We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better when it was Enigma” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Archetypus Cafe

Archetypus Cafe
264 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020-1005
(201) 941-0609
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Edgewater
Restaurant details
Piermont, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It was better when it was Enigma”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Back in 1985 this restaurant was Enigma. The cave room WAS the only place to dine and it was out of this world. Sad to say, nearly thirty years later, the front room addition does not come close to the original design and in my opinion resembles human intestines or worms....not very appetizing. The last time I went (March 2012) I brought a date from out of town who had I had raved about this unique location that I had frequented since my youth. What a monumental disappointment. We were told that a minimum of 6 people were required to sit in the cave....wow. How the times have changed. After we were escorted to a lackluster table in the back room, crummy service was what we received. When we asked for the Manager awaiting over thirty minutes to give our order, he was less than genuine in his apology. If you go, I hope your experience is better than mine was.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the 'cave' room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love this place to go and have a quick bite or for a hot cocoa. Once you are in it, make sure you ask for a table inside of a 'cave'. The design is like nowhere else and you truly feel like you're in a cave. The service is ok, and the food is ok too. This place is great when you don't want to spend too much and want to enjoy the atmosphere. Will definitely go back once I'm in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“UNIQUE, OUT OF THIS WORLD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Unique and one of a kind. You will never eat or relax in a place like Archetypus in your entire life. The entire space is one big sculpture that creates a most relaxing mood. It is a place that you will revist over and over again and will be the first restaurant/cafe you will take your out of town visitors to eat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“go for the atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We (8) family members went here for dinner after seeing a movie across the street. The decor is very unique. All sculpted gray cave/booths and cement floors. The lighting is very dim. Actually, a little too dim, couldn't see the food! The service we had was friendly. But the food is very over priced and limited to pizzas and wraps. $5 cup of coffee and $12 for 2 scoops of icecream on the sundae menu. I guess you're paying for the ambience. Nice place for a special visit but I wouldn't go back for a regular meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

I only had desserts, so I cannot say anything about the other items on the menu.
I can tell you that desserts are delicious even though a little pricey, over $10

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archetypus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Archetypus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archetypus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.