is the best way to go and you pop up right around 34th street. We found great parking near the Javits center for $26 for almost 24 hours which was great!

All in all – this was a GREAT hotel, great location and a FABULOUS price for being right outside NYC. We have ALWAYS stayed on Manhattan and paid the outrageous prices and this is a wonderful alternative since we go to NYC 5+ times a year. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Address: 10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Edgewater-NYC Area is ideally situated on the western banks of the Hudson River, providing spectacular views of and convenient access to Manhattan. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, complimentary high-speed internet access, & free on-site parking. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & sauna. Explore many Edgewater area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Edgewater Hotel Edgewater
Homewood Suites Edgewater
Hilton Edgewater
Homewood Edgewater
Edgewater Homewood Suites
Edgewater Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.