We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NYC family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The staff at this hotel is very polite & friendly. I had phoned two days before my arrival to request a room with a view of the NYC skyline, and was informed that I could not be assured that they could honor my request. Upon check in, I was told that I did get a room with a view.The rooms were clean, but the bathtub was somewhat older in appearance.
The NJ transit bus line is within walking distance, and is a 20-30 minute ride into the Port Authority in Manhattan.
There are a few restaurants nearby (Panera, Chipotle), but no bars.

Room Tip: Rooms above 2nd floor will have better skyline views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    118
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
245
100
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent 7 nights here while visiting family in the area. All staff members were very pleasant to deal with-desk, housekeeping, etc. Complimentary breakfast and dinner was a nice surprise. Lots of variety and generally tasty food. Location is great-walking distance to restaurants and shops, plus the hotel's free shuttle will take you within a 3-mile radius. Just wish the hotel was 100% no smoking, but everything else was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Horrible experience from the time of booking up until "check in". Booked this hotel because my family was having a wedding nearby and most guests were going to book here. Had I known then what I know now, I would've told everyone to save their money and go home! Booked my room through hotels.com and when it was time for check in, they didn't have my reservation. I had a confirmation number, card was CHARGED but they couldn't find my reservation!???! WORST FRONT DESK AGENT I HAVE DEALT WITH and I travel often. He was nothing but condescending and rude. Said they didn't have a reservation, hotel was sold out and there was nothing they could do for me and that was that. Imagine how thrilled I was to have to drive all the way back home after my brother's wedding because they lost my reservation. Hilton's official website is just as bad. Sent a complaint to customer service a month ago and never got a reply. Shows how much they value customer's feedback.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paduas, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the problem with your reservation. I know how frustrating reservation problems can be and I do apologize for the inconvenience. After my team members assisted you with contacting the third party vendor you made reservations with we came to find that there must have been a glitch between our systems on why your reservation never made it to the property. This happened to be an unfortunate event since we were completely sold out and could not accommodate another reservation. We work closely with third party vendors and assure you that this was an isolated situation. I would love to hear from you in regards to the resolution from the third party vendor and invite any feedback you can provide us in order to assist us in ensuring this does not happen to another guest.
We work very hard at customer service and it upsets me to hear comments such as yours describing an experience that was less than satisfying.

Again, I apologize for your recent experience and hope you will give us another chance so we can show you the true level of hospitality we are known for.

Please feel free to contact me at 201-941-4700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a nice hotel when visting NYC. This hotel is in NJ; but very easy to get to the city by hoping on #158 bus,Buststop is very close to hotel and takes you right into the city in about 20 minutes.Hotel includes free breakfest and free parking.Also ask for a room with a view of the city.Very nice,

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is Great, Restaurants, stores just behind the hotel. 5 mitus to Pier Imperial with free shuttle. Excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed for two nights over the weekend, when I checked in the first thing I noticed was my room smelled like old fried fish. Not the greatest smell to greet you. I called the desk, explained the situation and they sent maintanence up right away and he installed a fragranced air filter which was great for about 3 hours and then the nasty smell was back. The maintanence guy explained they have a lof of long term stays in the building and they like to cook in there rooms and they cook some nasty stuff because he said he has smelled it too. Not really the hotel's fault, just unpleasant.

The room was clean, comfortable and perfect for my stay. If you want to take advantage of the breakfast in the moring go early! There was no room either morning, trays were empty so you had a limited selection with still two hours left in the breakfast service. The second morning I couldn't deal with the crowd, it was a bit much for such a small area, so I left for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting our daughter who had a baby in the hospital up the road. The hotel was clean, friendly and comfortable. The room was a good size and the view of New York City from our window was beautiful at night. Parking was free. Breakfast was good each morning. The manager's reception was a nice added benefit in the evening. The food and wine served were good and the atmosphere was very relaxing after a long day. The stores in the area were nice to walk around and there were several places to get a bite to eat within walking distance. We noticed many guest taking local transportation to New York City each day. This hotel has to offer. Even if you may think that the rate is higher than you want to spend, with all the perks it averages out.

Room Tip: ASk for a room facing New York City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Address: 10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Edgewater-NYC Area is ideally situated on the western banks of the Hudson River, providing spectacular views of and convenient access to Manhattan. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, complimentary high-speed internet access, & free on-site parking. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & sauna. Explore many Edgewater area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Edgewater Hotel Edgewater
Homewood Suites Edgewater
Hilton Edgewater
Homewood Edgewater
Edgewater Homewood Suites
Edgewater Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.