We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, accomodating and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Edgewater
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, accomodating and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at this for five days while visiting the Manhattan with my family this summer.

The hotel was very well kept, the staff was friendly the entire time, and it was nice to have complimentary meals for breakfast and sometimes dinner.

The hotel itself is on top of the hill with a view of Manhattan, and the surrounding area. There is a shopping center directly underneath the hotel itself, including a chipotle, and a movie theatre a short walk away.

The only drawback that I can give the hotel, is that it was challenging to get to the city everday. It was nice to leave the hustle and bustle of New York City each day, but when you tack on the bus fairs, cab fairs, rail fairs and everything else, it just makes sense to stay within the city if that's what you're there for. If your business is within New Jersey, I would recommend this hotel above all.

We had to catch a plane our last day from Laguardia, NJ, and the only ways to get to that airport was either by cab, a $80 endeavor, or take a bus to the city and then take another bus from the central terminal in the city to Laguardia. I left on a Saturday, and got taken by a cab to the port without knowing that the port didn't open as early as I needed to leave; leasons learned.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    92
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
191
79
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly & helpful. The food available for breakfast and dinner work for everyone (variety of items). We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the road traffic pretty clearly & our room had a distinct cigarette smoke smell (must be in the carpet). The other couple we were travelling with were on the 7th and it wasn't as bad in their room. There are shops, restaurants & a movie theatre within walking distance. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remsen, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 1 night, and despite some initial check-in issues, it was a perfect hotel experience. Even though I had booked, and paid for, a 2-queen bed suite a few weeks prior I was told the room was not available. The manager (Jacqueline) went out of her way to make things right for us. She called a sister location, which didn't have the right room type either, offered us 2-single king suites for the same price (which we couldn't take because our children aren't old enough to be in a room by themselves), and we eventually settled for the 1-king room with a pullout sofa. She went out of her way to provide us with complimentary snacks and beverages to compensate. She turned what could have been a very disappointing stay into a very positive one. We made use of the free shuttle to/from the water ferry as well. Breakfast had a fine selection and was fresh and tasty too. Overall it was a great stay, and I would go back again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Am a regular at Homewood, therefore the expectations were met. Would like to say that there are competitive prices in NYC, thus the price at Edgewater has to be competitive, rather than being on the expensive side. Free parking. Took NJ bus from Edgewater to NYC. Good quiet location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were traveling from the Boston area and cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and gave my three year old a little book about traveling as a thank you for her stay. Our room was nicely outfitted, clean, and had a great view of the New York skyline. The hotel is situated in City Place, a micro city within Edgewater. There's everything you could possibly want within walking distance, and it was wonderful to not have to go far to eat or shop. The hotel was also only a short drive to the ferry landing to get to into the city. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in July to celebrate a family birthday. We had a corner room on the top floor with a south eastern view of Manhattan that was spectacular. Check in and check out was quick and efficient and all staff members were friendly and helpful. The property itself is well maintained and there are nice shops and restaurants nearby. There was plenty of free parking. I cannot say enough good things about the cleanliness of the suite, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job of making sure all rooms(and appliances) were pristine. You truly feel at home at this hotel. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we did not eat in.

If you want a comfortable, friendly and immaculate place to stay, then this is your hotel. Kudos to the management and staff of this hotel for taking pride in their work and going out of their way to ensure the comfort of their patrons. Thank you

Room Tip: we stayed on the 8th floor on the southeast corner that had great views of manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As the 4th hotel during an extended business trip through north and south America, homewood suites was a nice surprise. Friendly staff, a spacious room, and proximity to NYC make it an excellent choice. On the minus side, internet connection was slow at times, and the shuttle service to the ferry was not punctual. Overall, I would revisit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Address: 10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Edgewater-NYC Area is ideally situated on the western banks of the Hudson River, providing spectacular views of and convenient access to Manhattan. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, complimentary high-speed internet access, & free on-site parking. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & sauna. Explore many Edgewater area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Edgewater Hotel Edgewater
Homewood Suites Edgewater
Hilton Edgewater
Homewood Edgewater
Edgewater Hilton
Edgewater Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.